We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different from the rest”
Review of El Mirasol Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Mirasol Villas
Napa, CA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different from the rest”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I just got home from a 1 week stay at the EMV and I could not be more relaxed and refreshed! I noticed a few bad reviews, but honestly I cannot understand why. I suggest that you think about your expectations before you are underwhelmed and hurt someones business from bad reviews. This is my second time at the EMV and it is consistently comfortable, clean and very friendly. The owners, Paul and Bruce are incredible hosts! their employees are friendly and quick to help with any special requests. They offer fresh strong coffee first thing in the morning along with yogurt, bagels, fresh fruit, assorted cereals and some sweets rolls, muffins. They also offer a studio sized refrigerator so you can buy your own breakfast and lunch to help save on money. The pools are PERFECT! one is warm the other is cold for hot days. There is a clean steam room and a hot tub that would seat 10 easily. The grounds are kept up very nicely and the night manager "Skip" is always working to make sure everything looks great. I highly recommend that you stop by for a visit on your next trip to Palm Springs or book with Paul and Bruce. Leave your expectations at home and just enjoy a nice quiet and clean place to call home for a few days!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank napagusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
25
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although located in the heart of the 'notorious' Warm Sands area - and while still embracing clothing optional poolside - the vibe remains relaxed and not cruisy (and All Worlds is across the street if you do want a change of pace) El Mirasol is a charming little collection of bungalows and good sized studios with 2 pools and jacuzzi. The grounds are wonderfully landscaped and everything is well maintained. A great place at a great rate that I would recommend and come back to.

On the downside, the size of the bathrooms & shower stalls leaves much to be desired. The complimentary continental breakfast is about on par with other local resorts….wich win;t saying much…if you know what I'm saying.

Room Tip: The cheapest poolside studios are spacious and have a fridge - so no need to spend more, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelStudioCityCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Firstly the pool view rooms back onto Ramon Rd which means you can hear the traffic from 6am onwards. Breakfast was very poor. No choice of juice, on second day only had grape jelly no soft cheese etc for bagels. Looked like it was too much effort to supply even a basic breakfast. Noise from old air con was too much and had to switch it off at night. Dont be tempted by the cheaper price as we were. better of spending a few more bucks elsewhere. The guests that were there were very senior and it felt very much like a retirement home. Dull and boring place with no life or soul.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else for more life
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoysummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The grounds of El Mirasol are nice sort of desert oasis feel. Hummingbirds, fountains, good variety of lush vegetation.

The rooms are okay but not updated and they don't look clean. Shower tiles, bedding, carpet have seen better days. There aren't safes in the rooms, which is substandard. The old fashioned AC unit in my room was very wonky and loud. The windows don't open so the room smelled musty...yuck.

As for the vibe, it's non-existent. Two separate pools sounds nice, but in reality neither had a critical mass of guys to give it any sense of fun. One of the pools isn't heated but the weather was hot when I was there so that was okay. The jacuzzi was lukewarm, over-chlorinated, and very shallow -- strange.

Compared to the other Warm Sands resorts I've stayed in, the "breakfast" here was wholly inadequate. (pastries in sealed plastic as if they came out of a vending machine, plus cold coffee and a few other odds and ends, and no staff person anywhere to be found if you need something)

Most importantly, I did not find the owner to be very welcoming. When I arrived, he was very crabby and short with me, and sarcastic. Sorry if you had a bad day, but don't take it out on your paying customers! That really set the wrong tone. Very unprofessional...I think he's in the wrong job, frankly, but whatever.

Basically I would not recommend El Mirasol Villas unless you want to be a hermit for a few days and aren't looking for a social thing. Spend a few extra bucks for Santiago or Inndulge and you'll have a better experience, in my opinion. They have social hours (happy hour), better pool vibe, nicer facilities, and certainly friendlier staff. I've stayed at several Palm Springs gay resorts, this was near the bottom of the pack.

Room Tip: This resort is a mash-up of what was two resorts previously. Try to stay in the part that's arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I just returned from two nights at El Mirasol Villas, and as usual Paul and Bruce hosted a relaxing vacation in the desert. For a Monday and Tuesday night, the resort had many guests, which made the pool and spa quite lively in a good way.
The night manager Skip is very friendly and also a great host, the houseman (Eric, Ricardo and Luis) are always warm and friendly wanting to make each detail in one's stay memorable.
The breakfast was the perfect addition, fresh OJ and fruit, yogurt and oatmeal, tasty desserts, coffee and/or tea.
The grounds at the hotel, are lush with several palm trees, and just the right amount of sun to shade.
All in all, El Mirasol Villas is the perfect slice of heaven and the perfect desert oasis.

Room Tip: rooms by the north pool tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyo1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed in many Gay Hotels over the years from the West coast of the USA to Europe. But, staying at El Mirasol, was by far the best ever. Paul and Bruce were so wonderful and so very friendly. Whatever ever I needed it was there for me. Being with a disability, my needs were met with perfection. The place was spotless, it was quiet when needed, the breakfast was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and the rooms were spotless clean. I was there in October 2013 for a week and am going back on February 14th. If any gay man is looking for a place to relax, enjoy the pool and just enjoy life, I highly recommend El Mirasol.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a six day stay at this resort. It was our fifth resort we have been to. The grounds are quite beautiful and rare in the gay resorts of Palm Springs. This resort has a beautiful Mexican hacienda feel to it including the decor and a bit dated furniture. The main pool was heated to a decent temperature but the other pool was frigid and unusable in the winter. The breakfast is basic and un appealing. First time we decided to eat out for breakfast at a gay Palm Springs resort. They don't even have real orange juice. It is Tang. Just saying. The owners are lovely people. Housekeeping did a wonderful job each day. The live in supervisor, not the owner, never cracked even the slightest smile our entire stay, was completely inhospitable and made me feel like I was bothering him. Not a single word or comment was made to us each morning we went to the breakfast area despite trying to make eye contact, etc as we are social and chatty. Strange vibe , but we let it go and moved on. Not much else to say. Sorry.

Room Tip: Make sure it is by the heated pool in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldebunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.2 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.1 mi away
Warm Sands Villas
Warm Sands Villas
#17 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirasol Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirasol Villas

Property: El Mirasol Villas
Address: 525 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
El Mirasol Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing