We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Dream”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The perfect hidden getaway for a couple of friends or couples. Small, intimate, nicely appointed rooms (good sheets/toiletries/beds), lovely guest amenities make this a hidden gem. Quiet, hip, comfortable. NOT for children or large groups. Fab staff, very helpful and accomodating. Lovely foliage adds to the atmosphere. Wish I were back there right now, sigh.

Room Tip: wifi spotty. sorry, I don't have any room tips!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel California, and words cannot describe the wonderful experience. It is the best and only hotel to stay at in Palm Springs. The staff goes above and beyond expectations. It is like walking into your home, it is that relaxing. The grounds are just gorgeous, the rubber tree is lite up at nite and just so pretty. The pool is at the perfect temp and the misters really help to keep you comfortable. We can't wait to book our next stay.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank daisy529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 3 nights at Hotel California and were so happy with our decision. This retro hotel is just what you might hope for in Palm Springs, not a cookie cutter hotel but one that was extremely clean, cozy and comfortable. The service provided by the staff was beyond expectations from the complimentary drinks at check in or poolside, wonderful local information about restaurants and sights, as well as their interest in our having a good time.

Room Tip: Room 11 was a great king suite that overlooked the pool but was quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On a road trip we were passing through Palm springs and decided to spend the night. We walked in to this hotel coincidently and it just so happened they had a no show that day and had a room available! What absolute luck!
We had never heard of this hotel or read any reviews as we weren't planning in staying in Palm Springs. But wow were we blown away. What an amazing oasis in the desert!
First of the staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful, going out of their way in a very friendly way to make sure you have a good stay. e.g We asked for directions to the Joshua Tree Park and Curly (the manager) jumped out of his seat to grab us some frozen water to take with us to make sure we stayed hydrated as it was hot. Small gesture but goes a long way in showing the genuine values and philosophy of this small run boutique hotel. In a nutshell the service you receive is that of a world class resort by people who treat you like an old friend and not a dollar sign!
The Hotel itself is only 14 rooms and are set around a courtyard with a very relaxing pool and hot tub. Beautiful plants and fountain surround the pool. There are barbecues available with a common kitchen available for use 24hrs as well as a common room. Did I mention all snacks in your room and kitchen are complimentary and so is everything else. Pool is open 24hr and there is a no children policy which makes this place a great romantic getaway. The rooms aren't full of fancy gadgets and marble floors like you'd get in big hotels but thats what adds to the character of this unique hotel. You feel a sense of absolute privacy as the staff are also very discrete and the hotel
actually trust you to use it's facilities anytime of day and responsibly unlike bigger hotels which always assume the worst and have staff constantly watching and hovering

After having stayed at a lot of hotels on our US trip I thought a lot about Hotel California's business model and philosophy. This is the new breed of luxury hotel which caters to travellers looking for luxury in a unique setting without the pretentiousness of big expensive resorts but with the facilities and service. They don't try make money from things you would expect a luxury resort to offer complimentary such wifi or snacks and etc which in effect makes the guest really appreciate these small gestures of generosity.

Our stay at the Hotel California was without a doubt one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had with the service second to none. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel California is the quintessential retro hotel and classic Palm Spring experience. We stayed at there on May 21 & 22, 2014. We loved the accommodations and found the service exceptional. Curly, the hotel manager, is well versed in the art of hospitality. He was a lot of fun and made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The staff overall was extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our vacation needs. The rooms are cute and roomy and very clean. The pool is on the smaller side but the common area surrounding the pool were gorgeous with plants and flowers and various seating areas and were extremely well maintained. There is also an outdoor spa, bikes and bbq area for use at any time. We only regret that we could stay 2 nights and look forward to returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChicagoAlleyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is an absolute gem. Curly, Jay and Michael made us feel so welcome and valued. The room was great with snacks and complimentary drinks on arrival. The ambience around the pool was relaxing and allowed interaction with the other guests or privacy if preferred. Our first and only night here followed a 12 hour flight and then drive from LAX. We couldn't have chosen a better stopover and would loved to have stayed longer if our schedule had allowed. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Started out as a overnight stay for work but my husband and I could not resist and decided to stay longer because we just loved Hotel California. The grounds were so serene and beautiful. There was 24 hour access to pool and jacuzzi. There was a complimentary basket in our room filled with snacks plus the fridge was filled with soda and bottles of water. They had bikes that the guest could borrow..free of charge. There was a kitchen in the common area that was completely stocked with condiments and spices with two or three bbq's so you could just go to the store get some steaks or fish and prepare a meal al fresco. The staff was so friendly and helpful, Thank you Curly, Mike, Kirby, Yes I remember all their names. We will definitely be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing