We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for our Anniversary!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I went to Palm Springs on a last minute whim. We drove 7 hours to this hotel. We were not disappointed when we arrived especially with the hospitality. Larry, Lucy, and Jay were awesome! They made us feel right at home like we were family. Offered us drinks when we arrived and had so much to offer. The setting was beautiful....very quaint and peaceful. We liked it so much we want to go back for our anniversary in October. Thanks to everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazykatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

I'm totally biased because my honey proposed to me there. We had originally hoped to stay at the Desert Rivera for the weekend, but it was completely full and so we decided to book here instead. I now may actually like this hotel (slightly) more than the Desert Riviera, and not just for sentimental reasons. It's a fantastic, intimate hotel with a great ambiance, a beautiful pool area and wonderful, wonderful staff. I ditto all of the wonderful things said about Larry, Patty and Lucy. They are truly the most gracious of people. In fact, when my boyfriend proposed, Larry surprised us with a chilled bottle of champagne. How fantastic is that?! The suite was spotless, the bed comfortable and the room was completely stocked w/ silverware, plates and glasses. Next time, we're trying the bbq area and enjoying dinner poolside.

Room Tip: Their suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatsinanayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Yes, I will echo the other reviews here and say that the service and all-around friendliness of the owners and Lucy really sealed the deal for this place. Lots of thoughtful little touches, such as the complimentary beer/wine/soda on arrival, the quick tour, the free snacks & water in the room, make this hotel stand out in a town with lots of similar small boutique offerings.

We had a great time in our private room, and felt secluded by the semi-private front patio. Room was very clean, nice white linens and a Pottery Barn-esque light quilt at the foot of the bed. Room has a small kitchenette with a mini-fridge, sink and microwave. Bathroom counters/cabinets are a bit outdated, but again are very clean and in good shape.

We come to Palm Springs for a nearby romantic getaway every year, and like to stay in different small hotels. This was one of the best and we hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at The Hotel California for a weekend in July where we received a very warm welcome from Lucy, complimentary drinks and a tour of all the facilities at the hotel, including a residents kitchen with complimentary drinks, a grill outside and all the condiments and sauces you might need. We stayed in a two Queen room, not huge but comfortable. The pool area was lovely, pool towels provided, loungers and a misting system. Lucy and Larry could not have been more helpful or friendly but not intrusive and made our stay in Palm Springs a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineV433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We chose Palm Springs (and in particular Hotel California) to get out of the the June gloom of California Beach towns. Coming from the Central Coast (Pismo Beach) and vacationing often in Laguna Beach, we were looking for sunshine, a nice swimming pool and privacy. WOW! What a HOME RUN this place turned out to be. "Romatica" was the perfect room for complete privacy. The misters by the pool, and Jay's hook up with ice cold water bottles, made the the days float away. Not to mention the use of the kitchen. We made smoothies out of the fresh fruit made available to us and had fresh COLD watermelon that was in the fridge. Lucy's restaurant recommendation was spot on, (both nights) and the limo was icing on the cake.

We've stayed at some of the nicest resorts in the US, and considered the Palm Desert resorts...but there is no way I would ever go back and change this decision. We are HOOKED and will absolutely turn this into an annual event...if not more often.

Room Tip: Romantica is a stand alone, lower level room. It is the closest room to the jacuzzi. No bathtub thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuleSknr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Private, romantic, peaceful, paradise can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theBootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We originally tried booking at the Desert Riviera, but they required a two night stay on weekends and we only needed one night--Saturday. The Desert Riviera suggested their sister hotel, the Hotel California, a block away. We were not disappointed!! We arrived hot, sweaty and dirty after climbing Mt. San Jacinto. Lucy immediately offered us a beer (no charge) while we checked in. Lucy made our dinner reservations and gave us a map and directions. Wonderful service all around. Our room was spacious, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. It also had a basket full of goodies (free) and cokes in the fridge. The owners obviously have taken pains to attend to all the details. The room had a nice LED TV with a DVD player. A large selection of DVDs is available in the common room, along with coffee and tea. The grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiegobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,958 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
739 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £90 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing