We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a trip to Europe in your own backyard”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take a trip to Europe in your own backyard”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This delightful B & B is has a special intimate charm, a bit of old school Palm Springs at its best. Our third trip to Villa Royale was even more enjoyable than the first two, as we have chosen to upgrade rooms each time (every room has a special feeling all of it's own). The service here is impecable; staff are friendly and helpful, often going above and beyond. Both Jacob and Kirby were exceptional....thanks guys! The grounds are lush and have delightful places to sit, read, sun and relax... a little piece of heaven! A must inclusion is dining at their on site restaurant, Europa. The food is outstanding! This unique and delightful B & B is rapidly becoming our favorite easy, affordable, get-out-of-town getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver b.c.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

For our group of 5 ladies getaway, we wanted to find a property to stay at for our 4 nights that was not at a basic cookie cutter hotel/resort. We decided on the Villa Royale Inn and was quite delighted with the experience of getting a taste of how stars from the old Hollywood glamour days might have enjoyed. The series of courtyards, main pool and layout of this sprawling property located on over 3 acres reflected a serene Mexican hacienda. The red tile roofs, gorgeous Bougainvilleas, orange trees, blue tiled accents, wrought iron features and beautiful concrete fountains is simply lovely. The best rooms we encountered were the ones in the main courtyard (we rented a villa suite and 2 separate rooms). The rooms were decorated with an eclectic array of antiques from vintage Asian to American style. The service we encountered from Jack, Jake and the owner was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The made to order breakfast was a lovely bonus to dine at in the in-house award winning restaurant...however it would a extra nice touch to offer a fresh squeezed juice considering the calibre of the restaurant. In general, if one were to really look at every tiny detail with a magnifying glass at this property, then you would find the need for better detail on clearing dust bunnies around corners, refresh the linens somewhat and refresh the bathrooms with more up to date hardware. However, with its convenient location, peaceful and safe setting, extra perks such as bikes for use (possible rental) and the idea that you stayed at a once very magnificence place where Hollywood stars used to go for a pampered and discreet getaway, then Villa Royale will not disappoint. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the hidden little suites that is just a lovely spacious retreat (living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatluvshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting since the place was first created. On my recent visit, they changed my room to a dank cave in the back, accessed by crossing a bridge over dirty wanted and ground that were bare dirt. I complained, reported I had no sleep due to noises through the walls and the dankness and dampness of the room and cancelled our second night. They fully charged me for the first miserable night. They have palm trees being destroyed by vines, unkept grounds and, simply, they have gone to seed. The place has lost its charm. I won't return and you would do better at a Courtyard by Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn, not a place that charges as though it were the Biltmore.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alexinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Wanted to use an electrical outlet and found the only one at floor level behind one nightstand next to the bed. I have never seen so many plugs in one outlet before. Both outlets had multiple plugs in them trough the use of adapters. In addition, one of the bedside lights went on and off during the night with no human assist. This made for a good night's sleep. (We discovered in the morning that this was the result of a faulty switch by the door, away from the bed.) Discussed this with staff in the morning and he got upset (read that as rude) when I asked him to look at me while we were talking rather than looking at the computer screen. (To his credit, he apologized later.) They charge you $75 per stay to bring a pet. I can understand this when the staff needs to do a deep cleaning after you leave. However, this place had tile floors throughout that could be hosed out if necessary. The room was tired - so much for recently remodeled - as evidenced by the bent blinds, chipped counter top, sloping shower floor, splintered shelves, etc. The patio was dirty and the welcome mat had to moved out of our dog's reach since it was falling apart and presented a problem for a teething puppy. Once it was removed I found a hairpin where it had been. We left after the first night and felt luck that they did not charge us for the remainder of the stay we booked. (I had to ask for that, as they did not offer to remove any of the charges.) Somebody should contact the fire marshal and have them take a look at the electrical situation. .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We teravelled form England in February 2013 to Palm Springs and stayed at this wonderful hotel. It is quiet, secluded, stylish and has the most helpful and freindly staff. It is quirky and definitely NOT a big chain or resort and has lots of charm and character.

If you want a laid-back holliday it's great.

I am a wheelchair user and found the hotel really accessible though I did nto have a speciallya dapted room (I dont need one) it worked great; like all places most of this is down to the attitudes of the staff which were really good and helpful

The restaurant was first class too.

The upsides were major and will bring us back againa nd again:
-its location,
-its quietness (I was awoken at 06:00 by birdsong not traffic),
-its staff and its scale - it actually feels even more intimate than one might expect because it is built around a series of small courtyards.

The only downsides were
-a shortage of shelf or drawer space in the room (why is it that all hotels seem to love wardrobes over drawers and shelves?),
-a really noisy heater/aircon in our room
-the hotel likes to play quiet 'easy listening' music arounbd the pool area - I could do without this in such a pleasant location but that's just a personal preference
-breakfast service was great but the choise was only adequate and scored a 5/10, I think a little more choice would be good even if it were a chargeable option

On balance this is a great place and a real find for the descerning traveller of taste.

Room Tip: The rooms away fromt he main courtyard and pool dont have the music playing during the day and are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Royale.. in our group we had some 6 rooms that each were so beautiful decorated and yet so different. the grounds were beautiful and very luxurious, the ambiance of the hotel so perfect we never left the hotel during the 3 days stay.

To make our stay even more wonderful was the pool side amazing lunches and our dinner at the classy restaurant on grands... one of my very best restaurant experiences ever. professional team. superb quality, phenomenal test..

Congratulations to the hotel management for for crating such amazing experience for its clients in Palm Spring... we have found our home in Palm Spring for ever.... by the way much better weather than the one in Paris.

Room Tip: pick a theme... do you want to be in china or middle east?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Villa Royale is a secluded, private and cozy property just off the main roadway leading through Palm Springs. The central area main pool is surrounded by the well-kept rooms and Palm trees, with a shady Lanai area within a few feet. A second smaller pool and jacuzzi are also available.(Even on a windy day, poolside is comfortable.) The rooms are smallish but well-appointed. A very nice restaraunt, the Europa, is on the premises. The complimentary morning breakfast means you can wake up and have the luxury of minimal fuss, getting right to the coffee and paper. The staff are friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: The staff will give you the particulars regarding room size and cost. All are convenient to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#34 of 73 in Palm Springs
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing