We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”

Moorten Botanical Garden
Ranked #14 of 118 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are fascinated by this huge collection of cacti and flowers amid scenic nature trails.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a nice, well laid out little desert garden on the edge of Palm Springs. Good collection with some old mining equipment as back drops. Not a lot of labeling on all the plants. Reasonable price on some of the materials offered for sale.
Parking on the street right in front of the garden. No parking charges.

Plan for 30 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    138
    52
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Met our expectations”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was looking for a desert garden due to my interest in the local vegetation. I had originally considered the zoo but in the end decided to drop by here due to its focus on plants. It is a family run garden and although the plants are not well labelled we enjoyed the variety displayed and thought it was good value for the few bucks it cost. They also sell plants there which we were quite tempted to buy. The place is only a few minutes south of Palm springs downtown and lots of easy parking around so it met our needs. If you are looking for a simple attraction to spend an hour or so I would recommend this place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgary_Travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A very pleasant hour or two”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I regret that blah and negative TripAdvisor had kept us from going here on other visits, or from taking the family there, as it is so affordable even for our modest budget. It's the best 'bang for your buck' in the Palm Springs area, IMHO. Yes, it's rustic and some signs could use new paint, but this didn't detract from the fun of seeing such unusual cacti in a SHADED garden with picnic tables, and with benches throughout -- even a meditation garden. We almost never buy souvenirs but couldn't resist a succulent wreath and a couple of inexpensive small plants. We've been to fancier cactus gardens, but haven't enjoyed them as much as this. You could indeed see it in an hour or less, but can also linger for delightful conversation with the staff and to sit and read or rest. Only drawback was that restroom was dirty, but we were grateful that there WAS a restroom. Free parking available on street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Family's Cactus Garden”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were wandering around Palm Springs one warm summer day and we saw this cactus garden. I gathered from a resident that It started as a private collection but it grew bigger and bigger. And so the Moorten Cactus Garden was established in 1938 by Patricia and Chester Moorten, also known as "cactus slim". There is a very small fee to visit the garden and if you love plants especially the cacti variety, then go to this place. They sell some plants in small pots. They also offer private tours and host private events. They have resident turtles and a green house. Don't expect a big and fabulous garden though. But it is always nice to wander around and sit and enjoy the day in a garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenaida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An interesting spot to wander through”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went here with my parents and we meandered through the paths and poked into the greenhouses, admiring the variety of mostly cacti and succulents. Hummingbirds whiz by and you can check out the resident turtles, too. Apparently they can host weddings/events on-site. Check their website for hours – I think the admission is $4 per adult.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PR_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorten Botanical Garden also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Moorten Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing