We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Palms, California, United States
1 review
“Best experience ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for our wedding night and couldn't have asked for a better experience!!! The minute they found out we were just married they offered us a bottle of champagne but we had to decline since I'm pregnant. They got us a complimentary limo ride to our dinner plans and had a bottle of sparkling cider in the fridge for us when we got back! We highly recommend staying here and even though we're locals we will be back!!!

Room Tip: The townhouse is awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
967
49
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I was only able to go for a couple of nights by myself to get some much needed R&R, but it was fabulous. The hotel is small enough that it is intimate and personal and very quiet. The owners are super sweet and caring and want your stay to be perfect. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the guests were all very friendly. I would have loved to stay longer but I will have to go back again.....hopefully sooner than later. Definitely a place I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 9 and it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlepeanutp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Wow,we stayed for a week and loved every minute.
The greeting with wine and beer was great and the little extras like free phone calls even to the UK,loan of golf clubs,bikes and limo car were just super.
Larry,Jay,Mike and Lucy were always about to help in any way they could and make our stay really memorable.The room,4,was just about right as it was a little away from the pool so really private and always kept clean and tidy.
We BBQ three nights with food bought from nearby Store,Jerrys,which was very good value especially as the room key had the discount number and this saved many $
Overall it was the best small hotel we have ever had the pleasure of staying and we will be back.

Room Tip: All are good but try one a little away from the pool for that extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We travelled from New Zealand for 8 days touring. We drove from Sedona ,AZ to Palm Springs and were met by Jay at Hotel California. After the long drive it was fantastic to be met with such enthusiasm, first a beer then the paperwork....thats the way we like it!
Our stay was like visiting friends we were made to feel right at home. The little touches with the coffee and snacks, a beer when around the pool and the welcoming chit chat all added to what became our favorite stopping point. We had a room upstairs overlooking the pool which was compact but not in any way claustrophobic and the ability to self cater breakfast was a welcome respite from dining out.
All n all a great adult retreat , small motel feeling with big heart...loved it.

Room Tip: Any room looked good we were upstairs overlooking the pool and had the bonus of an upstairs verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 4-day weekend in Palm Springs where we visited Larry, Lucy and Jay at Hotel California. Despite all of the glowing reviews, we were STILL blown away by the consistent and unexpected high quality of service provided! The staff so clearly loves what they do and make every effort to get to know your travel preferences, so that they can be of service in whatever way you need. We spent the majority of our days lounging around the beautiful pool area and dining out in the evening (though several other guests that we got to know took the opportunity to fire up the BBQ at the hotel). The staff took care of all of our reservations and we utilized the limo service each night out. The little touches are too many to count and we left feeling incredibly spoiled and eager to return! The biggest thing here is the warmth and care that the staff takes to make absolutely sure you LOVE your time there. If you visit Palm Springs, you'd be crazy not to stay at Hotel California!

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms and all look great. Depending on what you're looking for (full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Booked this so I could relax and visit with my BFF and it was wonderful. They treat you just like family and have so many extras. Like everything you need as far as spices, condiments to barbecue. Also pool floaties and sunscreen. You have small kitchen in your room plus a full kitchen room to just make yourself at home, and best of all they do up your dishes. You can ride bikes downtown which they supply. One note though if you don't want a mark on your file, make sure you bring the bikes back before dark. A boo boo on our part. But in all honesty, Larry did not tell us this so really the mark should go in his file. Lol.

Room Tip: All rooms were great but only sleep two unless you go later in the year and then maybe three.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I spent last week at the Hotel California, after my daughter's wedding. We wanted a quiet place, less crowded, but with nice amenities. This is EXACTLY what we got. There are only about 14 rooms and a small pool, but it's "adults only", and we got even better service than the bigger resort hotels we've stayed at, in Palm Springs.
Lucy, Larry and Jay are fabulous! Patty even came by from their "sister hotel", the Desert Riveria to say "Hi", and welcome guests. Your wish, is their command! To be honest, it wasn't like staying at a hotel at all, it was like staying with friends and family! We've already booked 2 return reservations, and can't wait to go back! If you're looking for a beautiful oasis, without the hussle-bussle of a big resort, and 1st class service, the Hotel California is your place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2-story townhouse. Very nice, and liked being on the "quieter side" of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing