We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Have been going to A Place in the Sun for a number of years, and each time it feels like home away from home. The garden hotel is retro style with modern conveniences that all blend together wonderfully. Hosts Ron and Norma and staff take such good care of their guests. My studio with outside patio was roomy and well-designed with kitchen, bedroom, and bath. I always look forward to coming back for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    40
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
91
172
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at Place in the Sun 35 years ago, before the current owners. What a difference! Flowers & hummingbirds abound, very clean little units with everything you need. Nice walled in patio with grass for our dog, walking trails just outside the back gate. Owners & staff very amiable. Great experience.

Room Tip: We were placed in #3, very nice location. A notation that the mattress in this unit is very firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were in town so my husband could do his traditional 100 mile ride in the Tour de Palm Springs!! Several of his cycling friends met us at the hotel in the morning and took off from there. I did my usual "get a movie from the front office" and watched it at my leisure while staying warm and toasty in unit #2, the Large Studio.

There was the traditional weekend breakfast served under the Gazebo by the pool......it was delicious (as usual) and just the right amount of food for me!! If you prefer a big breakfast of Bacon, Eggs, etc. and don't wish to do your own cooking, there are several good restaurants nearby. The hotel was full this particular weekend for a Birthday party......everyone was nice and even offered us some tacos for dinner!!

After the ride, my husband and his friends came back to our room and enjoyed sandwiches and other snacks, along with great conversation. There was plenty of room to entertain about 10 people and they commented on how much they liked the hotel!!

We love A Place in the Sun and recommend it to everyone who is considering a vacation in Palm Springs. It's laid-back, private, retro and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makawao, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My pug Walter, cat Sam, and I loved A Place in the Sun. "We" had a great room with a view of the mountains; there were hummingbirds outside the door in the snapdragons, and church bells ringing in the distance. It's a perfect place to relax if you are traveling with pets. Behind the hotel is the Tahquitz Wash, and every morning and evening Walter and I would take walks along it and meet lots of locals with their dogs. It's a perfect location--you can walk to "downtown," and yet it's very quiet and private. Around the pool, people are friendly yet in tune if you prefer to be incognito and read. At night there are twinkly lights around the pool gazebo--this place is magical, a real find.

Room Tip: I like my room #16; it was perfect for one person or a couple who really likes each other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

quintessential Palm Springs. Lovely, quiet retreat but very close to everything. We had our dog with us and bungalow had its own little yard and patio- great!! Pool was slightly heated and hot tub was nice to relax in at end of the day.
Super views of the mountains make great backdrop to a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a week in Palm Springs and LOVED our stay at this boutique hotel. Our lodging was like a little house with the ambience of the '50s. We were there about the same time as the person who recently wrote a negative review. All we can say is, this person must have had " a case of the Mondays." Our "room" was a one bedroom bungalow that was nicely appointed. True, there were some fixtures from the fifties like the Thermidor heater in the bathroom and the still-working stove in the kitchen. But more modern appliances were ever-present: flat-screen TV, blu-ray, wi- fi, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. This was a VERY COMFORTABLE, homey place to stay. BTW, the bed (ours was a king-size) was super comfy. We slept well every night. My husband adds that there was no "hotel smell" here. The grounds were well manicured and maintained. We saw hummingbirds at the bougainvillea shrubs and heard plenty of mockingbirds.

IT WAS QUIET! There were some dogs with guests present, but none of them caused us any problems. We had a private patio and were just a few steps from the pool. There were plenty of comfortable lounge chairs by the pool and a mist system for cooling that could be used in very hot weather, which we did not experience.

The owners, Ron and Norma, were quite helpful. Their office is a perfect example of how to make use of a small space efficiently. Every morning guests could take themselves to the office to pick up some dry cereal (about 6 varieties were offered), get milk, choose packaged pastries, get coffee and extras like sugar and cream. If a guest desired more, this hotel is very close to a supermarket as well as restaurants that serve more breakfast items. Palm Springs is a compact city, very easy to navigate.

This was our first trip to Palm Springs. We come from the Heart-of-America area of the USA. We hope to make this trip a regular occurrence and we DEFINITELY will stay at A Place in the Sun again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSherb207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Recently, we spent a couple of nights here and loved it. We travel with our dog and the garden patio room was perfect with a secure patio and small grassy area. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable and the staff was terrific. While the kitchen was small it was very functional and well equipped. The court yard with pool and spa are lovely and the entire complex felt very safe and secure - virtually no street noise while sitting outside. We will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.0 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing