We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 family hotel in Palm Springs for 'kids' 18 and over”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“#1 family hotel in Palm Springs for 'kids' 18 and over”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I read the wonderful reviews and emailed the hotel only to find they do not accept 'kids' below 18 years. Just wanted to let all those people with kids know this. Since my youngest girl is 6 years old, we will just have to wait 12 years from now. I will rate it 'very good' since I have to pick a rating and I cannot experience it for another decade.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbiedoll_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
177
1,010
53
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel California in September and were pleasantly surprised by all the extra touches they provide to make this a unique and comfortable hotel. The staff, Kelly, Mike, and Lucy made us feel welcome and were always nearby to give excellent dining recommendations, directions, and answer any questions we had.
They provided complimentary snacks and drinks both in the room and a community kitchen and grill if you wanted to cook. We also took advantage of the DVD library. They had an abundance of titles to choose from. The room was very spacious with a sitting room and kitchenette. Our only complaint would be the showers were very small and a bit cramped especially for a taller person. On the upside though there were 2 bathrooms with a shower each in our room.
The pool area was beautiful with all the plants and flowers around it. The hummingbirds will buzz right up to you for a closer look! Awesome pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjroadtrips_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A clean, stylish and expertly managed Palm Springs hotel. Very quiet and private with a nice pool in the courtyard. This family and the outstanding staff add the extra personal touch you don't get with the large hotel chains. I could stay anywhere in the area, but return here due to the proximity and amenities. Also, the bed was very comfortable and they provided an assortment of pillows.

Room Tip: #9 is large but upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Truly an awesome gem! We absolutely loved our stay here. Cannot say enough positive things. So relaxed and what a beautiful property in a fantastic location. The management makes it "A home away from home" kind of stay complete with free snacks, and beverages including beer and wine! Who does that? This place does! That's who! Along with free use of cruiser bicycles and they even have this amazingly cool black and orange Harley Davidson limo that they'll take you to dinner, or wherever in...and again...wait for it...It's complimentary! This place is a true gem of a find and do yourself a favor and stay here some time soon! We recommend the upstairs suites! Thanks Hotel California for an awesome stay! We'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suliejanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel was such a pleasant experience. When checking in we were offered a drink, I liked that they processed your payment then so no need for the check out visit. The room was attractive, there was a basket of snacks on the little table, 2 cans of soda and 2 bottles of water in the fridge for us. They had a library of over 200 DVDs which you could borrow to watch on your mounted tv. A community kitchen stocked with fruit, extra tea bags, a grill you could use if you wanted. The staff was helpful with suggestions for dinner and sightseeing. They made our dinner reservations for us! The pool is heated ad the hot tub was nicely jetted. There was also a small coffee maker in the room. There were hummingbirds flying by all the time! I would highly recommend staying here, there are also several restaurants and a coffee shop within easy walking distance.
Would be happy to return here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and i just returned home from an 8 night stay at the Hotel California. We went down for our anniversary. Friends and family had recommended it and we were not disappointed. It is a quaint, cozy, welcoming hotel. We liked that fact that is was not big. We were welcomed by name immediately. The owners asked what we liked to do and recommended what to do in the area. The candles through out the resort and around the pool at night are very romantic. Our room #12 was very private and quiet. The communal kitchen is fantastic. We used the bbq for dinners, watched movies in our room (lots of dvds to pick from), used the bikes to go around town. We hiked the Lykken trail as recommended, 3x for sunrise! Any time we needed advice, everyone was so helpful! Don't pass by this hotel. I having nothing bad to report on it...amazing place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

all the reviews are true; this place is a gem. the hospitality and warmth of the team is beyond all comparison. I cannot fault the place and would go back tomorrow if I could.
the kitchen and ability to cook on the bar b q without washing up afterwards was especially appreciated

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephotographer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing