We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit was fun”
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After joining the club for $10 on check in, we opted on room 53 in the Chapparel building. Ashley greeted us and introduced us to the manager, Michael. He patiently showed us several rooms and the property on whole. He even gave us 10% off on the room to seal the deal. We only thought we would visit as "day use" guests which is $50 per couple. The staff and the other guests were all friendly. Ashley wouldn't let us bring a cooler to our chair poolside, but I understand they want to keep the place from looking untidy. As the cafe was closed today however, I figure they could have been more lenient. We ordered food online at http://www.labite.com/.
After getting undressed, we headed to the relaxing quiet pool. We didn't see anyone else there for hours. In fact, there were only about 8 other guests all day.
The property is large though with 3 pools in total. The one in the back is salt water, and the other 2 are chlorine. Everything seemed clean and well run.
They do give you a sheet of rules and suggestions upon check in that helps especially new guests and first time nudists. The one major rule was no gawking. My only complaint was that the only gawker was the service man on the property. He stared every time he passed by.

Overall, it was a beautiful nude day, and the room was comfortable.

Room Tip: They have regular rooms as well as 1 and 2 bedroom suites.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Imagemaker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Desert Sun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent 4 nights (Sun - Wed) at Desert Sun Resort at the end of jun for part of our nakation. Desert Sun Resort is just like any other modern hotel except its clothing optional. We stayed in one of the Chaparral rooms. Room is small compared to standard hotels in a similar price range. Floor is carpet except in bathroom which was all tile. Bathroom had shower only, no tub. Bed was king sized and comfortable. There was a mini refrigerator in room but no microwave. No in room coffee but free coffee available in the lobby. One wall in room is all mirror(does make room appear bigger). No breakfast is provided. Everything in room was clean and in working order. Resort provides ample towels. The resort is fairly large for a nude resort in a city environment. It has 3 pools and 2 hot tubs. 1 pool and 1 hot tub is salt water. There are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas at each pool. There are also several sitting areas near the pools that are comfortable. There is a restaurant/bar on site but was mostly closed during our stay as we visited during low season. We did have 1 lunch in the restaurant which was a sandwich special that was quite good and price was reasonable. The grounds are beautiful with mountain views. There is a tennis court and fitness room if you want to sweat even more in 100+ temperatures. The grounds are big enough to take a nice walk, there is a water feature through part of the resort but it had no water during our stay. We spent most of our time nude sunbathing by the quiet pool. Attendance seemed light but there are plenty of places to sun bathe with 3 pools. People were friendly, we chatted with a few other couples. Single men are permitted and there were a few. Ages seemed to be late 30's to 70's. This is a beautiful resort to spend quality time with your spouse and in the nude.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a great time at Desert Sun on our third visit to Desert Sun. People were very polite and sociable. Our first visit was my wife's first clothing optional experience. It was such a positive experience she wanted to return. Since then we have visited several other clothing optional venues. Without a doubt Desert Sun has been the most comfortable and most relaxing. Although it shouldn't matter, we do like the idea that it is for adults only. Each time we have stayed in the Chaparral. It's a great place to relax and socialize. Mike made sure we enjoyed our stay even though we locked our keys in our room many times. Hey it's a nudist resort...no pockets for the key!! :) We will return when our schedule permits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 2BNKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in a courtyard room this visit which was o.k.. The room was comfortable and generally quiet but still close to the activity pool. The only downside was we payed extra for a full kitchen and while the kitchen was there, there were a few issues the resort needs to clean up. First, we are vegans and the first night, all our vegetables froze because the fridge was turned down too low. It really didn't matter since the cutting board in the room is as big as a post card and the knife they supplied was a 5 inch piece of garbage ginsu. The resort could at least put a little more effort in supplying legitimate utensils since charging over 300 bucks a night for this room. Really no excuse here. Not that we watched it much but the television in these rooms needs to be replaced. Once again, we should expect a bit more given the price of the room. The lounge chair scam during the night before Saturday was a joke. Most of the prime chairs were reserved the night before when they are supposed to be empty until 7 a.m. There was plenty of other seating however. Good veggie burger in the restaurant, good homemade bloody marys, good people, and generally a good visit. Grounds were very clean. Would love to see them invest in a salt water filtration system for the rest of the pools instead of just the owner's pool (still open to everyone). We will most likely be back but I would hope they address some of these issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Desert Sun for our 25th Anniversary. We had our first visit here for my 66th birthday in February 2013 (and our first clothing optional experience). I recommended it at that time on Tripadvisor. This latest visit in April 2014 is our now our fourth time at DSR. The heart and soul of Desert Sun are the staff, owners and guests. With the exception of the change in bartenders, the staff have remained consistent and engaged, from manager to groundskeepers. The owners, John and Elisabeth, treat everyone as guests in their home rather than paying customers. Everyone takes pride in the beautiful grounds, rooms, and pools. There is a code of conduct which makes it safe and respectful. Meeting people in a clothing optional environment eliminates so many "social" clues that cause first judgement before a person is known. Desert Sun is our only choice for this type of vacation and we will continue going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bettysbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been here 3 times before and it truly an incredible place to visit. I have went as a couple, a single male, and this time I managed to talk 3 (2 females, 1 male) of my friends to go for their first experience. They were all pretty nervous, but It was pretty awesome how they adapted to the lifestyle in about 15 minutes. The staff and all the guests are so friendly. Everybody around the pool , knew everybody's name after an hour . That just doesn't happen at a textile resort.. We had a karaoke night on Friday, My one female friend that has never done this type of vacation before , sang like 4 songs. What a surprise. A Lua was on Saturday night, that was awesome. Everything about the staff and the resort is great, Beautiful, Friendly, Upscale, Restaurant /bar (though not always open),3 pools, 2 hot tubs. It's the people that go here that make the resort what it is, and the Owners, John and Elizabeth, who are there quite a bit. It was the 6th anniversary of them buying it, with a small dedication and you can tell how much they care about this resort. So in finale, let me tell you my what my 3 newbie friends. They initially had told me they would like to come here about every 5 years to be nice to me, but when we were in the lobby , checking out. They asked me if we should make reservations , right then for next year, because they wanted to come back on the same weekend. So we, and 4 other couples that we have met, are all coming back next year at the same time to continue this experience. You have to experience this resort and lifestyle. You are who you are. This is a pretty awesome place. And a quick Thanks to the owners, John, Elizabeth, and to the Staff, Michael, the manager, Theresa, Amanda , Tami, Tony, Russo, to the head chef, who's name I forgot. and To Chuck the local, activities director :}. Try it people . It's not that hard to do, and you will love it.

Room Tip: I personally like the just the hotel, because it is near the activities, but the condo's are pre...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Dale689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

...because of the praise, but--I assure you--it is not. I am a patron.

Desert Sun gets five stars because it provides a great service; namely, a larger and more upscale nudist resort than usual where the emphasis is on nudism, not friskiness. It is the only nudist option for single men in the area, and a safe place for single women to enjoy nudism. For that, it is a priceless addition to the Palm Springs and SoCal scene.

I have just come back from three days at Desert Sun as a man on my own. I have previously day-passed there with women partners. All three visits have been great, relaxing experiences.

Desert Sun offers three different pools, two spas, tennis courts and areas designated ‘quiet’. The main pool is the liveliest, with piped-in music and a volleyball game guaranteed to start up every afternoon. All other areas are much mellower and very restful.

Many will complain about Desert Sun’s “no friskiness” policy…no kidding, you’re not supposed to show affection/cuddle/kiss/embrace on the grounds, and the waitresses and staff will enforce this rule like nuns at a Catholic junior high dance. At first, this sounds ludicrous—that even married couples cannot cuddle in the pools and spas—but there is a very, very good reason for it; it reinforces that Desert Sun is about nudism, not Lifestyling, and so public swingers stay away. You come here to enjoy the sun and relaxation naked, not for a Hedonism or Desire resort experience.

Coupled with an absolute “no cell phones, no iPads” policy, this absolutely eliminates the appeal for any single men to come to this resort with creepy intentions of cruising women or snapping illicit photos. As a direct result, only devoted nudists come here with the best of intentions. Single nudist men, you can stay here! Single nudist women, you can relax here, too and feel truly safe from prowling. Thank you, Desert Sun, for this.

And relax you will—there are many sedate and quiet areas to the resort. During the week, when prices drop considerably, you will have entire pools and spas to yourself. It is blissfully quiet. The pools and spas are open 24 hours, so—shhhhh!—just go out in the evenings on a weeknight with your honey and, trust me, you can embrace and cuddle all you like in a pool or hot tub all to yourselves. And Lifestylers can certainly stay here, it's simply that Desert Sun asks that the action be kept in the rooms. People are here to relax with a capital 'R'.

Weekends are definitely more of a party atmosphere, but there is always the saltwater pool and spa off in its own remote area, which are always much more mellow in vibe.

The crowd skews older, especially during the week; many folks are regulars and nudist retirees who live in the attached condos. An older crowd and local owners can only mean that politeness and a relaxed pace abounds.

The rooms are decorated more nicely than they even have to be…towels folded into crescents, decorative pillows on the beds, etc. There are some older rooms with older fixtures, but near the main pool the amenities are quite nice—see other people’s photos. A step up from other nudist resorts.

While some Yelpers complain about the food quality and prices, I don’t see why; it has a nice dining room and full-size bar for a nudist resort, and the food is better quality than most nudist spots. You are paying the prices to have restaurant and staff open on the grounds of the resort…one that you can sit at completely naked and get full restaurant waitress service. While some complain about expensive drink prices, you can certainly bring bottles with you…rooms contain mini-fridges. Who expects low cocktail prices at hotels/resorts? The girls shake a good drink, and serve it with a big smile. Tip them well…you probably worked for tips once in your life, too, and since people bring in bottles for their rooms, this cuts into the girls' bar tips. Make sure to order a drink from them every once in a while.

If you want higher-quality food, just stroll across the street to the Riviera, which offers very elegant options….but at an even higher price, of course. Nevertheless, if more stylishness is what you crave, just put on your clothes and high-end dining is literally only 100 steps or so from Desert Sun’s front door.

Massages are available on-site, and are expensive…again, they are hotel-level prices, but less than, say, Burke-Williams. The masseuse Laurel gave me quite a good, deep workout of my stressed shoulders and neck. I get massages often, and she did a very good job.

Thanks, Desert Sun—you are a cut above the normal nudist options, and a safe place for single people interested in nudism first. May you prosper!

Room Tip: My room near the main pool was nice and modern....more modern than the rooms in the quiet area...but...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank headrichloric a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrive
Arrive
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palm Springs
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. Adults Only, 3 Swimming pools, 2 Jacuzzi, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing