We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a lazy vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
1 review
“Perfect for a lazy vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Palm Springs for the past 20 years every few years and have stayed at many hotels. This one is by far the best! We got a free upgrade, friendly staff, a ton of amenities. Best part is the pool! Not many guests to share the pool with means not fighting over space. Lots of shade and misters to keep you cool. Right across from the Ace, so you can enjoy their amenities too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joker505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
969
50
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this based on the reviews that promised a tranquil getaway. Hotel California did not disappoint. The courtyard with pool and guest room felt private. The hotel employees from checkin to housekeeping always were attentive and greeted all with a smile. This was a great romantic stay. We spent 3 nights on the property. If I return to Palm Springs, I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel for our 2nd wedding anniversary and by far it excited our expectations!! The staff is so friendly and make you feel at home. It's a miniature resort oasis complete with a limo to take you downtown :) we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed for one night here and loved it. It was incredibly hot when we arrived so we spent the afternoon in the pool, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The thing that really makes this hotel stand out are all the little extras like bottles of water in the room fridge, a kitchen where you can make tea or coffee any time, sunscreen by the pool....The owners/staff are very friendly and helpful, they made us feel very welcome. The bed in our room was really comfortable. We stayed on a Thursday night and went the street market downtown which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This little place is truly a gem. My 2nd time in palm springs so I decided to stay here with my g/f for our anniversary. I have to say, I have never...had such a relaxing, peaceful and nice time at any hotel/motel/resort in my life! The staff here really go out of their way to make you feel at home. We arrived on a Friday night a little before 9 and was greeted by Curly who offered us drinks, water and a beer for me and offered to carry our bags. Our room was clean, air conditioned with water, soda and a little basket of treats ready for us. This whole place only has 13 rooms, no pets or little kids allowed with a rule to keep it quiet after 9pm, All the guests respect this so it is very peaceful. All guests have access to a shared kitchen, 2 bbq grills, lounge room with sofa and tv with a good amount of dvd's you can watch there or take back to your room. Along with beach cruisers you can borrow and limo service! You also get free WiFi and you get a number on your room key that you can use at the local Ralphs for rewards discounts. We also met a few other couples there that were very nice. No glass is allowed at the pool area, but you can drink. No smoking anywhere except the smoking area where the bbq grills are and outside the main gate. We had such a great experience here and enjoyed every minute of it. Hated having to leave on Sunday and head back to reality. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place. If you want a spring break party scene with non stop noise then i would look somewhere else. I will be coming back here on my next stay without a doubt!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed at Hotel California for an extended long weekend, and we had such an amazing time! This place is all about service, and from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were looked after. All the extra value added touches made such a difference - using the complimentary bikes, movie collection, bbq, and refreshments by the pool! This is a special place and would also make a perfect romantic getaway. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 245swilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Want to feel like you have arrived to overnight with good friends? The service here is so welcoming and the inn so intimate that it is the perfect antidote to the life most of us live-crazy and always multi-tasking. The staff here makes the visit. Slow down, drive around and look at all the really cool architecture and when you are done exploring the town allow the staff to show you all the ways you can kick back and relax here at their "every-detail-already -thought-of" oasis in the desert. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing