We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We loved this place. Very nice welcome from Lucy with a chilled glass of white wine or a cool beer at check in. room was upstairs and was a good size with a decent fridge. Nice patio area outside. The pool area has sun beds and chairs with lots of nice foliage. At night they light lots of tea lights which creates a great ambience. There is a well stocked kitchen with all the bits you need but don't want to buy like salad dressing mayo etc. loads of dishes and glasses plus fresh coffee and grapefruit in the morning. There is also the fab Harley stretch limo driven by Kirby to take you into town. Best of all are the staff who do their best to make your stay enjoyable. They will lend you binoculars give you iced water for trips etc and at night will circulate with wine or beer for those who are sitting out. Larry is great fun and the rest of the team Patti KC and mike all do their best for you. We met and chatted to lots of great people and would definitely return here if we were staying in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
177
1,010
53
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Mellow and relaxing, couldn't have found a better escape, KC and Larry saw to it that our stay was stress free and enjoyable. Also as a side note if you want a truly Palm Springs dining experience, check out Spencer's at the P.S. Tennis Club, another high point is exploring Indian Canyons Oasis just south of the hotel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This was my favorite hotel experience ever! They treat you like family (only better!). Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Everything is immaculate, the bed is super comfy, the gates are locked at night so you can sleep with the windows open. The snacks, wine, water, anniversary champagne, pool floats, suntan lotion, fruit, bicycles, and friendly guests which this place attracts are just what makes me planning to come back with our best friends. Thank y'all again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank texasgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Hard Rock for 3 nights with the kids, ages 12 and 7 and we will be going back real soon.
Amanda (with the Blue Hair) checked us in at the front desk. She was so attentive to our needs and extremely helpful. Give her a shout out if you see her there!!! She totally ROCKS!!!!
The valet guys are awesome, they are quick and on top of their game. The guy with the enlarged earring holes, forgot his name, but Totally ROCKS !!!
And last but not least....The bedding......Ahhhhhh!!!!! The bedding is sooooo incredibly amazing, that I went down and asked if I can purchase it!!! True story!!!
Everything about this place was 5 star. Great staff, great atmosphere!!! We Love this place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in January and enjoyed the well taken care of grounds, the owners and staff's friendliness and service, and the little special extras that others have well noted that make this a special place - we will return - thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have never had a better stay at any price anywhere............Larry and Lucy are the BEST. they have covered everything!! Bikes, candles, cork screw and cheese board in the room, so many details, it goes on , there wasn't one thing missed. I went with my sister and we stayed 4 nights and did not want to leave. We would have booked a couple more days but they were full for the rest of the month. I plan to go about every 3 months. Everyone of the Guests we talked with felt as we did............the stayed exceeded all expectations. Were leaving Valentines morning, and Larry arrived with Boxes of Valentine donuts for the guests.......I had to have 2 !!! You pay only for the Hotel not any other charges................daily snacks are provided............BBQ grills and all kitchen utensils etc. are available if you want to cook. Well, I could go on and on but I still couldn't do it justice.............Stay and see for yourself. Thank you Larry and Lucy !!!!!! I will be back in a couple months !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

While visiting relatives, we decided to get our own place. We were lucky enough to have had someone cancel and there was a room available here. This place is beautiful and everyone working there is so incredibly nice. Very comfortable bed and the room is kept very clean. The rates are very reasonable considering everything that comes with it. There are complimentary beverages & snacks. There are bicycles to use for free, there is a complimentary limo service (tip the driver though), there is a community kitchen area with fresh fruit, donuts and coffee in the morning an available to grill to use, a DVD library, pool, hot tub.... I could go on and on. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone heading to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenRThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing