We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Charmer ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently had another special visit to 'A Place in the Sun' in downtown Palm Springs. Walking distance to all the downtown restaurants and shopping.

You could not tempt us away from this property with a 5 star hotel giveaway! It is all about the ambiance. We love the friendly and efficient staff and, of course, returning friends we have met over the years.

Can't wait for next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tersar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom bungalow and loved every minute! Roomy for 4 adults and 2 kids and was a great vacation. We used the grill and the hot tub and the kids had fun in the pool. Everything was very clean and I loved the attention to detail that the owners have. Would def stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghbianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

One of the many small hotels in Palm Springs the Place in the Sun has around 17 rooms that are by in large rented by returnees. We were first timers who stayed in a smaller studio. The room is small, but we were aware of its size as we previewed it on the hotel website. We were at the Indian Wells tennis tournament for half of the days that we stayed and outside by the pool for the other half so that we had no need for larger quarters. Our room was updated and maintained quite well. Weekend continental breakfast by the pool excellent; weekdays breakfast offering was mediocre (most guests in larger quarters would prepare their own). The grounds are the hotel's real plus. On above rating I would actually say 4 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atticus10S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at A Place in the Sun. The grounds were gorgeously landscaped with beautiful flowers, the rooms were spacious and lovely, and the pool was refreshing. The staff gets an A+! When I realized that I had forgotten my favorite pillow in my room, they immediately mailed it to me. We felt like we were in a little piece of Palm Springs paradise as we lounged by the pool and the kids swam. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed off season and actually were the only ones there. It was absolutely magical and the service (although with very few to serve) was still excellent. It is a diamond in the sand, a must see and charm that can only be experienced. Don't miss it on your next trip to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Our room was a little small, so ask for a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Three cheers (and a shot of tequila!) for A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel!

My lady friend and I came to Palm Springs for a weekend of fun, relaxation and good ol' girl time and I can't imagine it could have been anymore perfect, thanks to this desert oasis- A Place is where this future snowbird can only hope to be able to spend just under 51% of her retirement!

Beautifully colorful flower beds, a saltwater pool and sauna, put-put green and a communal gazebo serve as your front yard and private patios off your room offer early morning solace; or perhaps sangria-induced sanctuary for your afternoon enjoyment.

The staff are all wonderfully warm and welcoming; dear Joe was a perfect host and made us feel at home immediately! The front office provides an expansive complimentary book and video library- really I couldn't think of a better place to pop my Grey's Anatomy-series cherry! Free coffee, tea and continental breakfast choices, are also available to guests in the front office throughout the day. Weekend mornings also include a larger breakfast spread, starting at 8am, served al fresco, beneath the poolside gazebo.

Fully tiled showers and the many other vintage accents were the absolute sweetest and the closet-sized kitchenette was perfectly equipped to assist my lady pal and I in preparing afternoon snacks and of course, fresh and fruity cocktails.

Located just a 15-20 minute walk away from the bustle of the Palm Springs scene, A Place in the Sun offers convenience, but just enough space to maintain it's status as a mellow retreat. Bike rentals can be found close by, so if hoofing it isn't your thing (totally understandable if you're rocking cute wedges like we did much of the time), you can cruise to and from your temporary abode with ease.

The other hotel guests were so friendly, fun and kind; we couldn't have asked for better neighbors for our weekend!

The last hours of our time in Palm Springs were spent at A Place in the Sun, wrapped in beaded shawls (and an afternoon buzz), taking in some put-put golf and friendly conversation with our fellow pool-goers; the perfect ending to an amazingly awesome weekend!

For a couple of 30-something-Golden-Girls, we couldn't have been happier with our experience at A Place in the Sun, and only wish we could have extended our stay to enjoy this desert haven just a little while longer!

Stay groovy APITS, and expect these Jr.GG's to be lounging in your pool chairs again very soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarebarenaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our group of seven ladies all whole-heartedly agreed that A Place in the Sun was the PERFECT place to stay. Many times website pictures and brochures are not accurate...in this case, neither did this beautiful garden hotel any justice! The grounds and the room were meticulous. Bungalow 18, the two bedroom/two bath bungalow, had two fireplaces (one electric in the wall in the master…way cool) and a private Jacuzzi which we used each morning as we had our coffee. The bungalow allowed all of us to gather on the patio, kitchen, or living room or have privacy in one of the bedrooms. Norman at the Front Desk is a true delight! He was MOST helpful prior to our arrival and with recommendations and directions once we arrived. We visited often from 9-5 for coffee, tea, cereal (six choices), pastries, decadent cakes, and fruit. Unfortunately, we didn’t have a chance to use the saltwater pool or spa, but we did sit under the great gazebo beside it in the afternoons.
I will be bringing my husband back for a stay in one of the smaller rooms which I was allowed to look at when vacated. Norman promised to let me know which of those will have the great electric wall fireplace. ;-)
I have shared this find with a host of people since my return…thank you for a most delightful two-night stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geralyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palm Springs
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 74 in Palm Springs
893 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#6 of 22 in Palm Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £95 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing