We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jewel in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This is the fourth year we have returned to A place in the sun. When we arrived it truly felt like we were home. This is obvious to us because the people we meet are people who return every year. This jewel of a place is in a residential are just minutes from downtown palm springs. each bungalow has its own private patio plus kitchenettes. You wake up to the sound of birds singing in your backyard. you can either sit outside on your private patio or sit by the beautiful salt pool and have your continental breakfast, on weekends there is brunch by the pool. Norma and Ron the owners cater to your every need. i have environmental issues and the owners and staff went the extra mile to make it safe for me. Our friends joined us this year ,because we shared how much we loved this place. When we arrived after them they walked up to us and said " how did you ever find this jewel"? and it is truly a jewel in the desert.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2010

This is my favorite place to stay in Palm Springs. My husband and I can pack up the dog, hit the grocery store and park the car and relax. We love the pool, the BBQ and the quiet. We have stayed here many times. The rooms have a nice little kitchen so you can prep your own meals. I have a very specific diet so for me this is wonderful. I also love that we can bring our pup. When you want to get away for a quick weekend finding a dog sitter is tough or expensive.. so being able to bring her is wonderful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceylee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Our second stay in "A Place in the Sun" was another wonderful experience. We simply love being there and our dogs also! We hope to spend a month there next year, and though I don't want to wish my life away, I can't wait. Mary Salvador, West Vancouver, B.C.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestVancouverJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Love the bungalows, love the location where this place is set up for 360 degree of beautiful view of mountains and palm trees. One need to stay in this place in order to appreciate it all . This place is offeres such a piecefullness to mind and to the soul.
In ten minutes, you can reach old Palm Springs town, which you can find great restaurants/entertainment.

Owners warm hospitality is so welcoming. Staff are also very helpful. I wouldn't change this place to any large hotels, where you can find no privacy. We have been there before, and we will continue going , just because, for us it is the only right place to go in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volkanoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We've been staying there 2-3 times every year since 2001.

Close to downtown Palm Springs; the bungalows, while not brand new, are very clean, have kitchens and their own patio.

Kids (and dad) love the pool (spending 5-6 hours a day in it) and the spa - not to mention the breakfast cereals (breakfast included in the price).

Always felt welcome and just like home - very friendly and helpful staff and owners.

We've seen and stayed in other places but this is definitely the place which makes most sense for our needs.
Definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mischi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The charming A Place in the Sun Hotel is a gem in the desert. My husband and I have been coming here for many years. We can't imagine staying anywhere else.We love the fact that its a small quaint hotel with lots to offer. The rooms are always very clean. This hotel is also pet friendly which is a plus for us! We love the idea of walking out the front door and being steps away from the pool and beautiful garden area. And imagine walking out your back door to your own very private patio and yard! Great for our dog and just relaxing..I also love the fact that behind the hotel is a riverbed with walkways and trails . It's a great place to take quiet walks .I love to walk out there as the sun is going down over the mountains-so beautiful! The hotel is also located on a quiet street so there is not loud traffic. Owners Norma and Ron Van Meeteren and staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. We feel so fortunate to have found this perfect little oasis in the desert.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldengirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Our stressfull jobs & busy lives always lead us to our Home away from Home, A Place In the Sun. We have been going to this resort now for over 8 years & are able to relax and enjoy our stay and this hidden gem of the desert. Recent updates to the rooms and pool area have made this Palm Springs best kept secret. The hotel is warm, inviting and well kept. Ron & Norma treat all the guests as family & many of the guest we meet during our stays are repeat customers which says alot for the level of customer service delivered by Ron, Norma & staff. We have recommended this place to many friends & family who now have also become repeat customers throughout the past years. Ron, Norma & staff dote over their guest which makes everyone feel like they are staying with family. On Labor Day weekend, Ron cooked a BBQ feast for all the guests which is just one example of their way of treating guests like family. Ron & Norma have always been accomodating and no request is too big. Staying with Ron & Norma has now become a yearly tradition always to be looked forwarded to. Thanks Ron & Norma for creating a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere!

Alberto, Martha, Scott, Marian, Greg, Miguel & Family

http://www.aplaceinthesunhotel.com/

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £131 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing