We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, but tired rooms”
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We are regular guests at this beautiful resort and stay here on business trips to the desert. The pools are sparkling clean as are the hot tubs. The grounds are the nicest of any clothing optional resort in the desert. The rooms, however, are getting stale, smelly and old. Though I know we did not come to stay in the rooms, as the front desk pointed out (not appreciated), we do sleep on all days ending in Y, therefore we want clean odor-free carpet, beds, soft towels and quiet respectful housekeepers just like you would expect at any other hotel. 8 hours of daily sleep equals 1/3 of our time spent in the room! Sorry Michael but we speak our minds.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the maid's closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Alan,

Thank you for your posting. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. These postings justify our most recent actions.

We agree with you that our new cleaning solution was leaving a smell in the hotel rooms. Our housekeeping crew was trying a new cleaning agent that was recommended by our vendor, Waxie. Since your stay, we discontinued using it and have now reverted to our original cleaning supplies, to get that fresh, clean smell that better describes our rooms.

As you know, we have 91 rooms at Desert Sun Resort. It is unfortunate that you would have stayed in only one of two rooms that are next to a housekeeper's closet. We would have been happy to relocate you if we had other rooms available. It sounds like you know our GM, Michael. He would have gladly moved you to another room had he known of your issue (and another room was available). Nonetheless, we have met with our entire housekeeping team and they now understand the importance of keeping the noise level down when they are in the housekeeping closet.

We are so glad that you mentioned the towels! Just this week, we received our new shipment of towels. Every room now has brand new towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. We have even replaced all of the outdoor pool towels, although the old ones were still in good shape.

We take pride in our resort, not just the incredibly gorgeous grounds that you were kind enough to mention, but everything that enhances our guest's experience. The pools and Jacuzzis look great because every year, we re-do our pools and decks. We realize that our guests spend most of their time enjoying the pool/Jacuzzis, so we want these areas to always look sparkling new.

We are proud to have the newest rooms of any nudist resort in California. Our rooms were completely remodeled within the past couple of years. As owners, we are constantly investing in the property to retain our reputation as the #1 nudist resort in the world.

Thank you for helping us make 2012 our best year ever and for being a repeat guest! Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I have tried a few nude beaches and resorts over the past few years. Our time at the Desert Sun Resort was by far the nicest and most relaxing time we have had. The other guest were very friendly without being pushy or overly friendly. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to relax and shed their clothes without any hassles. We will definitely be returning in the near future

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cutterrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We absolutely love this place. We took our first "leap" at a nude vacation here three years ago and it is now a must trip for us each year. We always rent a villa so we don't have to leave the property at ALL since my wife just loves being naked for her entire vacation. We usually try to make the annual Halloween party but just missed it this year due to family obligations, but there was still a nice crowd and plenty of very nice people to meet and chat with. The attention to the property landscaping is a huge reason we come back. It is a beautiful property and spotless whenever we visit. The staff are always so helpful and pleasant when we return.....especially when I left my car keys on the counter...they immediately tracked me down to return them.
Now that we are "empty nesters" we plan on making more trips to DSR each year to take advantage of this rejuvenating resort that keeps our marriage romantic and fun. My wife would come every month if we could get the time off from work, but I promised her more trips in the near future.

Room Tip: we love the villas to make meals in our room and allow us to stay on property for our entire vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relaxingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Spent a fabulous week at this resort at the beginning of November. The weather was fantastic and that undoubtedly contributed to the experience.
We had a ground floor room with a king size bed in the Chapparal complex- the room was spacious. Some other reviews have complained about the size of the washroom - we did not find that a concern - it's adequate for all you need to do in there.
The grounds are spacious, with a salt water pool in the condo area - a nice quiet place to get away - and a quiet pool as well as an activity pool in the other area.
We found the loud music played over the loudspeakers next to the activity pool distracting so spent most of our time at the two other pools.
There were very few guests for most of the week - we pretty well had the place to ourselves until the weekend, when the crowd descended.
We really enjoyed our massages with Renska - she's quite extraordinary.
Some pluses and minuses:
Pluses - the spacious grounds, choice of areas to relax in. RENSKA
Minuses - the mini fridge in the Chapparal rooms sits on the floor next to the closet. Come on folks - surely you could provide a small table for it, and maybe even put in a small microwave. Music poolside much too loud. No breakfast included to speak of - just a cup of coffee.
On balance, this was a great experience and we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RotaryRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Decided to take a 3 day weekend from Cold Colorado and head to sunny Palm Springs for our 2nd Visit to DSR. Unfortunately, I think we brought the cold weather with us, as all 3 days, the highs were only in the 60s. Despite the cool weather, our stay at DSR was again phenomenal.

Staff was great. They heated the pools (more than usual) to accommodate the cold weather. We met some new friends and saw a few folks that we already knew from before.

New Restaurant in PS called Workshop Kitchen + Bar. It is excellent for the foodies, beer and wine snobs out there. Def something that PS has been missing for a LONG TIME.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

On our recent trip to Palm Springs, we decided to stop by DSR for a day pass visit again. This was our third visit over the years. The resort remained the same peaceful, clean and wonderfully manicured property as before. We also ate lunch at the restaurant and would rate it a 10 for the generous portions and quality of food. I must admit at first, my wife was hesitant about leaving our other (expensive) resort to spend extra time and money at DSR. But I really wanted to suntan and play tennis in the buff. Once we got there it was so quiet and peaceful without any kids running around she was glad we did go.We are already talking about going back, and perhaps next time, stay at the resort instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhnaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Desert Sun Resort, Oct 11 -14, and I have to say we had the best weekend getaway ever! This place is just a outstanding clothing optional resort. Last year we stayed at the other popular C/O resort in Palm Springs and were a little disappointed, so while we were in Palm Springs we took a tour and decided that we would try Desert Sun Resort on our next trip and we are so happy with our decision.

The main thing we liked were the grounds, with 3 pools and 2 Jacuzzis and plenty of space to relax and chill, or be entertained watching a volleyball game. Even though the Chaparral and Courtyard rooms were fully booked and some people were there on day passes it didn’t seem crowded at all.

We stayed in the Chaparral building room 45 and were pleased with the room, even though the room was a little on the small size it had everything we needed, is was kept very clean, the bed was comfortable and the furnishings were in good shape. The bath was very small but it seemed to me that they did what could be done with such a small space. Besides how much time do you want to spend indoors at a clothing optional resort? Our only complaint with the bath was lack of water pressure in the shower, I don’t know if they can do anything about that, just make sure you have plenty of time to rinse all the shampoo out of your hair, it might take awhile.

We really enjoyed the café and bar, at first we were unsure about eating and drinking with other guests while in the nude, but actually the experience wasn’t strange at all and was just something else you did while at DSR. The food and drinks were good, prices good and service outstanding. While on the subject of food the only other complaint we had was the included continental breakfast, your only choice as noted in previous reviews were bagels, I had figured that they would have more available in the mornings, even a Super 8 motel offers more choices. I know for us the last thing we want to do while vacationing at a clothing optional resort is to get dressed and go somewhere else for breakfast. Sunday morning the café was open for breakfast and it was great, I wish that they were open every morning, then I wouldn’t care about the bagels. Next trip we will bring our own breakfast items.

The Staff at DSR were great, very friendly. And just like all the other places we have tried that were clothing optional the other guests are very friendly and sociable. We are already looking forward to returning, hopefully not too long in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 74 in Palm Springs
767 reviews
2.8 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palm Springs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Villa Royale Inn
Villa Royale Inn
#46 of 74 in Palm Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. Adults Only, 3 Swimming pools, 2 Jacuzzi, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing