We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't want to go home”
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I don't want to go home”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is the ideal weekend get away from Los Angeles. Pack light because you are naked 24/7 if you like.
3 pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant and bar. Drinks delivered to the pool.
We have met wonderful people and the service is great. They want to please. If you like, dress and walk down to the main Blvd but why bother? I rather be naked.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    59
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
220
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

After reading the “Lost it’s Soul” review I am obliged to put forth our views of the New Year’s Eve gala.

We have attended the event for several years running now and this was in our opinion the finest one to date. Moreover, the other four couples at our table all of which were multiple time attendees as well shared this opinion. It was noticeable from the start that much planning and extensive preparation had been devoted to making the evening a successful one. The drinks were the properly made and served in the same manner as previously. The decorations were well received and impeccable. Nevertheless, we felt the high point of the evening was indeed the band, which had an excellent female lead singer with a skilled accompaniment. All varieties of music being played during the evening culminating with a countdown clock and a champagne toast (in a complimentary glass goblet) at midnight.

I was at one time a reluctant first time visitor to DSR , however, within one day of our five-day stay here I had been entirely won over by the clean and tidy grounds and immaculately manicured landscaping all of which continues to this day. To be sure nothing in the world is perfect and while one might make all the people happy some of the time and some of the people happy all the time it is not humanly possible to make all the people happy all the time. That notwithstanding Michael, Teresa and the entire DSR staff have always been courteous, kind, professional, willing to aid in every way and in short are all wonderful ambassadors for DSR.

I am always mindful that this is the age of rapid and rife dissemination of information and while it is a wonderful thing sometimes the words of a few may seem to diminish the good efforts of the many.

If one were considering visiting DSR, particularly as a first time visitor I would urge one to read ALL the reviews then make a visit to the resort for a day. I am confident that one will find one’s time well spent and their efforts equally rewarded.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We recently visited desert sun resort. The grounds are very well kept with swimming pools, hot tub and tennis court. It's very enjoyable to do nude sun bathing. However, we were quite disappointed by the quality of the room. We were first assigned to a room (pool side) with very musty and stinky smells. Luckily later in the night, April from the front desk was nice enough to move us to a different room. The sheets and the bed definitely need some upgrades. The shower also takes a long time to get warm. Overall we had a great time since we spent most time outdoors. We wish the hotel could upgrade their beddings and sheets in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
I am very glad that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the sheets but you should be happy to hear that that we ordered new bedding for all the hotel rooms last month and we are just waiting for delivery. At Desert Sun Resort, we care about the guest’s experience and we continue to upgrade the amenities. Every December, we work to evaluate the guest experience and work to replace or repair any items that need it. This year, besides deep cleaning every room and amenity, we resurfaced the concrete around the spa, pool and café areas and replaced the carpet in the courtyard rooms. Even though the bedding was only four years old in the hotel rooms, we ordered new Martex sheets. We are having a new bed skirt, pillow roll and bed throw custom made for each room and will be triple sheeting so as to replace the outdated comforters. We hope you enjoy the new bedding when you return. We will keep working to keep it one of the best resorts in America to enjoy a clothes free vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

So many changes, not all for the good. I have been going there since the early 2000s. I have seen it change hands a few times. I have seen good people leave and have found that not all the replacements fully understand what the hospitality business is about. The place has gone from "we're happy to serve you" to "You should be happy we're serving you." My wife and I booked a room for New Year's Eve well in advance. Upon arrival I find out the cafe is closed til February. If we wanted dinner, we'd have to leave the resort. What? The bar opened, but come to find out another guest was tending bar for the benefit of the guests. I hope he was properly compensated. For the first time that I can recall the charged for the evening festivities. Not entirely a bad thing if value is given for your dollar. This was not the case. Overpriced drinks in small cups and poor entertainment. Why did I come here again?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wun Hung W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
This report was written by a person who was banned for “conduct” on New Years from the resort. We will still take the time to address the “concerns”:

Desert Sun Resort has had very little staff turnover, with the exception of the restaurant, which is normal for any restaurant business. Excluding the restaurant, we have had less than 5% turnover during the past five years. You are our first guest that has ever complained about customer service; however, we will have a team meeting and make sure that we are not doing anything to lose our reputation of being number one in customer service in the nude hospitality business.

The restaurant is closed for a few more weeks due to a renovation. Every December, we invest tens of thousands of dollars improving our resort so our guests can enjoy our beautiful grounds and all the incredible amenities that Desert Sun has to offer. This year, the restaurant was one of the areas that we wanted to improve. We could not make these improvements while having the restaurant open. It would have been too uncomfortable for our guests. We told you that the restaurant will be closed through 1/31/2013 for renovation, when you last visited our resort just three weeks ago (12/9).

Desert Sun Resort has NEVER had any guest tend bar at our resort. In fact, it is against our company policy to allow any “volunteer” to work, in any capacity, at our resort. The bartenders that worked NYE weekend were all compensated. We are unsure why you would think a “guest” was tending bar?

For the past four years, Desert Sun Resort has provided a live band for our New Year’s Eve party. It is the only time each year that we charge a $50 entry fee to our dance. This charge is used to pay the band and the music licensing companies (BNI, ASCAP, etc). If you think about it, it is a very small price to pay for live entertainment on New Year’s Eve and far less than the previous owners used to charge. I was at the party and thought the band was outstanding and all of our guests had a night to be remembered.

In response to your “drinks in small cups” comment: We do not allow glass in our nightclub. I think the reasons are obvious. We do serve alcohol drinks in our restaurant in “glasses”. If you were to order a typical (mixed drinks) alcoholic drink in the restaurant, it would be delivered to you in either a “Collins” glass or a “Rocks” glass. The Collins glass is pint size and the Rocks glass is ten ounces. This is the normal size bar glasses that most bars use! The plastic cups that we use, in our nightclub, for our alcohol drinks are pint size and ten ounce! They are the exact same size. Our normal alcohol drink prices range from $6.50 to $9. We normally are told that our bar prices are very competitive for a resort bar.

We don’t think Desert Sun Resort has “lost its soul”. In fact, 2012 was another record breaking year for us. We continue to get 35% first time visitors and are still rated number ONE for any Nudist Resort in America! As owners, we continue to invest into this unique property to keep it the most beautiful nudist resort in the country. Our six acres of green grass, running streams, and beautiful trees compliment all of our amenities, which include: a full restaurant and bar, Spa with a great staff of massage therapists lead by Renska and Alex, full gym, tennis courts, three swimming pools, two Jacuzzis, and over sixty well appointed rooms to rent with seven different price points to fit any budget. We are the only West Coast nudist resort that caters to our guest 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with staff available every minute of the day, 365 days a year.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We are regular guests at this beautiful resort and stay here on business trips to the desert. The pools are sparkling clean as are the hot tubs. The grounds are the nicest of any clothing optional resort in the desert. The rooms, however, are getting stale, smelly and old. Though I know we did not come to stay in the rooms, as the front desk pointed out (not appreciated), we do sleep on all days ending in Y, therefore we want clean odor-free carpet, beds, soft towels and quiet respectful housekeepers just like you would expect at any other hotel. 8 hours of daily sleep equals 1/3 of our time spent in the room! Sorry Michael but we speak our minds.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the maid's closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Alan,

Thank you for your posting. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. These postings justify our most recent actions.

We agree with you that our new cleaning solution was leaving a smell in the hotel rooms. Our housekeeping crew was trying a new cleaning agent that was recommended by our vendor, Waxie. Since your stay, we discontinued using it and have now reverted to our original cleaning supplies, to get that fresh, clean smell that better describes our rooms.

As you know, we have 91 rooms at Desert Sun Resort. It is unfortunate that you would have stayed in only one of two rooms that are next to a housekeeper's closet. We would have been happy to relocate you if we had other rooms available. It sounds like you know our GM, Michael. He would have gladly moved you to another room had he known of your issue (and another room was available). Nonetheless, we have met with our entire housekeeping team and they now understand the importance of keeping the noise level down when they are in the housekeeping closet.

We are so glad that you mentioned the towels! Just this week, we received our new shipment of towels. Every room now has brand new towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. We have even replaced all of the outdoor pool towels, although the old ones were still in good shape.

We take pride in our resort, not just the incredibly gorgeous grounds that you were kind enough to mention, but everything that enhances our guest's experience. The pools and Jacuzzis look great because every year, we re-do our pools and decks. We realize that our guests spend most of their time enjoying the pool/Jacuzzis, so we want these areas to always look sparkling new.

We are proud to have the newest rooms of any nudist resort in California. Our rooms were completely remodeled within the past couple of years. As owners, we are constantly investing in the property to retain our reputation as the #1 nudist resort in the world.

Thank you for helping us make 2012 our best year ever and for being a repeat guest! Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I have tried a few nude beaches and resorts over the past few years. Our time at the Desert Sun Resort was by far the nicest and most relaxing time we have had. The other guest were very friendly without being pushy or overly friendly. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to relax and shed their clothes without any hassles. We will definitely be returning in the near future

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutterrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We absolutely love this place. We took our first "leap" at a nude vacation here three years ago and it is now a must trip for us each year. We always rent a villa so we don't have to leave the property at ALL since my wife just loves being naked for her entire vacation. We usually try to make the annual Halloween party but just missed it this year due to family obligations, but there was still a nice crowd and plenty of very nice people to meet and chat with. The attention to the property landscaping is a huge reason we come back. It is a beautiful property and spotless whenever we visit. The staff are always so helpful and pleasant when we return.....especially when I left my car keys on the counter...they immediately tracked me down to return them.
Now that we are "empty nesters" we plan on making more trips to DSR each year to take advantage of this rejuvenating resort that keeps our marriage romantic and fun. My wife would come every month if we could get the time off from work, but I promised her more trips in the near future.

Room Tip: we love the villas to make meals in our room and allow us to stay on property for our entire vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relaxingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrive
Arrive
#25 of 73 in Palm Springs
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Vacation Villas
Desert Vacation Villas
#52 of 73 in Palm Springs
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Property: Desert Sun Resort
Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. Adults Only, 3 Swimming pools, 2 Jacuzzi, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing