We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff very Accommodating”
Review of Hyatt Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Palm Springs
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Staff very Accommodating”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband was attending a conference and I joined him with our 10 week old baby. At the time of making the reservation I requested a crib and a microwave for sterilizing bottles. As soon as we were assigned our room a microwave and crib were delivered and set-up. We appreciated the separate fridge for storing formula.

Our room was spacious and had a small deck overlooking the pool. It was a perfect spot to sit and feed our daughter.

All the hotel employees we interacted with were helpful and courteous.

The spa employees were wonderful and made a special arrangement so I could bring my baby into the massage room. (I agreed not to use the other spa facilities so as not to detract from other guests enjoyment of the facilities.)

Having multiple hotel pools was nice as you didn't feel on top of other guests.

A comfortable bed is important to me and the Hyatt beds passed the test.

It is an easy drive from here into Palm Springs and a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. We hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    523
    284
    160
    102
See reviews for
433
648
98
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Our recent stay at the Hyatt was a memorable one. Blake not only checked us in, but stayed in touch with us until we left, making sure that all our needs were met. He was the best representative of the entire staff that we met. The renovation is not to our taste, but nicely done. The room was clean, save a soiled wall in the bathroom. The breakfast was nice each day. We thought the pool checkin complete with wristband, was a bit much, but noticing that some of the guests looked like skinheads, we could understand. It was probably planned that that particular group was somewhat secluded to a streetside room at one end of the hotel. Unfortunately, they were still able to harass passersby on the sidewalk in the evening. We experienced Cafe 285 and found it to be "ok", though not special. Internet is included in the resort tax. Parking (run by a seperate comapny) is $20 a nite, but can be avoided if you can walk a short distance. A mountainview room is to be recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indi237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please note that for all holiday weekends, we and all other large resorts in Palm Springs have a pool wrist band program in place to help control outside visitors who are non guests who may wish to use our pool Long experience has shown us this is the best way to control this and keep our facilities available for our guests. With regard to Cafe 285, this restaurant and bar is not owned or operated by the hotel and is located at our corner. We do not recomment or refer our guests to this establishment. Thank you again for coming to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I just returned from a two night stay at this hotel with my husband. I will start with the positives. The hotel is in a perfect location in downtown Palm Springs, and walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We found the pool to be nice and relaxing.

Now the negatives. Although our suite was nicely decorated with a gorgeous mountain view, the bathroom was dirty. Someone else who reviewed this hotel earlier posted pictures of the bathroom floor with filth in the grout and a dirty toilet. I found our bathroom to look very similar to these pictures. Also, on the second day of our vacation, I noticed the maids had been in the room, but some of my hair was still in the tub.

Also, we were not happy with what we feel are hidden fees. When we checked out, we discovered that we were charged a resort fee of $12 per night, which we were never advised of when we made our reservations, or when we checked in. We didn't complain about it because we didn't want to spoil our vacation, but when we tried to drive out of the parking garage, we weren't allowed out without paying a parking fee of $30!!! I have stayed in many hotels during my life, and never once have I been charged for parking. We begrudgingly handed the parking attendant a credit card to pay, but she advised us she didn't have a credit card machine, so we had to either drive all the way back up and go back inside the hotel to pay, or go to an ATM for cash. Not wanting to pay an ATM fee, we drove back up and my husband went inside to pay and also complain. I waited in the car, but my husband told me the girl at the counter was not very nice about it, and she gave him a lot of excuses that meant nothing to him. She told him that the parking lot is privately owned, and there is also a sign on the parking garage showing the price. How were we supposed to know that the parking garage, which is connected to the hotel, and even has an elevator that leads into the hotel, is privately owned? Also, we thought it was safe to assume that we wouldn't have to pay if we were a guest, because neither of us has ever had to pay for parking as a guest before. We thought we could just show our hotel bill, or get our ticket validated, but that was not the case. Also, she told my husband that the resort fee is explained on a card that we were given when we checked in. I mean really, who sits down and reads that kind of stuff when they arrive on vacation?? They should have explained these things to us in advance. The girl credited us the resort fees back, as well as one night of parking. That made things a little better, but my husband was not happy with her attitude about it and the excuses. These fees, combined with the expensive hotel drinks ($12 for a pina colada) as well as expensive breakfast ($28 for an order of pancakes and a bagel!) make this hotel not worth the money. Next time, we plan on staying at the Best Western.

A note on the customer service at the bar. We wanted to order two beers one evening. The cashier told us she would be right with us after she helped another customer. We were fine with that, but she took 10 minutes to help them! We shouldn't have to wait 10 minutes for drinks when there is only one other couple in the bar. Once again, I didn't feel this hotel was worth the money.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreaesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 30 May 2010
Thank you for your comments from your recent visit. I aplogize for the housekeeping issue - there is no excuse for poor room cleaning. With regard to the comment about our daily resort fee and the daily parking charge. These charges are standard items at most hotels, including all of the resort hotels in Palm Springs and are not "hidden" charges as they are fully explained at the time of reservation, on your confirmation and in a card at check in. The Resort Fee details are clearly noted on the front page of our web site, printed on all confirmations, outlined in a sign posted at check in and explained on a card given with your key at check in. The parking charges are posted at signs at all entrances to the garage, at the ticket machine and at the exit booths. I am sorry you were not fully aware and am glad my team was able to handle this matter for you. As a suggestion on future travel, always be fully aware of taxes, additional charges and parking features at any hotel you visit and don't assume these items to be included as they are not at most hotels. This can help avoid you any problem or embaressment in future.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will consider another visit in future so that we might regain your confidence..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The Hyatt is a great value in a perfect, central downtown location. The room was spacious and the hotel's common areas were nice. The pool area is small but nice, and the gym is well appointed. You can't beat the location--walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful, and it's an all-around great hotel to stay if you want to be in the downtown area. They offer free WIFI so it's also a great place to stay on business travel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CritiquerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Thank you for your visit and kind comments. We too think our downtown location on Palm Canyon is an ideal location for the Palm Springs visitor. We are happy you found the same. We hope to welcome you back on another visit in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This was our first time to Palm Springs and we were somewhat overwhelmed by the variety of choices that were available to us in the area. The central location of the Hyatt in combination with its excellent pool and fitness centre made this our first choice. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, quiet and nicely appointed. The staff was very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palm154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Thank you for your visit and your confidence in us in letting us host you on your first visit to Palm Springs. We hope to have you return on another visit in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Hotel centrally located to area restaurants and night life. Very large, comfortable rooms. Large partially covered balcony which overlook pool are very private and comfortable.n Enjoyed stay very much and will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your kind remarks with us. We hope to have you return for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Took my wife and our 11-month old son for her first mother's day here. Got the AAA rate for the regular king room, which in most holels would be considered a suite since it has a private living room space before the actual bedroom area. We were very pleased with the style and presentation of the room. Front desk staff and bell men were are friendly and provided great service. Room service food was good, but a pit pricey -- but I expect this at a hotel of the level. However, gratuity charges are included, so no need to tip additional. Valet parking is $19 ($5 more than self-park).
We didn't have time to try the pool, but it looked great, as does the on-site bar (cool fireplace behind a wall!).
Also, as I'm sure other reviewers have stated, this location can't be beat: you are right downtown within walking distance of great shops, restaurants, bars etc.
One note though: the room had 2 large LCD TVs, yet only standard definition signal piped into them -- this is like listening to an 8-track connected to a very expensive McIntosh audio receiver. Recommendation to Hyatt management: invest in getting HD signal for the LCD TVs in the rooms! I'm sure DirecTV or some other hi-definition signal provider would cut a good contract for you. Granted, I don't go on vacation to watch TV in my room all day, but when I am there I think it makes sense to make the most of the equipment there.
Overall, really liked this property and loved that we could request a "Quiet" room since we were all a bit under the weather and truly needed a good nights rest -- we were put in a corner room, away from the busy street side of the building.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Thank you for your visit and nice comments. We are delighted you selected us for your getaway. On your comments regarding our new televisions - we are currently exploring options for high definition signal for our television reception as our current commercial provider does not offer this on a large scale basis. We will continue to work on this until we have a viable option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Palm Springs

Property: Hyatt Palm Springs
Address: 285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Springs' only all suite, newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the historic village. Just footsteps from shopping, restaurants, galleries, museums, casino and theaters. Enjoy a mountain or village view from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Hyatt Regency Palm Springs
Palm Springs Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing