We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brits in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brits in the sun”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from our third stay at "The place in the sun" and again it lived up to all our expectations. It really is like being at home but warmer and with a pool and Jacuzzi. The bungalows are fully equipped to enable you to cook complete meals if you wish. The owners Ron and Norma make you feel very welcome but do not impose themselves on you if you wish to be left alone, and provide breakfast cereals and pastries in the office if you want them along with slices of cake for afternoon tea! Everything is beautifully maintained and any problems instantly sorted. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    39
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
89
171
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Norma took care of my reservation, and she was extremely pleasant.
I arrived at the hotel past 8:30pm, so the office was already closed. Norma had left an envelope with the instructions to get my keys, which were simple to follow.

The room was perfect (I chose the studio for only one night). It had the kitchenette, which made breakfast simple (I didn't know there was coffee and cereal at the office).

The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were clean, and the whole atmosphere seemed serene.

The A/C was extremely noisy and the room is super bright in the morning. If you are sensitive to light, you need something to cover your eyes.

Overall a good experience, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Been going to A Place in the Sun for 12 plus years and have never been disappointed! It's quiet and comfortable and so nice that dogs are welcome, too! One of the best-kept secrets in Palm Springs!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is older but well maintained and has great ambiance. The rooms are very nice and are very clean. Most of the rooms have fully functional kitchens, the studios have kitchenettes which have just about everything you need and it feels like home. The grounds are very well maintained and it feels like your in someones backyard. The hotel staff is so friendly and nice. We stayed here with a group and booked the entire hotel and felt so welcomed. Everyone in our group loved this place and no one wanted to leave. I can't thank everyone enough that works here for making us feel special and for their kindness. Everyone treated us like family. We had such a great time that we will be back again next year. This place is truly a hidden gem.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchens have just about everything you need to cook meals which is very convenient a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thanks and a hat tip to Norman.He is such a delightful person.
We have always enjoyed our stays at A place in the Sun.
Excellent staff. Quiet, Very clean and comfortable.
We will return.
Always good to come home. {Our palm Springs Home}

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms and were pleased with all. It just depends if you need a studio,1 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We are repeat visitors, but every time the staff makes APITS feel more like family and home. The fact that Hank and Susette (our two toy poodles) are every bit as welcome is so special; you'll be hard pressed to find a more pet-friendly environment. Ron and Norma are every bit the dog lover as proven by their own rescues. Clean, cozy 60s era-specific bungalows will have you waiting for Don Draper to walk through the gate at any moment! The gardens, saline pool, and lawns are perfect compliments to the bungalows and complete the whole package. Mountain views are stunning and the surrounding neighborhood very peaceful. APITS is our perfect place to decompress and totally relax. Near downtown (cannot tell you're that close) you'll never labor to come up with outings if you like to be on the go and experience more of Palm Springs. The only thing we agree that needs fixing is next time our stay will be longer!

Room Tip: Every bungalow has unique features and options. Use APITS web site to match your needs to the amenit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've almost run out of terrific things to say about this lovely hotel, but here goes!!

We were here for a little summer getaway and we weren't disappointed. The weather was beautiful as were the hotel grounds, the staff is very kind and accommodating to your schedule and it was very nice to meet Norman who works the front desk.

I love to take photographs and the interior courtyard of the hotel offers endless opportunities for the budding photographer (as I am!) to take pictures of the bungalows, flowers, palm trees and the gorgeous mountains.

My husband and I have been here several times because not only do we enjoy the peace and quiet we get here, but also the customer service, as well. Owners Ron and Norma always have a smile and a nice word for you and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible, as will Angelica, Rosario, John, Joe (who was on vacation) and now Norman.

We'll be back at the end of the summer for hottest weather that Palm Springs has to offer.......no worries, we've got just the Hotel for that!! Try APITS once and you'll not go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Room #8 offers a wonderful view of the mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.2 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing