We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Prestigia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parker Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$424/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
214
63
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
63
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet poolwater volleyballcourtyard roomclothing optional experiencegrounds are beautifulgrounds keepersother guestspools and hot tubshotel rooms areweek daysmain poolnew friendslove this placeholiday weekendplenty of lounge chairsclose to downtownrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Arriving at the airport on an afternoon the 90 degree heat was just what I was wanting. The cab ride from the airport was $18 not including tip.

Tony at the front desk was professional, friendly and cheerfully answered all my questions. The entire staff were exceptional. My room looked as though it had recently been renovated. The lush towels & bedding combined with great pillows and mattress made for a great stay. My room was spotless and nicely maintained.

My room was above the volleyball pool and I loved it. It was fun to hear vacationer’s fun filled laughter and cheers during the volleyball game. Many of the rooms have small tables and chairs outside on the walkway for use which allows you to watch the volleyball games.

During the day I spent my time at the quiet pool located in the rear of the resort. I found myself enjoying the entire pool area by myself for several hours. What a rare treat! Where can you go where the three pools and hot tub are open 24/7? The office is staffed 24/7 with coffee always available.

I can’t give an opinion about the resort menu as I made the decision to explore other options. The resort is located across the street from Rick’s where one can get great Cuban food. Happy Hour is 3-7 and free poured pints of Mojito’s and Margaritas can complement your meal at a low price of $5!

Exploring during the week I found that the city bus stops about two blocks from the resort. Buses run every twenty minutes and seemed to be on time the short few days I was there. Bus #24 took me to the airport for fifty cents senior fare. Adult fair is $1! The ride provides you a tour of a Palm Springs neighborhood you might not otherwise see.

The only problem I had was that I had to leave!

Shirley from Oregon

Room Tip: If you want to experience the sounds of vacation fun and laughter ask for a room above the pool. Peace and quiet just ask when you make your reservation and if possible they will accommodate you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I were a little nervous but didn't need to be. Within 10 minutes we felt comfortable, the staff was very helpful and all the guests were nice and polite. The grounds are beautiful and our room was clean and comfortable. I loved the heated salt-water pool. The resturant was crowded, so service was a little slow, but the food was fine. We had a great vacation and will definately be coming again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carpenter201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The owners have really improved the facilities and grounds from years ago. The hotel rooms are dated, small but clean. Did not eat at the cafe. The grounds are beautiful and there are quiet area that you can find if the 80s music by the main pool gets to be too much. Noisy rooms at night.

Room Tip: Get one away from the entrance and upstairs to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeorgeF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for sharing how nice the facilities and grounds are. Since we purchased the property six years ago, we have consistently improved the beautiful grounds that are guests have become accustomed to. We are the only West Coast nudist resort that offers our guest three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis to choose from every day! For many of our guests, they can spend three days at our resort and enjoy a different pool each day. It is like taking three different vacations without ever leaving the property!

Another amenity that we are so proud of is our full-service bar and restaurant. You probably did not know that we are the only nudist resort in Southern California that has a full bar and restaurant. Our restaurant is open seven days a week. We don’t hand our guests a take-out menu and then expect them to wait hours for their cold food to be delivered. We take pride in offering an extensive menu with “made to order” fresh food. The quality of the food is usually the first thing our guests praise us on upon checking out. We are pleased that our guests can order just about any adult beverage and have it made fresh right there in front of them. Our guests can thoroughly enjoy the “resort experience” by having drinks delivered to them poolside. No other nudist resort in Southern California can legally do this.

Our spa has never been better! We offer a choice of five different therapists. We are proud that our guests can enjoy their massage inside a clean and comfortable spa building. A guest just commented how she had a massage at another local nudist resort and they could only offer her an outdoor massage, or one in her room. She complained about constantly hearing the noise from the planes flying overhead (the resort is in the Palm Springs airport flight path) and other guest’s conversations. At the Desert Sun Resort Spa, you will enjoy a climate controlled private room; and the only noise you will hear is our smooth calming spa music.

Thank you for mentioning our hotel rooms. We are not sure when you stayed with us, but if you stayed after January 1st, you would have experienced our brand new hotel rooms! We are proud that we just completed a FULL renovation of our hotel rooms in December. Desert Sun Resort offers seven different types of rooms from a clean, modern hotel rooms to a two bedroom condo (1,250 square feet) with a full kitchen and two bathrooms. The hotel renovation involved replacing every hotel room with brand new custom furniture (9 new pieces in each room), a brand new 40 inch HD flat screen TV with a DVD, new improved lighting with four new lighting fixtures per room. They are the most modern, cleanest, and comfortable rooms in the industry today.

Desert Sun Resort is currently in the midst of breaking every record that our resort has had during the past 20 years! The bookings at Desert Sun Resort are up over 20% from this time last year! Our resort has in excess of 60 rooms available for rent every night and since January; we have either been sold out, or very close to being sold out every weekend. Weekdays, we have been filling up no less than 30 rooms per night. We have had several days that we have had to turn away guests. As a result, we just hired three additional housekeepers during the past 30 days. More and more people are trying Desert Sun Resort for the first time, and they are quickly learning that there is no other place like it. If you want a clean, comfortable, modern room with a large enough property to explore, then Desert Sun Resort is your place.
We invite anybody to login to our website and click on the “Nudist Resort Comparison” on our front page to see why Desert Sun Resort is the most popular nudist resort in the world. Come see why nudist that visit our resort, consistently tell us that Desert Sun Resort is the finest resort that they have ever stayed.

Thank you for taking your time to post a trip report. We appreciate your comments and will use them to better improve our guest’s experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed here several times, and it always seems the front desk gets messed up. This time we were double charged and treated like it was our fought. The couple we were with were also double charged. Everything was straightened out, but why does it happen. I think the system is a little outdated. The grounds are very well taken care of. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. The decor is very old, the beds are bad: however, the place is very clean, but it takes time, one day our room was not serviced until 4:00 p.m. They need more room service staff. The stay here is not cheap, so we also expect the service to be top notch. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place. The busiest is Saturday, or maybe a holiday. The property is beautiful, the staff, except for one individual at the front desk are friendly. We ate at the restaurant one day at noon. The waitress really did not know the food. We were told something was freshly made but it was obvious it was from the frozen bag, greasy. I had a frozen drink, that was mostly frozen juice. There are alot of restaurants around, which maybe the best choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAKRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your report of your recent trip to Desert Sun Resort. We take your comments about being “double charged” very seriously. This is the first time in the past six years that we have heard a guest complain about being “double charged” so we, as resort owners, immediately pulled your folio to investigate the problem. As you know, you and your spouse were sharing one of our two bedroom condos with your friends, another couple. Upon checking in, the third party credit card company that we use declined your credit card AND the credit card of the other couple in your condo. Our front desk staff immediately logged into our third party credit card processing systems website, and as you know, cleared this up immediately by refunding the credit card right then. I am pleased to tell you that we have the most current booking software and one of the finest available in the hotel/restaurant industry. It was not the fault of the resort software that your credit cards declined; it was clearly the fault of the third party credit card processing company, which declined your card. In March, Desert Sun Resort purchased not only a brand new Server from Dell, but also brand new computers for every workstation. All these systems have now been installed. We also just purchased five new wireless antennas to improve the internet connection on our property. These antennas are the highest grade that technology offers today. Those antennas will be installed at the resort during the month of April. As you can see, we have, and will continue to, invest in the finest technology available. Your experience with double billing was a glitch in the third party credit card processing system. This was an isolated incident (first time in six years) and we have been told by the credit card processing system that this should not happen again.

Thank you for sharing how nice the grounds are. We have always taken pride in not only our landscaping, but also our three pools and two Jacuzzis. Just last month, one of our pools and Jacuzzis was just completely re-plastered and retiled. The other two were done last year. Our guests appreciate having the opportunity to choose from three different pools and two Jacuzzis spanning over several acres.

One of the unique features of Desert Sun Resort when comparing to any other nudist resort in Southern California, is that we have a full-service bar and restaurant. One that is open seven days a week. We don’t hand our guests a take-out menu and then expect them to wait hours for their cold food to be delivered. We understand that guest’s want to eat when they are hungry and not when it is convenient for a delivery driver to deliver their cold food. We take pride in offering an extensive menu with “made to order” fresh food. The quality of the food is usually the first thing our guests praise us on upon checking out. I am not sure what food that you had because we simply do not serve food from frozen bags. Regardless, we are sorry that you had a bad meal. We are pleased that our guests can order just about any adult beverage and have it made fresh right there in front of them. We don’t freeze drinks, or serve you cheap bottles of champagne.

Desert Sun Resort offers seven different types of rooms from a clean, modern hotel room to a two bedroom condo (1,250 square feet) with a full kitchen and two bathrooms. We are proud that we just completed a FULL renovation of our hotel rooms in December. This renovation involved, donating every single piece of existing furniture and electronics, and replacing every hotel room with brand new custom furniture including a new 40 inch flat screen TV with a DVD. The rooms now have improved lighting with four new lighting fixtures in every room. They are the most modern, cleanest, and comfortable rooms in the industry today. Later this year, we will be updating all of our condos with new beds, electronics, carpet, etc. to keep up with our desire to offer our guests the best experience, not only in our newly modern hotel rooms, but also in our condos.

We want to respond to your concern about housekeeping not servicing your room until 4 pm. We checked our housekeeping report and it is correct that your room was not serviced until close to 4 pm one day. We are currently in the midst of breaking every record that this resort has ever had over the past 20 years! The business at Desert Sun Resort is up over 20% from this time last year! Our resort has in excess of 60 rooms available for rent every night and since January; we have either been sold out, or very close to sold out every weekend. Weekdays we have been filling up no less than 30 rooms per night. We have had several days that we have had to turn away guests. As a result, we just hired three additional housekeepers during the past 30 days. More and more people are trying Desert Sun Resort for the first time, and they are quickly learning that there is no other place like it. If you want a clean, comfortable, modern room with a large enough property to explore, then Desert Sun Resort is your place. We invite anybody to login to our website and click on the “Nudist Resort Comparison” on our front page to see why Desert Sun Resort is the most popular nudist resort in the world. We don’t mislead our guest by trying to convince them that we are rated in the “top 10” in surveys that are mostly voted on by the owner of the small property. Nor do we advertise on our website an L.A. Magazine that states “as a featured travel destination” and not tell you the magazine is from 18 years ago (dated in 1996)! Come see why nudist that visit our resort, consistently tell us that Desert Sun Resort is the finest resort that they have ever stayed.

Thank you for taking your time to post a trip report. We appreciate your comments and will use them to better improve our guest’s experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife was unable to be with me for this trip. The resort still made me feel welcome for my one week stay. I truly LOVED the pools and surroundings. All the pools and hot tubs are top notch. All staff and grounds people were friendly and nice to chat with. The rooms in the Chaparral Hotel are a little dated but serve the purpose as they are intended. I would recommend the second floor and ask for one with an balcony outside the room. All other guest were friendly and in the same mind set. Great place to lay outside in the sun naked and fall asleep. Very much looking forward to a return trip. If you have been wanting to try a place such as this but were unsure just remember this, "everyone else has felt the same way that you will on your first visit." Being naked is a BIG deal but after a couple of days one realizes that it is really NO big deal at all. I promise you, that you WILL NOT regret a truly memorable visit to the Desert Sun Resort. Sincerly, Bruce

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with an outside balcony. They have a small table and two chairs just outside your room which is nice to use for breakfast. This would be in the Chaparral Hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank 55andretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Bruce,
Thank you for the nice review. I agree with you that there is no better way to relax than to try vacationing naked!
I just want to assure guests that photos are never allowed at our resort unless accompanied by management. Our GM was nice enough to oversee that these pictures taken were of the property only and not any people. Our guests privacy is of utmost importance to us and that is why we do not allow cell phones or cameras.
Hope to see you and your wife back on your next vacation. Our staff enjoyed having you here also.
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews