We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Romantic”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights. The first night was in a queen room which was quite small with a tiny bathroom. We asked Jacob (one of the managers) if we could move to a king room and he gave us a special deal on one of the king suites which was wonderful. It was spacious and had its own private patio. The entire staff was as friendly and accomodating as anyplace I've been. The complementary hot breakfasts at Europa restaurant were outstanding. The most distinguishing facet about Villa Royale was the myriad small spaces around the grounds where, even though they were fully booked, a couple could always find a secluded spot to be alone. There are two small pools which were never crowded and a hot tub in one of those small secluded spaces. This is an older place (it was once owned by Olympic swimmer and actress Sonja Henie) and as such the mature grounds and landscaping enhanced the feeling of calmness and relaxation.

Room Tip: The king SUITES are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We got back from a 7-night stay at the Villa Royale Inn last week. First impressions were outstanding: beautiful grounds; nice location; a couple pools, etc. However, after a week's stay, things always look clearer.

First of all, there are some individual 5-star ratings that we must acknowledge: Jacob and Jack provided excellent service. The on-property restaurant, Europa, is special. And breakfast every morning was great - as was our special waitress, Irma. (You put extra sun in those mornings, Irma!) All that aside:

There are a few things that have to be addressed, before we could improve this rating.

Rooms: Depending upon the room you select, you may be disappointed. We requested one of the regular King rooms. And we stayed in a couple of them.

The first: Was a kind-of-gloomy room that didn't look like it was updated, i.e., cracked tiles on the floor in the bedroom; dark furnishings, and; a bathroom that was no better than a cheap motel - more broken tiles, cabinets that were just plain old and ugly, a toilet that didn't flush properly unless you held down the handle, and a shower head that sprayed all over. Note: the shower head was replaced. This room had a nice, walled private patio. However, my wife really didn't want to spend a week here, so we asked to be moved. After a couple nights, we did move on to . . .

The second: Also a King room, it did look like it had been updated, i.e., brighter, nice bath, newer (it seemed) furnishings, and a mini-fridge and microwave. (The other room had no microwave.) Had we been in this room from the first night, our over-all impression of the Villa Royale would have probably resulted in a bump-up in the overall star rating.

Just be aware of this: your experience here will probably be determined by the type of room that you book. So, the more you're willing to spend, the better your experience will probably be. From what we could see, and speaking to some other guests, the Villas are very nice.

Other than that, there were a few other things that we noticed. Like fresh pool towels were not always out first thing in the morning; a couple of the umbrellas didn't always work, and; there were some spots on the property where the landscape/hardscape looked a bit tired. In other words, there needs to be a closer look and care of property "details" to keep it in tip-top shape.

Given our experience, we would probably add a "half star" to our overall review here. But there are no "half stars" on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M&ALongGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our expectations were high for a romantic 2-night getaway. Unfortunately, our room was infested with fruit flies. Their pesty dive-bombing and aerial acrobatics were a tremendous distraction and competely annihilated our relaxation plans. As a result, we cut our visit to 1 night. However, to be fair, this situatiuon could happen in any hotel and there are several outstanding features to point out.

First, the man at the front desk was among the best we've encountered. He lined up both a facial and a massage for us in a matter of minutes with a couple of phone calls. When reporting the bug problem, he worked to find an open room for us and offered to help us move (it was already too late for us by that time). He even brought by a bottle of bug spray to help with temporary relief (this must have been a insecticide-resistant strain as it did not do the trick). He helped us with reservations at the Inn's Europa restaurant. He was teriffic and an asset to the property.

Our facial and massage were both terrific and conducted in the on-site spa. Highly recommended if you want to relax. We ordered a couple glasses of wine and a cheese/fruit plate from the bar. The room service was quick and the fruit/cheese fresh.

The Inn's Europa restaurant is outstanding. The atmosphere is intimate, charming and romantic. The food was very good and the service was as well. Even if you are not staying at the Inn, you can still dine at the Europa, which we would highly recommend.

Overall, a good experience that could have been exceptional had we not had the pest problem. We would. however, be willing to give the Inn a second chance due to the exceptional service, atmosphere and restaurant.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I had never been to Palm Springs and wasn't sure what to expect, but I really enjoyed myself at the Villa Royale Inn. I stayed in the two bedroom suite with family and we were incredibly impressed with the charming decor and relaxing environment. Sitting on the couch in our large sitting room, we could hear the stream burbling by our window, which was the perfect touch. The pool areas are very relaxing and beautiful as well- between the two pools and the jacuzzi, there's always a chair available, but the pools are small enough to keep the environment quaint. We didn't eat at the Europa except for the complimentary breakfast, but the omelet was terrific. Not the place if you're looking for a party atmosphere, but if you want a relaxing respite that's not far from downtown, this is the place. Would be a great place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Pet fee is a steep non-refundable $75, but they're very tolerant of small dogs and the rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A return visit after some years. We were not disappointed. Service laid back but efficient,nothing too much trouble. It is still a great place to relax, look at the mountains and try to find something to worry about. We understand there is a new chef and our meal was excellent as was our accomodation, room 118 just tucked away but near everything, especially the early morning coffee.

Room Tip: Our room (118) and its neighbour was particularily good, quiet but central and near the main pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186266Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Had a family issue in the desert and needed a nice place to rest. This is it. What a great place, kind people, fantastic food and liquor, walking distance to other great places. I had the chance to stay in 3 rooms as they had to juggle me during peak season. All were charming and I can't say enough kind things about the management and help. Clean. Not overpriced. Well managed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace. Really sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here for one night recently and found a dead, recently fed bedbug under the mattress in our suite. I spoke to a staff member who was sweet and apologetic, but really did nothing about it. I was grossed out. I waited for the new owner to a drive and spoke with him about this situation. I was assured that they sprayed once a month for bedbugs. He apologized, offered to buy me a drink at the bar (which I declined - I had other plans), and asked if there was anything i needed. I wanted another room, but they were booked. i refused to sleep on that mattress - so he sent over a pillow, a sheet and a thin blanket that i requested as I informed him I would sleep on the couch. He didn't seem to care one bit. I was hoping he would do the right thing and offer a discount. Not at all. What a shame. Quaint place but needs work. Hardly AAA 4 star.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#25 of 75 in Palm Springs
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £60 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing