We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving week-end. Lucy and Larry as well as all the help made us feel welcome. The Hotel has everything you would want and more. Couples retreat or just a relaxing weekend for 2. The grounds are well kept and very private. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Restaurants very close.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a great stay for the Thanksgiving holiday.
Warm, caring staff/ownership in a cozy, charming hacienda-style facility.
Everything possible was done to make our stay what it was...just perfect!
...From the wine/beer at greeting to the limo ride to dinner to the pumpkin pie and
conversation while sitting around the fire pit.

Our sincere thanks and warmest regards to Hotel California,
Doreen and Bert Roberts

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bert51963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was initially attracted to this hotel because I was looking for a surprise birthday getaway for my husband and he is a big Eagles fan but when I read the reviews of previous guests it sounded like such an awesome place. We stayed there last week for our first trip to Palm Springs and had a wonderful time ... we loved all of the amenities mentioned many times in other reviews. We stayed in Room 12 - the Treehouse room and no hotel/resort will ever measure up again ... we will always be looking for our private balcony, our beautiful view, the curious hummingbirds, the candlelit courtyard and the wonderful hospitality. Thanks!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Three of us stayed at Hotel California for a ladies' shopping weekend. Lucy gave us a warm welcome and a glass of wine upon our arrival. Our 2-queen bedroom was clean and very comfortable, with pillow-top mattresses, a fridge and microwave, TV and DVD player (for which we raided their extensive DVD collection one rainy afternoon), spa products and fluffy towels in the bathroom, and complimentary snacks and beverages. We were invited to make use of their full kitchen, grilling area, and reading room, as well as tables on the patio around the shaded pool/spa area. Breakfast at a sunny table overlooking the courtyard was delightful.

This was our second stay, and we will certainly be back the next time we're in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsaway9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I read the wonderful reviews and emailed the hotel only to find they do not accept 'kids' below 18 years. Just wanted to let all those people with kids know this. Since my youngest girl is 6 years old, we will just have to wait 12 years from now. I will rate it 'very good' since I have to pick a rating and I cannot experience it for another decade.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Barbiedoll_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel California in September and were pleasantly surprised by all the extra touches they provide to make this a unique and comfortable hotel. The staff, Kelly, Mike, and Lucy made us feel welcome and were always nearby to give excellent dining recommendations, directions, and answer any questions we had.
They provided complimentary snacks and drinks both in the room and a community kitchen and grill if you wanted to cook. We also took advantage of the DVD library. They had an abundance of titles to choose from. The room was very spacious with a sitting room and kitchenette. Our only complaint would be the showers were very small and a bit cramped especially for a taller person. On the upside though there were 2 bathrooms with a shower each in our room.
The pool area was beautiful with all the plants and flowers around it. The hummingbirds will buzz right up to you for a closer look! Awesome pictures.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjroadtrips_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A clean, stylish and expertly managed Palm Springs hotel. Very quiet and private with a nice pool in the courtyard. This family and the outstanding staff add the extra personal touch you don't get with the large hotel chains. I could stay anywhere in the area, but return here due to the proximity and amenities. Also, the bed was very comfortable and they provided an assortment of pillows.

Room Tip: #9 is large but upstairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £97 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing