We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel EVER!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were greeted by Larry upon our arrival and immediately felt like we were visiting family! He poured us a glass of wine and turned us over to the lovely Lucy who gave us a tour or the grounds. Lucy was there for everyone's needs, reservations, tour ideas and she even ran out to find a guest a particular newspaper when he could not find it himself! The customer service is more than outstanding and the hotel itself has everything you need. We met our best friends from the east coast for a New Year's celebration and decided our very best part of Palm Springs was sitting every night by the fire pit in the courtyard! It was so relaxing and comfortable - we didn't want to leave!
MUST stay if you are in Palm Springs!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattyD5943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
969
50
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

When arriving at the Hotel California it is like visiting old friends. Lucy, Larry, Patty, KC, Mike and Kirby all ensure your stay is second to none with exceptional service and excellent local knowledge. From the moment you step into the inner sanctum of the hotel you feel all your stresses and tension vanish and you can simply relax. The extra touches such as fresh fruit, coffee, snacks on arrival and free DVD rental make sure that the Hotel California is always ahead of the competition and can offer a hotel that is genuinely unrivalled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner & I had a truly wonderful time staying at the Hotel California in Palm Springs and would have love to stay longer at this beautiful, cozy place. Arriving after a long drive from the strenous sensations of Las Vegas, we were greeted by Lucy & Michael and they immediately made us feel very welcome and totally relaxed. It was such a cheerful hotel check-in with Lucy, who gave us lots of info and a tour of the hotel. The hotel grounds and room were immaculate. This charming place is maintained with a lot of love and care and it shows. Thank you so much to the whole crew for making our very short stay with you such a pleasant one - you are terrific! And many thanks for putting all those nice fruits and treats in the kitchen for us to snack on. We will definitely stay with you again when we are back in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandaFam7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Most wonderful hotel ever... My new favorite!! We were made to feel right at home, right away (thanks Lucy!! :) Basically, it's the best of the BnB experience and the best of the hotel experience in one. We will never stay anywhere else in Palm Springs, period.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel California is a beautiful get-away place, but it's the owners and staff that make all the difference--Kelly, Larry, Lucy, Mike, KC and others. From the second we stepped into the inner sanctum, we were treated graciously and generously with offerings of food and drink along with all the information we needed to have a great week! They helped us prepare our Christmas dinner in their lovely kitchen grilling salmon, brats, and fresh veggies, and they did all the clean-up. At the end of the week, we returned to New Hampshire arriving at 2am in the morning, turned on the car radio, and the classic rock station was playing "Hotel California." We think Larry and Lucy planned it that way!!! Thanks so much! Betsy and Russ

Room Tip: We were right across from the pool and were never bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and we found the Hotel California to be the one that we enjoyed the most. Beginning with the warm welcome and the attention to details and genuine hospitality, we enjoyed every moment.

We had intended to spend one night there and ending up spending five. We really did not want to leave. We had everything there that anyone could want. Thanks so much to Lucy, Larry, Michael, Kelly, and Kirby we were treated like royalty, our room felt like it was our private villa, and the pool was amazing. The room was spacious and immaculate and the bed was soooo comfortable. The landscaping was beautiful, immaculately maintained, and the hummingbirds were absolutely delightful entertainment.

The stocked kitchen was greatly appreciated and a wonderful surprise as well as the professional limousine service at our disposal. We did not ever want to leave and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzothechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I found myself in Palm Springs for part of the summer and decided to book at the Hotel California. This being my first-time there, I didn't know what to expect. Friends had been there and raved about it being cozy and inviting, all with a friendly/helpful staff and all the amenities, like common areas that include a stocked kitchen and a recreation room. I must say they were right! The grounds include many beautiful private areas to get comfortable and share a glass of wine or just watch the hummingbirds. The service staff headed-up by Lucy was "second to none," they could not have been more helpful, from limo rides to assisting in reservations, all with warmth and a friendly smile. My stay there could not have gone better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing