We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This is a great place, serene atmosphere and pet friendly! We got the one bedroom bungalow. Super spacious and could fit up to four people. You can make your own meals in a fully equipped kitchen and BBQ outdoors by the pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee and cereal offered in the morning for free. Most of the people we met at the hotel are returning quests. Even our canine companion had a good time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindakb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have been staying at A Place In the Sun Hotel for over eight years and we love it. The staff is so friendly and welcoming and the accommodations are perfect. We love the layout of the property because we travel with our children and having the rooms around the pool allows all of us to move easily between the room and pool at will. No "packing up your things" just because you need to go back to your room. We also love the convenience of having full kitchens in the rooms. We even spent Thanksgiving here one year with our extended family; we all cooked in our rooms and ate dinner poolside. A Place in the Sun Hotel is the best place to spend your Palm Springs vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The two units we had were excellent 3 &18. Only flaws were that our private hot tub was out-of-order and the pull-out couch in 18 wasn't that comfy. The Bermuda bed in 3 was fine to sleep on. The pool, grounds, and amenities were first-rate. Loved the flowers and everything so clean and tidy. Quiet location in a residential area. I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: 18 has a great and large living and kitchen area.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintersunEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

If you are looking for a few days away to relax and enjoy nice weather, pool, people and a nice clean place to stay this is the place to go. An hour and 1/2 drive from L.A. and you will be enchanted by the cute bungalows to choose from. I've been coming here for more than 15 years and love it....

Room Tip: Call front desk directly, staff very accomodating
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bug_120559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at A Place in the Sun for two nights. The bungalow we were in was great. Clean, spacious, comfortable, a well equipped kitchen and a lovely little private patio area with sun loungers and an outdoor table and chairs. The bedroom had a lovely confy bed, a tv with DVD player and the living room had a nice couch and again a TV and DVD player and a dining table. It was colourful and comfortable, it reminded me of the livnig room from The Golden Girls!

The outdoor area is also lovely. The grounds are impeccably manicured, with lovely flowers, and the pool was clean and warm. The hot tub/jacuzzi by the pool was fairly small but was still lovely and warm and clean with flowers all around it.

The breakfast served in the morning had no cooked food, but was still very good. Tea, coffee, orange juice, lots of different cereals, cake, fruit, lots of different spreads and lots of different types of bagels and muffins.

The sun loungers were comfortable, the wi-fi worked well and was fast. We also stayed with our dog who was welcomed and had no problems with, even though a couple of times he barked when people walked past our bungalow window!

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.

Me and my girlfriend both decided this is now our 'go to' place if we ever go back to Palm Springs. A real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was our third stay and we will stay there again.
The beautiful grounds and simple but charming rooms, ours with the tiniest, cutest kitchen I have ever seen, make for a serene retreat. We prefer the smallest rooms, 15 or 16. Perfect size for us and they have large private patios. This is an older property so if you are one of those picky travelers that require perfection and love to point out even the tiniest flaw, I suggest you stay at a new (and certainly a lot more expensive) hotel. If you love 1950's "motels" that are immaculately landscaped, have a great staff and amazing salt water pool, look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletchersss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My family and I have stayed here for 4 of the last 5 years including a lovely 2 week stay over Christmas one year. The owners do a wonderful job managing the facility: it's clean, has beautiful gardens, friendly staff and guests, comfortable rooms, and nice amenities including saline pool, hot tub, and nicely outfitted kitchenettes. There are a number of repeat guests besides ourselves that we've gotten to know over the years. Some stay for a couple of months at a time. My only complaint here is that we've lost our favorite room to long-term guests and have had to upgrade our room to keep the view and quiet we like so well.

We always take our zebra finch and the staff are accommodating and sweet with her. Other guests bring dogs or cats and most owners are pretty responsible with them. This trip we saw some dogs on leash w/out handler but thankfully they were well behaved and went to/fro room and handler without any event.

The views around the grounds are all lovely as are the views of the surrounding hills. The location is great - removed from busy streets yet near downtown and groceries. The hotel is across the street from a river walk. There you can hear frogs and from anyplace on the grounds you can hear lots of birdsong. There is also the pleasant sound of chimes from the church next door. The neighborhood is otherwise quiet and the grounds peaceful.

Some of the rooms are quieter than others though I'm particular about night noises. A few rooms have bedrooms adjacent to one another and others are quieter because they do not. We prefer #8 and #7 for view and quiet. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripready_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £131 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing