We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with comforts of home!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with comforts of home!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel California for the 2013 Palm Springs International Film Festival. What a warm and welcoming staff! Lovely spanish revival style hotel. Very comfortable bed, spotless rooms, lots of amenities, kitchenette in our room plus a communal kitchen stocked with all the basics and a communal lounge. Lots of free DVDs to view. The inviting pool is heated to 90 as well as a jacuzzi. We give this hotel our highest recommendation. Excellent value. We will definitely return next year with Sis and bro-in-law from the UK. A delightful extended family owns and operates this hotel. They are lots of fun and very accomodating. They also own The Desert Riviera a mid- century modern hotel just down the block which looks spotless and comfy. Great 50's era decorating! We may try this hotel next time since my sis loves this era of architecture.
The family is originally from Portland Oregon, but they have "Southern Hospitality" down pat!

Room Tip: We loved Elmer's Restaurant nearby. You can use their bikes...no charge. We will bring our helme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,444
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
174
1,003
53
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Fun time at a great place. Larry and his daughter Lucy made us feel like family. We now count them amoung our friends, They were also very helpful in planning our daily excursions and made excellent restaurant recommendations. They provided us complimentary ice chest and binoculars for our trip to Joshua Tree National Park. We highly recommend this for your next trip to Palm Springs! We certainly will stay with them again......Reed & Laurel

Room Tip: complementary bicycles, golf clubs, tennis rackets, berverages and snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at the Hotel California and our third stay at Larry and Patty's properties (we stayed at the Desert Riviera). Nice rooms and great service. The rooms are nice, the property very pretty, but it is the service that you go for. Both of their properties are operated to the highest level. We are 100% comfortable here and know that we will be taken care of.

Evenings around the fire pit with guests from around the world can't be beat. This is what a good vacation is all about. We met a very nice couple from Australia and others from England and Canada. Larry, Lucy, Jay, and Mike are there to take care of you and they do it extremely well.

We can't recommend this hotel enough. We will be back soon.

Thanks to the Hotel California crew!!!!!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent 4 days and nights at Hotel California and it was everything we hoped it would be. The room, shared kitchen and lounge, and grounds were clean, fresh, and pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a perfect vacation for us. Thank you for making it so nice!

Room Tip: The room upstairs had a view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We read tripadvisor reviews and we made a reservation through Internet. Gentle and prompt reply. This small hotel offers you a family environment with heathed pool (in season), bikes, snacks, 24h kitchen, free phone calls and everything you may need. We are very happy of our choice that we will make again if we may return in PS.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danigraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

First of all we have to say, the hotel manager, Lucy, is just about the friendliest person we've ever met! She was very helpful and resourceful, gave us a map of Palm Springs and marked places on it that we might like to check out. She showed us all around the common room (TV, games, local menus, beautiful chess table, tons of DVDs to borrow, etc.), the guest kitchen, and pointed out the cute beach cruisers parked by the gate for our use.

The pool is heated and there is a jacuzzi. Hotel California was abuzz with a community feel....I wanted to relax and do absolutely nothing so I spent a lot of time in our room watching movies and away from the other guests. :-) But everyone was very friendly and each night they loved sitting around the fire pit with wine/champagne or by day lounging in the sun on the pool chairs.

Our room was clean, I loved the Spanish tile on the floor. We had a small kitchenette equipped with dishes, utensils, a coffeepot, small refrigerator and microwave. It was like a small apartment with a separate bedroom and living room area so it had 2 bathrooms with showers and 2 TVs. The bathrooms were a little dated but clean.

They offer a free limo service to wherever you need to go. We didn't use it, but what a great idea!!! To get to downtown Palm Springs you'll want to drive instead of walk.

We really liked Hotel California, it felt like a little home away from home. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollisterDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

I echo everything that all the other reviewers have said. All those nice extra touches. Food fruit coffee etc.... Great staff. Just don't expect early housekeeping. Charming place to stay. Highly recommended..check in and you'll never leave

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing