We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saguaro Palm Springs
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend, the hotel was a fun environment. Loved all the colors, did not eat here we went downtown to eat but overall the hotel is great! Would return again this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaN_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us, Melissa. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to share your compliments with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Palm Springs!

Cheers,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Me and a couple friends decided to go on a mini staycation at The Saguaro Palm Springs and I came back more relaxed than ever. We spent most our time at the pool which is heaven in the desert heat. The cute colors of the hotel made for great photo ops. The hotel itself was exactly what you pay for. Nothing too fancy but also everything you needed. There was however a weird smell of the hotel... possible because it use to be an older hotel and they did renovations. I felt the rooms could have had a little more personality like how the hotel itself had but the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We chose to have the mountain view room because we knew we would be at the pool all day anyways. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sareandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to follow-up with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the great mountain views and found our pool to be "heaven in the desert heat." What a great compliment! I appreciate your support and hope that next time you're in Palm Springs, you'll keep us in mind! You're always welcome.

Cheers,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed one week here and overall it was good. we did not like the pool on saturday or sunday because they had a dj who played music way too loud. they also told everyone to leave at 5:30 because there was a wedding near the pool. we did not like that. things got better on monday thru friday at the pool. the music was quiet and the crowds were not overwhelming. the view of the mountains from the pool was beautiful. the room was nice and clean. we were on the first floor, but i would have preferred the privacy of an upper floor.
the location was good with many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: i would have preferred an upper floor with a balcony instead of a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I appreciate the support! Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us here on TripAdvisor. From your gorgeous room views to our great location, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. When it comes to our DJ -- you're right. We have a very vibrant scene so I do apologize if the noise level caught you off guard. Overall, I'm happy you're happy and I look forward to welcoming you back. Please don't be a stranger and let me know if you need anything.

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at the Saguaro for Memorial Day weekend because of its location, amenities, and appearance. It was close to "downtown" Palm Springs, yet we didn't really need to leave for anything, and there was a sense desert trendiness and youth in the hotel's decor.

First the good:
1) I am by no means a qualified critic in cuisine, but I thought the cuisine was excellent. Plenty of variety, reasonable value, and excellent service.
2) The beds were very comfortable.
3) My girlfriend very much enjoyed her sixty-minute spa treatment, despite the masseuse's chatty tendencies, and the complimentary yoga was also a definite plus.
4) The pool is open until midnight, which we really liked.
5) Everything that we wanted in terms of amenities were there.

Now the bad:
1) Poor maintenance. Let me caveat this by stating that I have a particular bias towards this sort of thing since my career is in real estate and real estate management. So what bothers me may not bother the next person. Be that as it may, the first things I noticed while walking to our room from the elevator was the enormous amounts of scuffs and gouges on the walls. I get it, maintenance is expensive and time consuming; but those kinds of things are unsightly and really take away from one's resort experience.
2) No blenders... anywhere. Want a blended Piña Colada or Strawberry Daiquiri on this beautiful 100 degree day? Too bad--no blenders. In fact, one bartender actually said, "this is a blender-free establishment." Seriously? Uh, OK.
3) The rooms smelled a tad bit stale for some reason. Unfortunately, the smell wasn't something that just went away with an open door. Alas, I may just be hypersensitive towards these things.

Look, I wasn't expecting a five star, Ritz-Carlton experience for a rowdy Memorial Day weekend. As well as I think the Saguaro has the potential to be one of the best resorts in Palm Springs. However, I didn't pay Memorial Day prices to feel like I was at a rough around the edges, brightly painted, 2.5 star establishment. I would recommend not staying here and just come for the cuisine. Had it not been for the exceptional cuisine and service, this review would probably be titled "Don't Even Bother".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

What a detailed review, Ronald. My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share all of this as it helps pinpoint where we can improve in order to better serve our guests.

While I'm pleased to read all the things you loved about our resort, I'd like to take a moment to address the not-so-great. I do want to assure you that we take maintenance very seriously and in addition to our regular inspections, we always act quickly when guests notify us to an issue. Same goes for the cleanliness of our rooms. We understand that some guests have more sensitive noses and we always work our hardest to ensure a memorable stay.

In the end, I sincerely hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Palm Springs. There's nothing I'd love more than for you to see your feedback in action.

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have to say, if The Saguaro wasn't so colorful, I'd probably just give it 3 stars, but I have to add that 4th star just because it's so well designed. There's no way you can be grumpy when you're surrounded by so many happy colors! We arrived on a Sunday and had a pool-view room. There was an afternoon pool party that was just not at all our scene -- super loud music, super loud people, lots of bumping and grinding -- and I'm sure it's WAY worse on a Saturday. The rest of the time the pool was practically empty, which was great. The room was comfortable enough, nothing super luxurious, but you know that just based on the price. We enjoyed renting free bikes from the hotel and riding through the neighborhoods looking at architecture. The restaurant El Jefe was overpriced. I'd definitely stay here again (during the week).

Room Tip: The pool parties are VERY LOUD so avoid weekends if that's not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I appreciate this thoughtful feedback. While I'm happy to read you appreciate our colors and fun ambiance, I'm disappointed we missed the mark in other areas.

When it comes to our pool scene, we do draw in quite the crowd over the weekends. A lot of people like to escape the dessert poolside which can lead to some unexpected noise. I do apologize if our atmosphere wasn't clearly communicated to you, and want to assure you that we offer a much more relaxed vibe during the week. With that in mind, I hope you'll think of us next time you're Palm Springs bound. It would mean a lot to earn a second chance to impress.

Kindly,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was aware of the "weekend pool scene", so planned a weekday stay. I've been a JDV fan for many years and agree that this was not my favorite, but for this low price it was more than adequate. Bed was very comfortable, the room a little dark, but overall no complaints. Only El Jefe restaurant was serving that night, food was okay, not sure I would return to the restaurant. Music at the pool, even on a Tuesday afternoon, was a little loud making it hard to focus on some work I was doing. The pool area was quiet at night. Public areas are welcoming and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request away from the pool if you desire quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to follow-up with us here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the stars and look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. Next time you're in Palm Springs, I hope you'll keep us in mind. Our door's always open!

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was just so so. I'll start with the positives: nice staff, fun vibe at pool, restaurants and common areas. The colorful theme and pretty plants all make for a nice outdoor setting. If I could have stayed outside my entire visit, all would have been good. Certain aspects of the room were hard to overlook. There was a weird, musty odor in our hallway and the a/c in our room worked very poorly. We had a suite, and the living area a/c did not work at all, while the bedroom one tried to pull double duty but couldn't quite make it. I understand charging a resort fee, but when the pool area is closed for a private party when you arrive and you're only staying for 2 days, it just doesn't feel like I got my moneys worth here, and that the property wasn't up to snuff with other Joie de Vivre properties that I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gridirongirl1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us here on TripAdvisor. While I'm happy you appreciated our colorful theme, it's disheartening to hear you found us to be just "so so." That's never the impression we wish to leave on our guests, so I hope you'll give us another opportunity to impress.

When it comes to our amenities, the $25 covers free yoga, free bikes, free shuttle service and more. I do apologize that our pool was closed during your visit, as I understand how frustrating that must have been. That is certainly not normal for our hotel, so hopefully you'll visit again on a calmer weekend. After all, I'd love your thoughts on everything we have to offer!

Kindly,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,855 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs

Address: 1800 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-1617 (Formerly The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £100 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the heart of Palm Springs. The Saguaro offers a sense fun and uncomplicated design, food and service. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, 24-hours fitness room, morning yoga, touring bikes, boutique spa and two restaurants. Guestrooms & Suite - All with a patio or balcony - Flat screen HDTVs• - Large desks - iPod docking station - On-demand movies and music - Bathrobes - Coffee maker - Mini-refrigerator Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. -Pet-friendly with no fee -Self parking* -WiFi* -Daily yoga* -Use of Touring Bikes -Complimentary airport and town shuttle* *Included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our one of our two ballrooms, garden courtyard, in a private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing