We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WONDERFUL Place in the Sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilroy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL Place in the Sun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at A Place in the Sun. The grounds were gorgeously landscaped with beautiful flowers, the rooms were spacious and lovely, and the pool was refreshing. The staff gets an A+! When I realized that I had forgotten my favorite pillow in my room, they immediately mailed it to me. We felt like we were in a little piece of Palm Springs paradise as we lounged by the pool and the kids swam. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    38
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
169
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed off season and actually were the only ones there. It was absolutely magical and the service (although with very few to serve) was still excellent. It is a diamond in the sand, a must see and charm that can only be experienced. Don't miss it on your next trip to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Our room was a little small, so ask for a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Three cheers (and a shot of tequila!) for A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel!

My lady friend and I came to Palm Springs for a weekend of fun, relaxation and good ol' girl time and I can't imagine it could have been anymore perfect, thanks to this desert oasis- A Place is where this future snowbird can only hope to be able to spend just under 51% of her retirement!

Beautifully colorful flower beds, a saltwater pool and sauna, put-put green and a communal gazebo serve as your front yard and private patios off your room offer early morning solace; or perhaps sangria-induced sanctuary for your afternoon enjoyment.

The staff are all wonderfully warm and welcoming; dear Joe was a perfect host and made us feel at home immediately! The front office provides an expansive complimentary book and video library- really I couldn't think of a better place to pop my Grey's Anatomy-series cherry! Free coffee, tea and continental breakfast choices, are also available to guests in the front office throughout the day. Weekend mornings also include a larger breakfast spread, starting at 8am, served al fresco, beneath the poolside gazebo.

Fully tiled showers and the many other vintage accents were the absolute sweetest and the closet-sized kitchenette was perfectly equipped to assist my lady pal and I in preparing afternoon snacks and of course, fresh and fruity cocktails.

Located just a 15-20 minute walk away from the bustle of the Palm Springs scene, A Place in the Sun offers convenience, but just enough space to maintain it's status as a mellow retreat. Bike rentals can be found close by, so if hoofing it isn't your thing (totally understandable if you're rocking cute wedges like we did much of the time), you can cruise to and from your temporary abode with ease.

The other hotel guests were so friendly, fun and kind; we couldn't have asked for better neighbors for our weekend!

The last hours of our time in Palm Springs were spent at A Place in the Sun, wrapped in beaded shawls (and an afternoon buzz), taking in some put-put golf and friendly conversation with our fellow pool-goers; the perfect ending to an amazingly awesome weekend!

For a couple of 30-something-Golden-Girls, we couldn't have been happier with our experience at A Place in the Sun, and only wish we could have extended our stay to enjoy this desert haven just a little while longer!

Stay groovy APITS, and expect these Jr.GG's to be lounging in your pool chairs again very soon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarebarenaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our group of seven ladies all whole-heartedly agreed that A Place in the Sun was the PERFECT place to stay. Many times website pictures and brochures are not accurate...in this case, neither did this beautiful garden hotel any justice! The grounds and the room were meticulous. Bungalow 18, the two bedroom/two bath bungalow, had two fireplaces (one electric in the wall in the master…way cool) and a private Jacuzzi which we used each morning as we had our coffee. The bungalow allowed all of us to gather on the patio, kitchen, or living room or have privacy in one of the bedrooms. Norman at the Front Desk is a true delight! He was MOST helpful prior to our arrival and with recommendations and directions once we arrived. We visited often from 9-5 for coffee, tea, cereal (six choices), pastries, decadent cakes, and fruit. Unfortunately, we didn’t have a chance to use the saltwater pool or spa, but we did sit under the great gazebo beside it in the afternoons.
I will be bringing my husband back for a stay in one of the smaller rooms which I was allowed to look at when vacated. Norman promised to let me know which of those will have the great electric wall fireplace. ;-)
I have shared this find with a host of people since my return…thank you for a most delightful two-night stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geralyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom bungalow with a private patio. The bungalow is large, comfortable and equipped with everything you need for self catering. The location is in a quiet neighborhood and if you are not afraid of walking you can go by foot to downtown. If you do not miss lots of other visitors and restaurant on the premises this is for sure the best place to stay in Palm Springs !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OreoReeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I didn't know quite what to make of the place when we first arrived. It is definitely 'dated'... but so cute. Lots of windows .... Even had a tiny private outside nook... It didn't take long to know this was a great choice for us. Very quiet, laid back... lots of gardens and green grass (unlike some resorts in Palm Springs)... pool was nice and warm and hot tub worked great. Everyone was friendly... and helpful. The only thing I could ask for would be a small table in the bathroom and a small one by the door... not sure if we ever figured out if the a/c worked... but didn't really need it regardless. I would definately return. (didn't realize we had a sleep number bed til our last night - but it worked great once we discovered it)

Room Tip: Room #1 is right beside office... perhaps not a good choice. All other rooms seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Delightful! When we arrived, it was pouring rain and dark. We opened the door to our room (bungalow 7) and were greeted with a lovely surprise - warm, cozy and perfectly clean with a little electric fireplace that turned on with a click from the remote control! Perfect refuge on a stormy night. The vintage style tropical decor was charming and warm, the appointments thoughtful to the last detail and the beds comfy.

In the morning we were delighted by the colorful gardens surrounding the lovely pool. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, it looked delicious.

We LOVED our time at A Place in the Sun!

Room Tip: The staff will guide you according to your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing