We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old v. Historical, Charming Nostalgia or Old”
Review of Ingleside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ingleside Inn
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old v. Historical, Charming Nostalgia or Old”
Reviewed 19 April 2005

Considering the disparity between reviews, I will state first that I enjoyed my stay at this property. However, both sides of the reviews are easily understandable.

If you are looking for luxury, or even modern accomodations in lodging, you will probably not enjoy a stay here. On the other hand, if the decor and furniture that have others have described sounds charming to you, then the Inn beckons.

That said, I found the Ingleside Inn to be a nice trip back in time. The particular villa I stayed in faced the courtyard. The beauty of the resort is not in the rooms, but in the property grounds. Most, if not all villas, have a private patio or veranda - a wonderful place for morning coffee and breakfast if you don't want to enjoy it poolside. The pool and spa are heated and open 24 hours. It is a small area, but lush with grass and flora.

The villa I stayed in was large, with a desk, a dresser, and two nightstands in the sleeping area. The television atop the dresser did leave something to be desired as the only thing it was missing was foil on the antennae. I think the welcome basket of fruit and cheese and crackers was strategically placed in front of it as a much-needed veil.

The room also had a small walk-in closet, spacious enough to house a weekends worth of hanging clothes. A mini-fridge is located in the closet, stocked with water and soft drinks and included in the price of your stay.

The bathroom was slightly larger than average, with a large shower/whirpool tub, dual sinks, and a seperate toilet/bidet area. And the ever-important water pressure was worthy of a fire hose.

Everything functioned well in the room, even the 13" TV.

The staff at the Inn is was exceptional.

Again, don't expect anything modern at the Inn and I believe you'll understand the attraction. I found it the perfect weekend getaway, a wonderful place to relax and forget about the world just outside of the walls of the Ingleside Inn.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dennisguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    52
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
15
157
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 February 2005

Don't understand where the negative reviews come from. This was one of the greatest places I've ever stayed. While the accomodations aren't luxe, the service, location, and ambiance are top rate. I think most people will love this place if you are looking for private, personal service with a lot of old Palm Springs style.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 November 2004

Unfortunately, I must agree with the reviews that do not give the Ingleside Inn high marks. I think that the difference in reviews may be between those willing to spend $300-$400 per night for a room, and those of us who may have spent less than that...I, like one of the other reviewers, had a "mountain view room" which sounded like it would be quite a nice room. However, this room turned out to be so small that it could not accomodate two people comfortably. The bed felt like it was 30 years old or more and was very uncomfortable and soft, thus waking up with some back pain. The shower looked fine, but one could not adjust the hot water to an adequate temperature. The furnishings were old and dirty -- and it seems that it would be pretty easy to update the room with a fresh coat of paint and some new furnishings at a minimum. Also, should not forget to mention the music at night which you can hear from many of the rooms. The final straw was in trying to open the old wooden window, since it was hot and there was one small old room air conditioner, is that it would not stay open without a stack of books (and no screen so the bugs came in). The grounds are beautiful, and I sense that some of the larger suites are well furnished as well, but you have to be willing to bite the bullet for an expensive weekend. It is unfortunate that some of the effort put into the grounds is not extended to updating the rooms. Even some of the larger rooms we looked at were small and dark. The Ingleside Inn has had a wonderful reputation over the years, but am afraid that it is still riding on that reputation without putting commensurate amount of investment and effort into keeping the rooms in good condition. Unless you are willing to get an expensive suite there (and in the back of the hotel), strongly recommend one of the other inns or hotels that are located close by.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2004

We also, like one of the prior reviewers, chose to stay at Ingleside Inn in Palm Springs at least partially based on reviews we read on this site. At the end of our stay at Ingleside, we wondered if there must have been two Ingleside resorts in Palm Springs and that we ended up in the wrong one! To begin with, we felt that nothing about Ingleside justifies its exorbitant room rates, there are far better places to stay for the money in Palm Springs. The rooms were old and dingy, carpets frayed, walls thin (you could hear everything going on in adjacent guest rooms) and the bathtub/shower in our bathroom was badly in need of repair and/or remodeling. We really wanted to go high end in Palm Springs as this was our first trip there together, boy were we disappointed.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2004

The hotel has been on my "must stay" list for several years. I grew up in Southern California and the hotel and the resturant "Melvins" is a legend. Well the room was quiet but has not been updated since the place was built. I would put money on the fact that it was the original bed! The jacuzzi tub didn't work and there was plenty of mold to go around for all.

I will opt for another hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2004

We have stayed at this Inn many times over the last 10 years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very charming and comfortable, and the grounds are lovely. The Staff is attentive. The restraurant has the best food in the area. I can't understand the negative comments.

Helpful?
3 Thank fromArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2004

Don't pay any attention to those last two reviews. They are by the same person and they obviously did not stay in the same place I did.
Wonderful old inn with the fell of the gracious 1930"s. Fruit and cheese in the room. Complete maid service with turn down. Newspaper at your door. Great grounds and lobby and great restaurant. If you want to stay at a cookie cutter plastic modern place fine. If you want a fine inn, this is the place

Helpful?
4 Thank mfp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Inn

Property: Ingleside Inn
Address: 200 W Ramon Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7385
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InglesideInn is an official Palm Springs Historical site, built in 1925. A visit to the Inn is like staying at a friend's country estate.The Inn has been home to many famous celebrities including Frank Sinatra, Liza Minelli, John Travolta and Marlon Brando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ingleside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing