We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and elegance”
Review of Casa Ocotillo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ocotillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

"This is a delightful place, with charm to spare.

The entire location has architectural integrity and beauty, down to the last thoughtful detail.
Art and objects are perfectly placed, colors carefully coordinated, for those of us that are sensitive visually. Upon inquiry, the reason becomes obvious. One of the owners (Brian) was trained as an architect.

It is quiet, peaceful, relaxing, warm, welcoming, and a perfect environment for decompression, and for getting batteries recharged. It does not have that frenetic sexual tension found in other Palm Spring locations. There are always the bars for that and more.

I cannot wait to return. Dog friendly is a big plus."

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Attractive, comfortable, and private--everything about this small desert hideaway is close to perfection. The pool in the landscaped gardens and many outdoor living spaces are special delights, and so are practicalities like the nicely stocked guest kitchen. Vic and Brian are friendly and thoughtful hosts. For me the search for a place to stay in Palm Springs begins and ends at this address.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, and each has semi-private outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our second time staying at Casa Ocotillo and everything was as perfect as our first time four years ago! The rooms were spotless, the breakfast just right and the owners went out of their way to make our stay 5 stars. Hope we'll be returning sooner next time.
Thanks, Brian and Vic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab6737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I love staying at Casa Ocotillo, because it's like home away from home. I wake up in the morning, get a fresh cup of coffee and read the daily news paper outside our special room they have at Casa Ocotillo. Brian and Vic are very friendly and always have everything you need, great service. By the pool you can enjoy the beautiful landscape and enjoy the sound of the birds and chimes, and relax... We even take our dog and pick grapefruits, for a fresh squeezed juice. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Casa Ocotillo when you visit Palm Springs, Close to restaurants, bars, and stores. It's a very friendly place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1234shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've been coming to the desert for years and have stayed at several of the gay owned and operated boutique hotels, but for us the spinners stops at Casa Ocotillo. The owners are sweet and accommodating and give you the perfect blend of friendliness and privacy. The grounds are beautiful and it really feels like their home is your home.
As a pet owner we loved that they have a private fenced in dog run area that made for a happy pooch. If you are looking for a private getaway this is the place. Can't wait to be back there again.

Room Tip: there's only 5 rooms and they are all comfortable, so you can't really make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We traveled to Palm Springs for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and Modernism Week. Casa Ocotillo provided a lovely and quaint backdrop for our weekend getaway. We enjoyed our room, the nicely landscaped grounds and conversing with the other guests around the pool area. The inn is very close to the downtown area and many shops and restaurants (though we would recommend a car if the weather is especially warm). Bikes are available to borrow for quick trips.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Courtyard Suite, which had a private patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank PDXMarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently had an amazing stay at Casa Ocotillo in Palm Springs. We've been regular visitors to the desert for many years and have stayed at a variety of hotels and inns, but none have been as nice or as comfortable as Casa Ocotillo. A small, boutique inn of five rooms, on lushly landscaped grounds with beautifully appointed rooms, Casa Ocotillo is graciously hosted by owners Brian and Vic. They have created a wonderful retreat that provides every opportunity for relaxation and unwinding. We love the opportunity to travel with our two dogs and they both had a great time at this dog-friendly inn. Brian and Vic did as much to make sure our dogs had a good visit as they did for us! If you're looking for a beautiful sanctuary for your visit to Palm Springs, Casa Ocotillo is definitely the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#41 of 74 in Palm Springs
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
490 reviews
2.4 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#7 of 41 in Palm Springs
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ocotillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ocotillo

Address: 240 E Ocotillo Ave, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8428
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ocotillo sets new standards for luxury accommodations for gay men. The walled compound offers you the ultimate in luxury and privacy tucked away behind iron gates in a quiet historic area of old Palm Springs. Guests experience unparalleled resort-like accommodations and services in a restored 1930’s hacienda on over one-half acre of lushly landscaped grounds.. The five spacious bungalows and suites have been individually designed for gay men in a personal hideaway sheltered away from the usual hustle and bustle, yet minutes from the excitement of downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing