We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and we found the Hotel California to be the one that we enjoyed the most. Beginning with the warm welcome and the attention to details and genuine hospitality, we enjoyed every moment.

We had intended to spend one night there and ending up spending five. We really did not want to leave. We had everything there that anyone could want. Thanks so much to Lucy, Larry, Michael, Kelly, and Kirby we were treated like royalty, our room felt like it was our private villa, and the pool was amazing. The room was spacious and immaculate and the bed was soooo comfortable. The landscaping was beautiful, immaculately maintained, and the hummingbirds were absolutely delightful entertainment.

The stocked kitchen was greatly appreciated and a wonderful surprise as well as the professional limousine service at our disposal. We did not ever want to leave and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzothechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
969
50
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I found myself in Palm Springs for part of the summer and decided to book at the Hotel California. This being my first-time there, I didn't know what to expect. Friends had been there and raved about it being cozy and inviting, all with a friendly/helpful staff and all the amenities, like common areas that include a stocked kitchen and a recreation room. I must say they were right! The grounds include many beautiful private areas to get comfortable and share a glass of wine or just watch the hummingbirds. The service staff headed-up by Lucy was "second to none," they could not have been more helpful, from limo rides to assisting in reservations, all with warmth and a friendly smile. My stay there could not have gone better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

an amazing get away.
beyond belief customer service from Lucy and the Hotel staff.
stunning weather & palm trees.
a beautiful landscape.
peace.
silence.
& quiet little town.

we stayed in La Casita while we there and it was literally a home away from home. the hotel provided everything we needed to have a completely wonderful stay without every even leaving the hotel. I recommend the Hotel California so HIGHLY~! Five stars all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and can honestly say that all the reviews from Trip Advisor definitely nailed the hotel - excellent in all categories. The weather was quite unseasonably cool when we stayed but that did not keep us from enjoying the wonderfully heated pool, and even hotter hot tub. I think what really makes this small hotel fantastic is the landscaping and gardening of the pool area. It feels like a tropical paradise in the middle of the desert. Nothing compares to enjoying the pool and hot tub while watching the multitude of hummingbirds scoot and hover around you. The rooms were impeccably cleaned each day. The bed was uber comfortable and the staff - every one of them were like family. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillkokonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Palm Springs is PACKED with boutique hotels. Finding a great one can be a challange.We decided to stay at the Hotel California based on the reviews here, and we were not disappointed. The staff is truly marvelously attentive and friendly without being obtrusive. Lucy (owner) and Mike (maintenance) were wonderful and made us feel at home. The grounds are beautiful and tropical, with a nicely secluded feel. The hummingbirds are used to people, so you get quite the show. They keep a large, well appointed heated pool, nice jacuzzi, and have all kinds of little touches everywhere from lighted candles at night to quiet background music at night. Great coffee! Up to date video library. Complimentary snacks and drinks.

The room was clean and well appointed. We hit the place during the slow TGiving to Xmas period so it was quiet too. This hotel is a short distance away from downtown, which we found perfect.They will transport you anywhere, although we didn't do this.

Room Tip: Look at the room map on the website. This is a 2 floor hotel. Romantica room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A sincere thank you to Kelly and the entire staff.
(Kelly! Thank you for sending my earrings! I got them!)
You all went above and beyond!
Hi-lights:
The Heated Pool
Owner brought me coffee IN the Hot tub
Hanging with the Hummingbirds by fire pit
Harley Limo

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frecklebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I so enjoyed the hospitality we experienced during out visit. Everyone went above and beyond to make us feel at home and pampered. We enjoyed the ability to cook our own dinners in the spacious kitchen and leave the clean-up to the staff. We loved that beverages and snacks were complimentary. We were even given additional frozen water bottles to bring along on a day trip to Idelwilde. When we asked where to find a laudromat, we were offerred the convenience of using the hotel's washer and dryer instead. The pool was heated to a lovely 90 degrees. There was a great DVD lending library, as well. If you want a small, comfortable, low key hotel with thoughtful service and staff- this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing