We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous place”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous place”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Eight days in paradise for out 30th anniversary. Wonderful small hotel and perhaps the best place we've ever stayed over the years. Larry, Patty, and especially Lucy, go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, as do Kirby, Kelly and Mike and all the rest of the staff; by the time we left we felt like family. The hotel website fairly describes all the amenities available, which basically consist of everything you might need from pots and pans in the communal kitchen to cruiser bicycles. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooking the pool. Total privacy and quiet, even on Palm Springs motorcycle weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
1,000
53
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were greeted and treated like royalty at Hotel California!!! We spent our 34th Anniversary at this awesome Hotel and we will be back many more times. Everything was so clean and accessible. The Jacuzzi and pool were amazing!. The people who worked there went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. (Thanks Lucy).

Room Tip: King Romatica room has Jacuzzi just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a great little place!! All the previous reviews speak the truth. The pool is just beautiful and so tropical. Stayed here for a night this weekend and decided to come back for another couple of nights this week....just didn't get enough. I'll never stay anywhere else when I go to the desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

WE weren't originally staying here. I booked via email at the Desert Riviera hotel, the "sister" hotel run by members of the same family, just down the road.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly owners of the Riviera told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California, where we were treated so well.
Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. They ordered the pizzas in we were after, gave us helpful information and especially told us about the date shakes at the Windmill Market on the way out of town. Excellent tip, guys - they're brilliant!
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.
Thanks all, for workign together and overcoming a potentially distressing situation.
I would stay at either of these hotels without any hesitation (though I liked the pool area at the Riviera better - just the openness and grass surrounds!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A beautiful oasis in the desert. Charming, cozy and lush. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. For us it was great for a few days but by it's location so close to the mountains we lost the sun before 4pm and felt a bit closed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It was only a one night stay, but it was such a relaxing time. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is so friendly. The were able to set up a great dinner reservation for us, and take there in the limo. Once we got back we went for a swim, then sat around the fire pit. Everyone we encountered from the staff to the guest we incredibly friendly. As I said it only a one night stay, but we most certainly are planning a longer return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After a wonderfully comfortable night's sleep, I woke up at sunrise and was greeted by golden Jacinta mountains and a local hummingbird or two! There's only one way to describe my experience - I was totally enchanted!

You'll enjoy being picked up in a Harley Davidson limo, having a welcoming glass of wine, having a kitchenette in your room and an always stocked common kitchen area that includes two grills that will be prepped for your use, There's bicycles available for your use and a game/TV room that's always open. I guarantee you, no staff ANYWHERE aims to please like the staff at Hotel California.

The rooms and grounds are comfortable, beautiful and relaxing. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary while there and will find numerous reasons to return!

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm, so don't hesitate to tell the staff about you prefer when you call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing