We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fourth Stay Here”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

In our opinion Hotel California is the only place to stay while in Palm Springs,CA. Quite and quaint. The owners, Larry and Patty, and staff are like family, housekeeping is impeccable and the amenities are too numerous to mention. The surrounding area is safe and clean with a variety of restaurants within walking distance and you always have the limo at your service. The fact that it is an adult only hotel assures you won't be having to put up with little children running around making extra noise.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. The is great at helping you find a room. We've stayed in three different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked this hotel based on the rave reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed.The team are very friendly and helpful without being 'in your face'. Lots of small things such as the loan of a coolbox for our day in the desert, free internet access and hot coffee in addition to the impeccable surroundings. What they have done with the courtyard is amazing,with pool and hot tub in a lush oasis. I have come home with plenty of ideas for own garden space.
Walking distance to restaurants and coffee shop was a bonus for us as we spent a lot of time in the car and liked a bit of a walk which can be difficult in America where there are few pavements.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tykesinfrance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We enjoyed three nights at the Hotel California in Feb. 2012, and were very happy with the choice. As others have pointed out, the lovely heated pool and surrounding courtyard are most attractive and almost unimaginably serene, given that they are just a few yards from a busy road. We spent every afternoon there. There was a charming gas fire pit (no smoky clothing!) and several groupings of chairs that provided cozy outdoor lounge areas for the evening. Lucy and Larry were lovely hosts.

Although the room was only medium-plus on the comfort scale (very loud HVAC unit, and rather airless without it; only two small, hard chairs for seating; but on the other hand a most comfortable bed and excellent bedside lights), it was clean and well provisioned with beach towels, snacks, a microwave and a mini-fridge, among other things.

Given that we didn't do much more than sleep in the room, its slight discomforts were definitely outweighed in our view by the great location (just a five minute drive from downtown PS and easy walking distance to three or four pleasant eateries), the unbeatable outdoor areas, the helpfulness and friendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKzealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This small and cozy hotel was just fantastic! I have never stayed at a place that captured my imagination in such a way before. Wonderful garden and pool area, with hummingbirds and a jacuzzi ever so sweet. Had the pleasure of meeting the owner Larry and his lovely daughter Lucy - great people and a great place!

Thanks.. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryggvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Hotel California was all it was hyped up to be. Very friendly staff (Lucy and Larry). We were greeted very cordially with an offer of something to drink, nice touch. The grounds were immaculate from the landscaping to the pool and jacuzzi areas. Very peaceful and quiet, which is a big change from larger hotels.The rooms were very clean I stayed in room #10 with 2 queen beds very comfortable and were cleaned on a daily basis.The trip downtown was a 5 min drive which was no big deal.They have free limo service into town if you do not feel like driving which is another good perk. Jay the driver though had a very dry sense of humor or was just mean spirited with us couldn't tell but I got over that and used my car the rest of the stay. I also took a look at the sister hotel Desert Riviera and found that hotel to be just as nice and cozy. When I visit Palm Springs again I would definately stay at either hotel as it was a very positive experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 10 which was a large room with 2 queen beds. The only negative factor was if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezduzit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel California for two days just after Thanksgiving weekend. We were extremely pleased. The hotel is small, which is great when you want to get away from the crowds, and the owners were so nice. The pool is heated and you can use it late at night. They just ask you to keep the noise to a minimum. We really liked the location and there is great Mexican restaurant close by. Bottom line, this is an awesome place to stay and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I am a return customer. This place is amazing. Truly peaceful and relaxing. The owners & staff treat with you the utmost respect. I live in San Diego County & whether I stay at their sister property, Desert Sands, or this property, I fill like I AM on vacation! When I make future plans to stay in Palm Springs, this will always be my first and hopefully, only choice, because they get fully booked really fast!
Kathy

Room Tip: Any room would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
884 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £125 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing