We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“take the hike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Springs Aerial Tramway

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.95*
and up
Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Ranked #1 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb 8,000 feet from the desert to the San Jacinto Mountains, in less than 15 minutes, by tram.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“take the hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

take the full loop walk, the 5 vistas are pretty spectacular and different enough to warrant the few extra steps to enjoy them all.Don't wait at the bar for a drink, we sat for 15 minutes without being acknowledged while the bartender was making fancy cocktails. all we wanted was a beer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdf1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,550
    1,493
    273
    45
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
501 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but well worth it when you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Second time up to the top, wasn't going to go this trip but saw the top of San Jacinto in clouds and had to go investigate. Boy was it worth the price, awesome at the top occasionally rained and cold and hard depending where you were on the trails but how nice to be up in the cool misty mountain top. Watching the mists you could actually watch them move through the trees on this occasion. The ride up was fun and love the 360 degrees. Ride down was crowded and humid and stuffy when the window wasn't open nearby i must say. Still all in all loved it and highly suggest a ride up when the weather is interesting as it was today indeed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular View (and cooler too)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family of 10 (ages 3-57) visited Palm Springs in early July and headed to the Aerial Tramway as a way to get escape the heat (113) of the desert. I'm a little scared of heights but it wasn't so bad and the tram car rotates 360 degrees on the way to the top as a narrator explains the engineering and history. Once at the top it was pleasantly cooler and there are several trails to walk and hike. As I said we were a varied group from 3-57 and we all found a trail that matched our abilities. What a great day and best of all - it was a whole lot cooler than the city of Palm Springs!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GiraffeLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scared witless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was great but my fear of heights got me as it rotates, climbs and then wobbles and sways as it goes over the pylons! On the way down I sat in the epicentre and you stay stable, so much better!

Great scenery and awesome at the top. Hard to believe the temperature difference. A must do (even if you have a fear of heights!!)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view is AWESOME!! but the food is terrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We decided to do the ride and dine package for my boyfriends birthday. I did not know you stand the entire ride, but its only 10 mins. but so worth it.The ride up was beautiful as the sun was setting once at the top of the mountain we were in for a shock. Nothing like what was pictured on the website. The building was dimly lit and old, the Peaks restaurant appeared to be of the same quality as the website. The Peaks Café was the worst. you pick up a cafeteria tray and plastic utensils then stand in line for a paper boat of salad, and three selections from the entrees served on a beautiful china plate which come with rice and veggies (which looked like under cooked fajita topping: chunks of bell pepper, onions and a few squash) the entrée selection was vegetarian lasagna, steak, baked chicken and polish sausage. The chicken was under cooked, the lasagna was bland and the steak was cold (kind of wish we had tried the sausage), served with a paper cup of fountain soda and a dinner roll (which was the best thing they served us). I was so disappointed that I paid for the dine and ride package instead of purchasing the meal separately( which I would have passed on and gotten Carl's Jr that we passed on the way there). The night time ride downhill was AWESOME! the city lights and the full moon made for a romantic 10 minute ride down which I wished would never end.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm Springs Aerial Tramway also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Aerial Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing