We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Sun Resort”
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ESTERO
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Desert Sun Resort”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great time. Very clean and staff is courteous, friendly and hard working.
Air conditioner had a hard time keeping things real cool.

Overall rooms were nice, neat and clean for the age.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    59
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
222
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is amazing what a wide-angle lens can do. We expected a much larger resort, more on the lines of Caliente. They managed to pack a lot of resort into a relatively small space of around a city block. The hotel rooms while convenient to the pools were in the need of a major update. They were clean but dated (HC and bathroom especially) and small. The gym was nicely equipped as well as the shop in the lobby. The grounds were lush and well maintained. The guests were also very friendly and welcoming.

Our only real issue was the hours and limited service of the restaurant and bar. There was no poolside bar or food service. You had to go into the restaurant to order. Food service was only available from 11:30 to 2:30 for lunch and dinner from 5 until 8. The bar service was only from 11:30 to 8:30, hours more of a retirement center than an adult only resort, and there was no drink menu. If you got the munchies outside of those times, you had to make do with the snacks in the lobby shop. The thing that helped offset this was the resorts location in Palm Springs. You were in walking distance of Palm Canyon Drive and the vibrant downtown. There were more than a few amazing restaurants there.

If the owners are serious about making this a true “adult only” clothing optional resort, they may want to extend the hours of the bar and serve at the pool. It should be a very good source of incremental revenue. We wish we could have stayed longer not only to enjoy the sun and fun of the resort, but also to explore Palm Springs. We will be coming back to both the next time we are on the West Coast.

Room Tip: Look at the condos for a more updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I just returned for another visit to desert sun. This place has got to be the nicest cleanest clothing optional resort we have ever visited. We cannot think of another clothing optional resort that has such beautiful grounds. We always stay in the Chapparell rooms which we find to be very neat and clean. The staff at desert sun is very pleasant and friendly, especially Michael the manager. If you ever plan on visiting a clothing optional resort you have to put this place on your list. We rate this place 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rvchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have been here at least 10 times . We have stayed in all the accommodations that are offered. Our favorite are the villas. The regular rooms are nice but we prefer the extra space of the villas and the condos were to big.
The staff are simply the greatest . They are always welcoming and pleasant. They have nice special events throughout the year that are fun and entertaining. Most importantly .. My wife feels very safe here. Several times I have had to leave to work for the day(at the last minute.) and she felt very comfortable and secure here.
They have a small but well equipped gym that I always use. The cafe has very good food and again the staff is excellent here also. However it is not open during the weekdays except on Friday or holidays. Finding food isn't a problem but it's nice to be able to stay nude all the time so you might want to bring some items to BBQ on your own when the cafe isn't open.
We love this place. Our only problem is this was the first place we tried for our first Nude experience and have had a hard time finding anything to compare to it. For us it's the best.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Redlin7280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murrieta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked on expedia on march 2013. Expedia at the time said it had an adult pool. Five minutes later my girlfriend told expedia to cancel it they refused because the had a contract with the hotel. I thought it wasn't a big deal but upon check in I saw a naked lady outside of the lobby and new oh [--]. The lady at the counter was very nice but said we cant go near the pool if we had clothes on!

We just wanted a relaxing trip instead the rooms were filthy, the nudists were in your face standing in front of the lobby door exit to tell you they had a club called the bare bunz that we must go to as he was standing in all his unglory poor fella. Expedia failed to help us with there adult only pool spot , but I think we are responsible for them saying its a nudist colony Hello! We just left the second night my girl couldn't take it anymore and we had a much more pleasant time at the comfort inns pool where you could have your clothes on and the rooms were just as crappy but for 70 dollars instead of 140.

Beware!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We found this resort to be almost perfect. We stayed 3 nights, Sun. -Tues. so resort was fairly slow at the time. Rooms seem to be a little out dated, but were adequate. We both had a massage and loved it. Best massage we've had anywhere! Only 2 gripes was there was one lady who seemed like a regular who would sit in her chair and talk on her cell phone. She was on the phone for at least 45 minutes before the staff reminded her of the rules. This is a rule that I would not change. The second gripe is the fact of total nudity required at/in the pool.There are times when the bits down there get a little too much sun and it would be nice to be able to wear a minimal thong/g string when you want/need. We didn't push the issue as rules are rules, but wish that would change.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobSueLuvinLif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

When I read "clothing free resort" or "clothing optional" - I thought they talk about topless.
I was "a bit" surprised when I entered the resort and all around me every body was totally naked! I would say - Not "clothing optional" but "no clothing option"...
I met very nice people there, all couples, open minded and very relax about their uncommon lifestyle.
My advise is give it a try, go for it, it is embracing at the first two hours, and then you'll feel how naturally it is!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ofer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrive
Arrive
#24 of 73 in Palm Springs
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Property: Desert Sun Resort
Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. Adults Only, 3 Swimming pools, 2 Jacuzzi, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing