We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Saguaro Palm Springs
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
playas del coco
1 review
“Outstanding Personnel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I were in Palm Springs for vacation last month when most hotels in the area had no vacancies, including The Saguaro Hotel, due to the Humana Golf Tournament and the Art Festival. Albert was the person who greeted us at the Front Desk. What an outstanding, enterprising, thoughtful and considerate person we met in Albert! He immediately picked up the telephone and began calling other area hotels until he found an establishment with a vacancy for us to stay. Albert certainly went well above and beyond the "call of duty," and we absolutely appreciate all of his extra effort on our behalf. Albert is a fine young man with such a generous spirit who represents The Saguaro Hotel in the most positive, courteous, ultimately magnanimous manner! As a direct result of all of the helpful assistance Albert provided, we will be staying at the Saguaro Hotel the next time we visit the Palm Springs area.

Deborah and Virgil Holt

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear walter82, I thank you for sharing your thoughts about Albert as you are very right, he is an amazing young man who provides exceptional service and wants to please his guests regardless of the situation his goal is to make a difference. I am pleased to read this and to share this with Albert and my team as because of him we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    362
    183
    94
    62
See reviews for
179
417
70
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encino
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I was able to purchase a one night stay through Groupon for this hotel. My wife and I would classify it more like a motel than a hotel. The Saguaro was very clean and presentable. The pool and spa area were very nice with more umbrellas than I have ever seen. Practically one for almost every chase lounge. The pool was very large for a hotel of this size. Unfortunately the elevator stopped working after we arrived, but that can happen anywhere. Once informed of the problem, they had it fixed in less than 24 hours. The front desk seemed to have a problem finding our reservations, but had us on our way to our room within 10 minutes, so that was not too bad. The rooms were of good size with plenty of lighting. All room balcony's faced the pool/grassy area. I will admit that the beds were very comfortable. They had a nice exercise room with one up to date treadmill, two modern exercise bikes and two elliptical machines. There were free weights and a number of exercise machines. One could certainly get a work out here. I give the gym high marks.

For the money we spent, I would consider going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear 1momo1, great to read that Groupon got you to come and give us a try. The property is definitely a remodel and has gone through various changes but we feel that ours is the best, with such amazing designers (Stamberg and Aferiat) who can go wrong. And thank you for bringing to our attention the elevator not working, this was definitely not on our things to do but we know how important it is hence why we strive to get things fixed immediately. the Saguaro is truly a fun place to go to and just have a good time and chill. I see that you enjoyed some of our amenities such as our pool and Jacuzzi’s and yes, we knew upon opening that we did not want our guest to have to hunt for shade specially in the summer heat, we hope that you get to visit us in the future as the pool becomes a very happening spot with music and tons of fun. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Returned here from the OC for a mid-week break. Wow, LOVE their mid-week rates & quiet time by the pool. Ask for a mountain view room. Incredible dinner at Tinto- best meal I've had outside of LA or SF- really great menu--tried the $38 tasting menu. Overall, the perfect hidden gem for a mid-week getaway. Got a tan, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octraveler32588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear octraveler32588,We are definitely a great place to getaway at any time of the week specially if you can play hooky from work! It is so great to read that you got to enjoy the property and relaxed by the pool as that is truly what it is all about. And a tan actually helps especially in January when most places are filled with snow and cold temperatures. As for dining I could not agree with you more Tinto is really an exquisite dining experience that everyone must try and it helps to have an Iron Chef such as Jose Garces run such an amazing dining experience. We are here for your next weekday getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stay at the Riveria when we stay in Palm Springs but on our last trip when trying to book a room the staff was extremely rude and were way over priced for the summer. So this is where we started our journey for a new place to stay. The first thing that caught our eye was the colors in the pictures. It was so vibrant we just needed to give it a try & figured that it had to be fun. What a great job done utilizing an outdated existing hotel using very deliberate splashes of color & great ideas to freshen it up into a contemporary boutique hotel. We arrived on a Sunday to a party by the pool and we joined right in. We couldn't resist loving the pink towels and yellow umbrellas & chairs. Although we were older than the average and have a 14 year old daughter we all felt at home. The rooms were decorated amazing and they were huge each with a great balcony overlooking the beautiful pool area. The beds were really comfortable too. We did not get a chance to use any of the restaurants but everything looked great and other guests raved about them. We really felt like the staff was interested in making sure we had a good time and that everything was just right. . My only minor complaint is that the drinks by the pool were too expensive but it didn't stop me from indulging. We will definitely be back to our new favorite place in the desert!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FanaticalFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear FanaticalFrog, I am happy that an unfortunate situation drove you our way to the Saguaro. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests are appealed by what we offer. The property is by no means a new property but our designers Peter and Paul absolutely did a great job at putting together amazing desert colors all fourteen of them and the metal mountain escapes that are to mirror the San Jacinto Mountains. Our goal at the Saguaro is to have every one of every age enjoy the property. During the summer we had pool parties as people come out to enjoy their weekend and the pool needs to be happening place to chill and have a little fun. It is great that you and your family enjoyed it all and that next time you come back you also enjoy the restaurants as they are amazing and the food is top notch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Saguaro is definitely a unforgettable place to stay in Palm Springs. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and has a lot of fabulous amenities. It's usually hard to find a decent looking hotel that allows dogs & this place is an added bonus because they're dog friendly without additional cost- how amazing is that?! Hubby even loves all the mod color & design of the entire place- especially our room. The staff is all wonderful- they even allowed us to choose a room that we want from all the available ones- hasn't happened before. They were also polite to call us when we left our doggies to watch a movie & said our babies were crying as soon as we left- didn't make a big deal of it & just reassured our neighbors we will be back soon. You can literally stay in the hotel- workout, attend the yoga class, lounge in the nice heated pool or jacuzzi - and your entire visit would be worth it. They even have bikes that you can use to pedal around town- and they're cute! I'm definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Sunnie D,Thank you so much for candor. It is evident that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer and most specially our amazing pet policy. We pride ourselves on not charging our guest for their pet as they are really part of the family and in an effort to continuously do better we are coming up with additional amenities for our pets; please keep a look out for our pet package. I hope that next time you are in town you also get to enjoy our Saguaro Spa as we will also be introducing some specialty facials soon to come as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Saguaro, the hotel was very colorful. The Hotel is not walking distance to downtown Palm Springs, they do have a shuttle to the downtown.

The grounds of the hotel and pool area were well taken care of. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

There is an extra resort fee that you are charged so be aware you will be charged extra.

Be aware the walls are pretty thin and you can hear everything. I was awaken one night at 1am to the sound of someone moaning loudly. As I started to fall asleep again the moaning started back up. While traveling alone that's the last thing you want to hear.

I also enjoyed an evening at the hotel bar El Jefe. I had a few drinks and an outstanding order of tacos. The service was great!!

Room Tip: I stayed in suite 270, it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Rob R, The suites are definitely nice and have great views depending on what area of the property you are in. You are right we are very colorful 14 colors to be exact. I love our colors and they just make most of our guests smile, because who would have thought to do such an amazing design and then to have a very desert meaning? We pride ourselves in ensuring that our guest enjoy themselves whether at the pool, or at the dining facilities. Yes, we do have a resort fee of $18 plus taxes however this fee covers various amenities such as: Wi-Fi, yoga, access to our 24 hour fitness center, cruiser bikes, and shuttle service that goes to and from the Palm Springs Airport and to and from downtown at a designated drop off during specific time frames) which is a great value considering that Wi-Fi alone will cost you $9.99 and a cab to downtown or the airport is an average of $18 each ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lively decor, friendly staff. Didn't make it to the restaurant or spa facilities but they have a good reputation. I wish that they did not have that mandatory facilities fee. The location probably requires you to drive if you want to go downtown, at least in the summer heat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Roamer099, We are so pleased that you stayed with us and that the staff was able to meet your needs. I highly suggest that next time you are in town that you start with getting a massage as it will leave you relaxed and ready for a good meal. The food is amazing! From Tinto with its Spanish style Tapas, to El Jefe with its Mexican Tequila Bar and the most amazing tacos especially the "shrimp chorizo tacos". The resort fee is a reasonable fee as it covers so many amenities from: Wi-Fi, yoga in the morning, cruiser bikes, shuttle that takes you to downtown and to the airport during designated hours and our 24 hour fitness center. We look forward to your next visit and hope you get to enjoy all the other things that the Saguaro has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.0 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#46 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#16 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#24 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs

Property: The Saguaro Palm Springs
Address: 1800 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-1617 (Formerly The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the heart of Palm Springs. The Saguaro offers a sense fun and uncomplicated design, food and service. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, 24-hours fitness room, morning yoga, touring bikes, boutique spa and two restaurants. Guestrooms & Suite - All with a patio or balcony - Flat screen HDTVs• - Large desks - iPod docking station - On-demand movies and music - Bathrobes - Coffee maker - Mini-refrigerator Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. -Pet-friendly with no fee -Self parking* -WiFi* -Daily yoga* -Use of Touring Bikes -Complimentary airport and town shuttle* *Included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our one of our two ballrooms, garden courtyard, in a private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing