We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people and a wonderful hotel.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It was my pleasure to stay at hotel California. Lucy was great and helped me navigate palm springs and directed me to a great site to produce a painting (Indian canyon) if I needed anything everyone at the hotel would help me. Next time I'm in palm springs I'll hoPe to stay at hotel California. Four stars

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olsenecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had never been to Palm Springs prior to this visit. "Hotel California" spiked our curiosity with it's name and after reviewing the photos on their web site we decided this would be a nice option for our brief one night visit. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome! The grounds are attractive and extremely well maintained! Our room was on the ground floor by the pool but was very private and quiet, as well as comfortable.
Our next trip to Palm Springs will be longer and we will not be looking for other options. Hotel California has everything you need, you may never want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned from 7 nights-what a great time. Staff is outstanding- Jay(Director of Chauffer Services), Larry, and Lucy are all special and really work to make sure that guests have a good time. If you don't have a great time, its probably your own fault. Hotel is kept spotless, and the extras are great. We had the larger suite with 2 floors and it was perfect. The limo service is a special touch and very handy to have. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great-no "bad" locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pooppoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel California for 4 nights which was not enough. The attention to detail by the owners/staff, along with the peace, quiet and relaxing atmosphere just made our vacation. We stayed in Room 9 and loved it. Lucy gave us a lovely welcoming reception after a long drive from LA due to traffic. It is clean, friendly and the extras include basket of goodies in your room, free Limo ride into town if required, use of a computer and free calls if required and so much more. My husband and I also looked at their sister hotel and liked the look of that also, so the question now is not if we will return, because we will for sure but were to stay! Larry, Lucy and Jay thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was on the second floor (no elevator) and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I really cannot praise this hotel enough. From the moment we arrived, hot from a long car journey we were made to feel special. The welcome we received from Jay and Larry was second to none and we felt so comfortable there. Our accomodation was superb, and the staff could not have done more for us, including arranging accomodation and airport transfer for our friends Jeff & Tasha who flew out to surprise us. The facilities are amazing including fully stocked kitchen, use of BBQ, DVD and book library, bikes and limousine service. The pool and hot tub are wonderful and the misters surrounding them were very welcome in the desert heat. Lucy went above and beyond what one would expect from a hotel, to make our stay extra special. You made my birthday one that I will always remember. I hope that we will be able to return to the best and most comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in!

Pat & Harry, London, England

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I have visited Hotel California for a couple of years now. We love the decor, the set up with the trees, plants around the pool, the seating outside under the shade for a quiet evening with a glass of wine that they supply. The rooms are so cute and overlook the mountains and the owners are so involved with their customers and make sure we are comfortable. I even got a ride in their vintage limo which is available to those who prefer not to drive to the resturants on the main strip. My husband and I recommend Hotel California that is for adults only.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side upstairs were our favorite views overlooking the pool and with your own litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a marvelous time while in Palm Springs at the Hotel California.
Everyone was very gracious and friendly.
It is a wonderful relaxing retreat in a clean and beautiful environment.
The decor is lovely throughout.
The hotel staff outdid themselves!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,949 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
735 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £117 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing