We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Residenza San Lorenzo(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Desert Lodge(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Musicland Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Royale Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel California(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
375
43
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
43
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom bungalowputting greenlarge studioprivate patiosalt water poolfull kitchenother guestsowners and staffclose to downtownour home away from homepool areawonderful stayhot tublove this placeold schoolcontinental breakfastgrounds are beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in late October. We were cordially greeted, first by housekeeping and then by the owners, Ray and Norma on our arrival. Our room was small but well equipped and had a private patio. Luckily, the evenings were cool enough so that we didn't need to use the air-conditioning. We slept with the windows open. There are cereals, pastries, juice and milk in the front office for breakfast. The pool and jacuzzi were relaxing and the part of town where the hotel is located is very quiet. I know someday we will return to A Place In The Sun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamexitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Heard about this place, we paid over $500.00 for 2 nights. It was tattered inside and the carpet was horrible. Everything needs to be renovated, if you were handicapped you would never be able to have a shower as you have to step over top of the bathtub before you could get into the old almost dirty tub. The roar of the airconditioner was appalling, there was nobody there except one other couple and us. The price is terrible..no wonder no one was there...and the stuff in packages they called a breakfast was insulting, the fresh fruit the owner speaks of was a banana and an apple...come on, it was awful we didn't even go there..went somewhere else. I wish we hadn't stayed here...it left a very sour taste in my mouth...this place is one of the worst , I've ever stayed, for price, quality. Sorry won't ever be back, it's a big joke, so go soak some other nice people. Hated it!

Room Tip: Don't bother...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sellps, Owner at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Can't believe you were even at A Place in the Sun, with so many bad things to say. We only had one other couple from Canada in October (except for our favorite canadians that come for a month every October, and every March), so we looked at the bungalow you were in, and the weekend you were here. You didn't make a reservation ahead of time, so our housekeeper didn't have time to do the usual freshening up. We had triple digit temps in October, and no advance notice of your arrival, so the air conditioner had to work overtime at that point. (Reservations are definitely recommended.) You say there was only one other couple here when you were here, which is not true. The weekend you were here, we had 7 other rooms rented, but with private back yards in most of our units, you might not have known that. And I'm sorry but we take offense about your comment that this room was "tattered" and "in need of renovation". The garden bungalow you were in had just been freshly painted in a new four-tone color scheme, top to bottom, including the living room, kitchen and cabinets, inside and out, and bedroom. There's a new heavy duty rattan 3 piece sectional queen sofa sleeper couch in the living room, and new dining room chairs. There's also a new flatscreen t.v. and bluray player in the living room, and new comforter sets in the bedroom. (Tattered??!!!) With respect to our free continental breakfast, we really do the best we can given constraints imposed by the Health Department (we used to make homemade quiche for our guests, but the health department put a stop to that). We try to keep things in perspective by looking at the many positive reviews we get and try not to be insulted by the few negative remarks we receive. But this is hard to do sometimes when we put the amount of effort forth that we do to try to ensure our guests' happiness, and then have complaints like this. Makes us appreciate the many positive reviews we've gotten, all that much more.

Norma and Ron Van Meeteren, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is the second time we spend a weekend and since our last visit about 5 years ago, an outdoor jacuzzi was installed in the yard of this unit. I picked a unit with a jacuzzi not having a clue that it was the same unit as we'd been in prior. Amazing to be luxuriating in the spa while looking up at the bluest sky and mountains very close by. The grounds are lovely and well kept and there's a beautiful view from each window of our bungalow. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It had been a few years since we've stayed there, for no other reason than we weren't taking many vacations due to renovation of our home. This time we wanted to get away and include our pups in the fun and our first thought was "A Place in the Sun". Upon our return, we felt the comfort of the resort that we were so used to...and missed!

Our bungalow was immaculate, as always and the dogs had a yard big enough to run around and play in. The owners and the staff are always so welcoming and want to ensure you are comfortable and are very accommodating. And since we had all the comforts of home, we didn't feel the need to leave for every meal or just to get out of a "cramped hotel room".

To add to the fun, we found a great a massage therapist who came to our bungalow and just added to the relaxation we were looking for. Between the resort and the massages, we were in heaven.

We will be heading back next Spring and for all of our future trips to the desert!

Room Tip: If you love to travel with your furry family members, make sure you get a bungalow. It will allow you the space for all to enjoy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is the 3th time we have stayed at you fabulous place twice with our German sheppard Greta and the last time with or friend from Holland
She was so impressed with your place she talked about it all the way home and said I would like to come back and stay for a week
And we will come back soon with Greta our dog
The Brady's

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaB884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews