We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife and I didn't want to leave”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wife and I didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay. What a hotel it was so clean so intimate so nice, Lucy was a huge help pointed us in the right direction for dinner and gave us the lay of the land since we had never been to palm springs before. At night we swimming in the pool the place was lit up candles and the smell of flowers was everywhere. If your second guessing your stay don't. Make reservations here don't think twice. Between the beauty of the hotel and Lucy who runs it its a win win.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ieatgood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
999
53
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My daughter and I visited for a few days' relaxation and re-connection. Jay and Lucy really made us feel like welcome personal guests. We loved being offered a cool glass of wine when we checked in. Accommodations are so comfortable and clean. The full kitchen is extremely well equipped and they had a terrific selection of DVDs.

The King's Highway restaurant across the street was a delicious option when we did not feel like driving into town the first night (just could not bear to get back into the car). Our second night Lucy was able to recommend a number of places in town. Would definitely go back - for girls' trip or with my hubby.

Room Tip: The two room suite (Room 11) was spacious and well-suited to having three or more guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Within five minutes of our arrival, we were smiling and sipping our glasses of comped chardonnay poolside. Lucy is fantastic. She gave us a quick tour and was ready to answer any questions, including where to go for dinner. Towels and sunscreen were available at the pool. A kitchen stocked with spices was available for guest use, as well as a grill and bikes to ride into town. My boyfriend loved that the snacks and water in the rooms were all complimentary. He felt like he was at home, and of course if he could, he would adopt Hotel California as his home. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this little hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We came here for a second time last weekend, and it was really fun. There was a couple that got married there before we arrived, so we ended being in the wedding photos. Very relaxing atmosphere, and Lucy was wonderful and helped made our stay even better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Firstly, we used to come here ages ago when Sherri and Weldon used to own it. We were happy to learn that the new-ish owners give the same personally, superlative guest service and we are certain to be returning sooner rather than later.
Lucy was epitomized graciousness in hospitality. We were greeted warmly with a complimentary beverage of our choice and shown around. Their extensive library of both books and DVD's were amazing.
But what makes this place so very special are the people (guests) they attract. We made fast friends with a couple from San Francisco and later learned that it was the gentleman's birthday. Later that evening we had a fabulously intimate meal, prepared by my husband, a professional chef and a great time was had by all.
The grounds are beautiful and the room was so comfortable.
My only complaint, and it's not major was the bathroom door which squeaked and the door knob was nearly impossible to open.

Other than that, everything was THE BEST AND WE WILL BE BACK SOON. Thanks Lucy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I spent two nights last weekend at the Hotel California. I was very impressed with Lucy who greeted us and gave us a tour of the hotel and services. The pool and jacuzzi are in prime condition with a handy dandy railing that helped me go in and out of the pool since I use a cane. Lucy gave us excellent recommendations for breakfast and dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel and plan on returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite. Its steps away from the pool and right next to the kitchen that has 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellendeette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked an overnight stay at the Hotel California in Palm Springs on our trip home from Idyllwild, CA. We chose this hotel based on the reviews from TripAdvisor. It left us wishing we had more time to stay. When we arrived we were greeted by name by the owners. We were offered a beverage and a tour of the property. A small property, recently renovated - an absolute delight. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and lovely. Complimentary snacks in the room. The common areas were well landscaped & inviting. Lucy gave us the names of nearby restaurants. We tried one and was not disappointed. Each person who greeted us made us feel like we were home. We will definitely stay again on our next trip. Thanks Lucy (and mom & dad)!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing