We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat, Repeat, Repeat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Repeat, Repeat, Repeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We can't help but keep coming back to Hotel California!! Every time we visit there are a few changes, this time being the absence of Jay, whom we missed dearly but we met Kirby and Kelly who were so friendly and helpful and fit right in with everyone else! Lucy arranged our reservations at a restaurant we hadn't yet visited and Kirby whisked us off in the limo for a relaxing evening. The pool and misters provided a tranquil afternoon and then all too soon it was time to leave and get back on the road!
We met fellow guests who were enjoying their first stay at HC and were just as in love with it all as we are!

Room Tip: Each room is unique....try them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
968
49
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My sister and I have taken a trip together every fall for the last ten years and have been to some wonderful places but we both felt that this was the best place ever! We were able to totally relax and felt so taken care of. Everyone was wonderful, from Kirby picking us up at the airport to wonderful Lucy greeting us at the front door and then Larry, her dad, arriving on the scene to make sure that everything was perfect! (And then there was lovely Kelly that helped us with our lack of technical skills!) We are already looking forward to our return and that says a lot, since we always go someplace new each year. Thank you all for a memorable 4 days!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room across from the office, it was spacious and close to the pool and hot tub, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I travel a lot for business (big hotels) so for pleasure want something a bit more personal. This was great, from the friendliest welcome we've ever received (from Lucy, the adult daughter of the owners) to being given bottles of frozen water when we said we were going to Jacob Tree National Park. The guests we met around the pool were also lovely; I guess the atmosphere attracts people trying to de-stress. It succeeds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

we wanted to reserve their sister property, Riviera (the small one, not the huge Riviera Resort) and since the other place was filled up with got this. Absolutely delightful. We arrived at 230p from San Diego and the staff was amazing. got us into a room right next to the jacuzzi and we pretty much floated on the pool for 4 hours the first day and they took us with their hotel limo to the a local restaurant they made reservations for and we had a blast. the little kitchen they have that's shared it delightful. my girl didn't have a toothbrush, done! can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: you can borrow their cruiser bicycles and it's a short ride to the strip and it's a super ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We chose Hotel California based on the reviews and it was as wonderful as everyone says! Lucy met us when we arrived and gave us a great tour of the hotel outlining all the amenities, and a map with suggestions for restaurants. We appreciated the microwave and the fridge in the room as well as access to the bbq and kitchen. Our room was upstairs #8 with a patio table outside where we enjoyed several meals. The restaurants recommended were very good as well. We slept well the whole week as the bed was really comfortable. Would definitely stay again and recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our second stay at Hotel California. We also stayed there in May 2013 & so thoroughly enjoyed it that we made return reservations for our fall 2013 vacation before checking out. This is a quiet, private, hidden gem of a property, & we don't hesitate to recommend it. To say that they make guests feel like family is an understatement. It is a small, boutique hotel, family owned & managed. They do not permit chldren, nor are you permitted to have unregistered guests visit you there without prior permission. This means it is always quiet, although the pool, located at the center of the small property & accessible to every guest room, is open 24 hours a day. The "house rules" are in place to assure that no one will be disturbed, & guests understand that this is for their benefit, so no one breaks the rules. Our stay this time was 12 nights, There were guests who were staying only the required (at this season) 3 nights & were visibly distressed to learn that they could not choose to add nights to their stay, because there were no available rooms for additional nights.

There is a community kitchen, open 24 hours a day with fresh fruit & various snacks available to guests at no charge. Also, coffee, cocoa, wine, etc. If you wish to prepare a meal or barbecue, it's not a problem. They do the clean up after you are done, so you don't even need to do that. There is also a "lounge" that is accessible 24 hours a day with free dvds, books, chess, TV, etc., in case you want to watch a late movie without disturbing your suite mate. The property is secure, so there is no worry about leaving one's room & wandering off to watch a dvd in the middle of the night, or to just sit out in the fresh air by oneself.

Although they do not have a fitness center, it is a short 2 block walk to "The Basic Gym", which has decent equipment & is reasonably priced. The only drawback is that they don't have showers, but since it is close, it's an easy walk back for a quick shower before taking off for the remainder of the day.

I marked cleanliness & rooms at "very good," versus my rating of "excellent" for everything else for minor in-room maintenance issues, but nothing that would keep me from returning, & I'm pretty fussy.

On this trip we stayed in the suite known as "King Romantique". Great room! The only "problem" with it, is that although it has a small table & 2 chairs, there was no desk, which was no problem for me, but my husband always does a lot of work while traveling, & he missed having the nice sized desk to work at that was present in our room on our previous stay.

On each trip we met several people who come back to Hotel California on a regular basis, which I believe also provides a tremendous additional reference for new guests.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the bunch. It would just depend on the size & type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djletseatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ditto to all the other great reviews. We went to Palm Springs for a weekend getaway with another couple friends. From the minute Lucy greeted us with a glass of wine (and 24 hour coffee available) on Friday until our "no problem" late check out on Monday we loved this hotel. They have bikes and a limo for your use to get around- if you ever want to leave. The pool and spa are well screened with plants, so you can relax without feeling like you are in a mob scene. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Great recommendations for meals, side trips- so glad our first choice was booked, and they recommended HOtel California to us!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing