We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and fine food”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and fine food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A late booking due to a surprise birthday holiday - didn't know anything about the hotel....why not, what a gem! Jack's welcome after a 31 hour journey from home was balm on frazzled nerves. We had a 1 bed villa that was just huge compared to our ground floor at home! Everything is characterful old style well looked after. Tranquil courtyards, ours had a fountain, behind us was another set of rooms and villas around a pool, and in front again another pool by the Europa restaurant - reviewed separately but again top marks. Coffee and tea provided in the lanai before breakfast, treats too but as we were here for modernism week we were out on tours so didn't get a chance to partake. Enjoyed both pools but no time for the spa pool again tucked away in another quiet area of the hotel. A very peaceful place with wonderful friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrnMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Murieta, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just spent 3 nights, with high school friends and enjoyed our visit so much. A very European charm with beautiful landscaping. A fireplace in the rooms. No two rooms a like, and all unique in their own way. Service was great. A very quiet location, but close enough to downtown and Steinmart, just down the street. The restaurant was a nice choice for dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful. Was the home of Sonja Henie (Olympic skater) Jack, Joe and Nancy were the best at making our stay a very memorable one. If you are looking for something special, this is the place.

Room Tip: Most any location is nice, we saw many of them and it would be hard to go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevB205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were driving by the Villa Royale and decided to stop and have a look. We fell in love with the place instantly.

We spoke to Jack at the front desk and he took the time to show us around and answer all our questions. It has an old world charm and elegance that is rarely seen and all the rooms are uniquely different in décor and style. Jack set us up in a great room that had its own patio and was close to the pool. As it was off season we essentially had the place to ourselves, sort of our own private villa. We had dinner at the Europa Restaurant which is part of the Villa Royale and again, we were not disappointed. Good food, good service and a delightful experience.

We only stayed one night but we will definitely go back. The atmosphere, the charm and the attention and service that we had from the staff (particularly Jack) was second to none.
This place is a treasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We come out every January for a long weekend and always enjoy the service, the ambiance and the views. The restaurant was superb as always and Jack at the front desk was very helpful. Our only concern was the complete lack of hospitality shown by the young woman who handled our breakfast. When my wife went over and asked for an extra coffee cup, she was told we had one in our room.When I went over and told her we only had one cup, she rolled her eyes, went in the back to get a cup and came back out and placed it on the counter as though we had insulted her. Later, when we had breakfast, she was extremely rude and very put out when we asked for refills on our coffee and water. Clearly, she is not someone you want dealing with the public. Other than that, the service by everyone was superb.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

While the antiques and collectibles are varied and beautiful, and the landscaping and private areas throughout the property are delightful, there is considerable need for repairs and maintenance, and also for more attention by the front desk. Much of the furniture was worn, a paint job would have helped considerably, and several things were not in working order--the fireplace and phone for example. Plastic blinds that off-gas are not the stuff of a 5 star hotel, nor is old, gungy caulking in bathroom. Front desk not on top of things, and often inaccessible. They clearly do not want to do breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba86girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penhook, Virginia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

To the naysayers who disparage this lovely Inn I say go for the cookie cutter Marriott, Hilton or other chain. For a true vintage Palm Springs experience you have to spend a few days at VRI.
Just hosted 12 people in 6 rooms for my wife's birthday. We occupied 2 of the suites and 4 larger rooms. Do be a little careful as there are a few very small rooms. The hotel manager "JACK" could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Knowing we were a group he put us in a hidden away wing so our group could wander between rooms and be a little noisy without disturbing others. The pool is wonderful as are the grounds. They also provide free bikes for cruising the area. Everything was as advertised and every need was met. Again if you want a 300 room cater to the masses spot this is not for you. If you want to be treated well and have an "experience" this is your place

Room Tip: We enjoyed suites 118, 119 and room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatdrinks011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Highly recommend it. A couple miles from the main Downtown area. Quiet location. Very helpful staff. Cute and cozy room! Enjoyed the hot tub and they were very accommodating in bringing the included breakfast to our room. And the breakfast was really good, tasty, and filling. Everything was above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayFrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
619 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing