We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait until the next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 2 fabulous weeks April/May this year. It was our first visit but we immediately booked rooms 3 and 4 four our selves and our friends for next March. We can see why people return again and again. The flowers were nearing the end but were still beautiful. The saline pool was a bonus and hot tub great. The breakfast at the weekend is great with bagels, cream cheese, fruit etc served by the pool. During the week it really only consists of coffee,an assortment of cereals, milk and orange juice with some sugar shock pastries and cake. It does however provide a great opportunity to go to the office (where the breakfast goodies are kept) and have a daily chat with Norm and Joe who are most helpful to everyone.

We had the last room available which was a studio (room 15) and very small but it had everything needed in the very tiny kitchen and a wonderful private patio. We are looking forward to the larger room next year.

Since we are seniors and it was quite hot we found it was not feasible to walk to restaurants or shops but we had a car so no problems.

This is certainly a find for us and we will be back many times.

Room Tip: We looked at room 3 and 4 and both were just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We went for 5 nights with our little baby and A Place in the Sun was the perfect place to chill in a familiar atmosphere and explore the region. Good location close to a lot of restaurants, nice and cosy old school bungalows, great pool area and very helpful and more than friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensotronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been coming to this little hideaway for almost 20 years.
Since then, they changed owners, it's been nothing but upgrades, hospitality, great smiles, peaceful, relaxing and affordable!
Weekend patio lite breakfast is welcoming and social.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sobadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days during Easter break. It is in a comfortable neighborhood off of the main hwy through Palm Springs, near downtown and the other desert cities. It is pet friendly. Has all the necessities that you might need. True, it is an old property but they have done a good job of keeping it up. A lovely pool and hot tub. I believe 18 bungalows, some large and almost apartment like. We had a one bedroom with a small kitchenette. Nice gas grill in the pool area. Dinners out on the covered area out by the pool. Staff was friendly and dealt with problems quickly. Would recommend and would stay here again. Met lots of nice people by the pool, largely because it is a small place where people can stay to themselves or share experiences with other travelers.

Room Tip: The website has a layout of the rooms and the sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLOcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hidden gem is old time Palm Springs at its best. It is tucked away on a side street, residential, yet just 1/4 mile away from the heart of downtown. We chose it because we travel with an elderly Australian Shepherd and it is most pet friendly. Because we were only staying one night, we chose a studio. It was very small, with the best equipped efficiency kitchen we've ever seen. The décor is old but clean, with modern upgrades such as Wi-Fi and cable TV. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with lots of flowers and palms (naturally). The owners are very nice and helpful. It is run more like a B&B, with the office only open 9-5. We would stay again, in one of the larger units.

Room Tip: Study the map on the website. Each room is somewhat different. Probably not a bad room, just know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A Place In the Sun Garden Hotel is a quaint little treasure. It provides all of the comforts of home and the staff are among the sweetest and friendliest I've ever met! A wonderful continental breakfast spread was ready for us outside around the pool area every morning. Our room was very clean. The gardens in and surrounding the grounds were well kept and had a beautiful array of many different types of flowers. The best part is that they are a pet friendly place. I look forward to my next stay at this hotel and very highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sellps, Owner at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We know we have amazing employees that always go the extra mile, but we never tire of hearing that from our guests. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.!
Warm regards,
Norma & Ron Van Meeteren, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have a reunion of old friends here every year. We could not ask for a better place to hold this event. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is friendly and the facilities are perfect. It is like a step back in time to a the 50's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sellps, Owner at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for the review, Bonnie! You know how much we all love your group. So glad to see you've taken care of booking for next year! We're already looking forward to having you all back with us again.
Norma & Ron, and Joe, Norman, Rosario, Angelica, and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.8 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
1 mi away
The Andalusian Court
The Andalusian Court
#2 of 20 in Palm Springs
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
911 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#3 of 20 in Palm Springs
421 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#6 of 20 in Palm Springs
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £158 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing