We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hot day at the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Norman started the stay at checkin, keep the man, he is good at what he does (what is seen by your visitors.) Your facility is the complete package but requiring more attention to detail. For the monies you charge (even with the free day for staying two days) should see the misters working to perfection on the hottest week of the year to date, no ones air conditioning should not work for one of their days of stay, toilets should not clog at 4 AM, and other miscellaneous comments of the guests. You weekend setup crew for breakfast and the maid service is superior in all aspects. All employees were very helpful. I am recommending your facility and web site to others, yet I will allow them to make up their own minds. It is nice that pets are allowed and that their owners clean up after them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sellps, Owner at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Bill. As always, we appreciate hearing the good and the bad. Our employees are worth their weight in gold, so thank you for those nice words. Sorry about the misters and a/c's. We noticed that the misters on the south side of the gazebo appeared clogged when we turned them on when it started getting hot, so immediately scheduled a servicing. Unfortunately, the company wasn't able to come out until this past Tuesday, the day after your group checked out. We try to stay on top of these things, but sometimes find ourselves at the mercy of vendors. We were very thankful that we were able to get someone out right away for the a/c problems reported. I know your group loves the indoor/outdoor aspect of A Place in the Sun, but when it is triple digit heat, the a/c just doesn't work properly when the windows and doors are left open, which was the problem in a couple of units. You brought up last year how messy the blossoming palm trees were, so we thought you might notice that we took care of the huge annual job of palm tree trimming just before your group got here this year. And you may not have noticed either, but we do have plungers in every bathroom cabinet in the event we get the occasional toilet clog. 1951 built, after all! Anyway, we do appreciate having your group return year after year. Thank you again for your comments.
Best regards,
Norma and Ron Van Meeteren, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I really didn't want to do this review because it's one of our favorite places and we didn't want to share.
The hotel is wonderful, comfortable, private, clean the owners and staff are awsome!
Our dog also loves it and is very comfortable at APITS.

Room Tip: Room #8 would be a good choice for first timers, close to the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOGMOM3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I love staying here! The view of the mountains, old hollywood feel, salt water pool, breakfast, and wifi.... What's not to love!? I wish I could come more often! Also Norma and Ron make sure you feel right at home. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelmondoZingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 2 fabulous weeks April/May this year. It was our first visit but we immediately booked rooms 3 and 4 four our selves and our friends for next March. We can see why people return again and again. The flowers were nearing the end but were still beautiful. The saline pool was a bonus and hot tub great. The breakfast at the weekend is great with bagels, cream cheese, fruit etc served by the pool. During the week it really only consists of coffee,an assortment of cereals, milk and orange juice with some sugar shock pastries and cake. It does however provide a great opportunity to go to the office (where the breakfast goodies are kept) and have a daily chat with Norm and Joe who are most helpful to everyone.

We had the last room available which was a studio (room 15) and very small but it had everything needed in the very tiny kitchen and a wonderful private patio. We are looking forward to the larger room next year.

Since we are seniors and it was quite hot we found it was not feasible to walk to restaurants or shops but we had a car so no problems.

This is certainly a find for us and we will be back many times.

Room Tip: We looked at room 3 and 4 and both were just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We went for 5 nights with our little baby and A Place in the Sun was the perfect place to chill in a familiar atmosphere and explore the region. Good location close to a lot of restaurants, nice and cosy old school bungalows, great pool area and very helpful and more than friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensotronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been coming to this little hideaway for almost 20 years.
Since then, they changed owners, it's been nothing but upgrades, hospitality, great smiles, peaceful, relaxing and affordable!
Weekend patio lite breakfast is welcoming and social.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sobadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days during Easter break. It is in a comfortable neighborhood off of the main hwy through Palm Springs, near downtown and the other desert cities. It is pet friendly. Has all the necessities that you might need. True, it is an old property but they have done a good job of keeping it up. A lovely pool and hot tub. I believe 18 bungalows, some large and almost apartment like. We had a one bedroom with a small kitchenette. Nice gas grill in the pool area. Dinners out on the covered area out by the pool. Staff was friendly and dealt with problems quickly. Would recommend and would stay here again. Met lots of nice people by the pool, largely because it is a small place where people can stay to themselves or share experiences with other travelers.

Room Tip: The website has a layout of the rooms and the sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLOcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.8 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#17 of 75 in Palm Springs
899 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#6 of 21 in Palm Springs
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing