We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it be better?”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

From the first moment we entered the office, we felt welcome like coming home to good friends. We were offered beer, wine or soda which was perfect on a hot afternoon. The hotel is small and intimate, and is like a tropical garden in the desert.

Complimentary bevarages and snack in the room, fully equiped kitchen downstairs with all you need of sauses, spices etc. and two large BBQ's. Always fresh complimentary coffee and water.

Towels and sun cream by the pool made it easy to hang out by the pool even after we checked out of the room.

Nice litle room available to the gusts with computer, printer and even fre international calls.

Amazing place ran by amazing people!

We'll Be Back! (o:

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerTWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Ann-Marie and I looked for weeks for a Palm Springs spot, settled on Hotel Calif cause there wasn`t one bad review. It was perfect to sit by the pool, sit in our spacious room and relax...
The full kitchen was a new twist for me and loved it. Cook whatever you want, very different for me.
Nice people, great place. I plan on stopping in again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmcq2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Tripadviser ranking and reviews were spot on. My girlfriend (now fiancé) and I stayed at Hotel California for our anniversary! From the moment we arrived, it was pretty clear that this hotel was the right choice for our romantic weekend. The Hotel's Staff were extremely helpful, warm and inviting. They rven greeted us with wine upon arrival and sticked our room with snacks. We couldn't believe what we got for our money. They (quite simply) try harder and have definitely earned our repeat business. We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel July 23-26, 2013. I chose this hotel after reading (and re-reading) tons of trip advisor reviews for many hotels in the Palm Springs area. When we arrived, Kelly greeted us and offered us a cool drink, checked us in, and gave us a tour of the hotel. We were delighted to find that the hotel has a beautiful communal kitchen. We took full advantage of it. A short-less than 5 min- drive away is Ralph's; a large supermarket. We picked up breakfast items and made breakfast in the kitchen each morning and dined poolside. It was lovely. We also took advantage of the vast DVD collection and watched a couple of movies in our room. We used the bikes to explore the neighboring areas. The pool is small. But then again it's a small hotel. The most amount of people that was at the pool during our entire stay was SIX!! Usually, it was just us and maybe one other couple. We spent a lot of time sitting poolside and soaking up the heat. It was pure heaven. If you want a big flashy hotel with kids "cannonballing" into the pool- this is not the hotel for you. If you want peace and quiet-look no further. Our room was lovely and immaculate. So I will just add to the reviews that praise this hotel. Believe the reviews. This place was awesome!!!

Room Tip: I was told that there is a "treehouse room" which sounds adorable. Maybe next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Hotel California is truly a unique experience. My husband and I stayed there for a few days between his trips to Afghanistan. We really needed a place to relax and rejuvenate and this was it! It's the perfect place...quiet, friendly, inviting. The ambiance of the pool area is wonderful, we loved being able to use the refrigerator and kitchen, and the staff, especially Lucy, are friendly, full of knowledge, and very accommodating. We enjoyed having access to bikes to ride around town. The hotel is conveniently located to everything. The room was nice though sparsely furnished, but we really didn't spend any time in it. We found ourselves wanting to get the 'touristy' stuff done so we could just get back to the hotel and relax around the pool or hot tub (yes, we even used that in July!). We are looking forward to another trip to Palm Springs and we definitely will stay here. If we could find a hotel like this everywhere we travel, that's where we'd stay. Smaller is definitely the way to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My hubby & I took a couple days to relax & rejuvenate... And celebrate our 10 yr anniversary. Hotel CA was the perfect place to do all. The customer service was 5+. Kelly, Lucy & Tracy were always around to help with restaurant recs and anything else we needed help with. This is a place we wish we could have stayed another couple nights. I've been telling all my friends about hotel CA and how wonderful the place is. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifergradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

What a fab hotel - it really is like a home from home. We stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip and are so glad we did. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but special mention to Lucy who goes out of her way if there is anything you need - advice, restaurant recommendations, golf tee times, nothing is too much for her. The hotel has a small courtyard and swimming pool (towels are provided). There is a small kitchen where you are encouraged to just go and help yourself to anything that is there. They also have barbecues if you want to do this instead of going out to eat. Nothing (and I mean nothing) is too much for them. The room was great, the pool was great, the staff were fabulous (can you tell we liked this place??). They have a sister hotel (which I believe has a bigger pool) but I got the feeling that it wouldn't matter what hotel you stayed in you would be treated like family regardless. Can highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellybean29923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,983 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
211 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £103 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing