We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent place to relax!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Thorougly enjoyed my visit! Excellent location, close to everything in central Palm Springs. The property is immaculate with well appointed and spacious rooms. Nice continental breakfast in the mornings were you can meet friendly and professional clientele. Took advantage of a spa package that left me feeling very relaxed and rejuvinated. Richard and his assistants make you feel welcomed as if you are at a best friend's home. When in Palm Springs, I will definately make reservations again at East Canyon Hotel and Spa.

Room Tip: Second Floor, Room 24. Quiet location with excellent views of the San Jacinto Mountains and overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
181
53
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

First time in Palm Springs and couldn't have picked a nicer place - really welcoming low key boutique resort style hotel (small and intimate) with a very relaxing and "home from home" feel. Like many central Palm Springs hotels, the East Canyon is built low rise around a pleasant and leafy courtyard, with all rooms looking in-over on to the enticing pool. The rooms are well appointed, not exceptionally plush with over the top trimmings, but everything you need for a really great and comfortable stay

Richard the owner has a great team to look after guests and leaves no stone unturned, ensuring everyone has a good time and receives first rate but discrete service including personal advice on where to go. what to see, what to do, where to eat ... he seems to personally make an effort to meet all guests, we even enjoyed a wine and cheese evening with cheeky cosmopolitan cocktails thrown into the mix. All the team seem to be genuinely helpful, friendly, but not intrusive. Relaxation time is guaranteed around the attractive poolside with water loungers and plenty of sunbeds. The hotel team keep the place spotless and one member of the staff, Jason, seemed to ritualistically keep desert dust from the stair and verandah railings! That's attention to detail!

We made some lovely friends at the East Canyon - this is a place to relax and unwind without feeling any overt "gayness" about the place or have to spend the whole stay breathing in! There were male couples, female couples and solo travellers enjoying the hotel when we stayed. Very comfortable for all, minutes from the airport, very adequate street parking and an easy walk from the main thoroughfares and restaurant areas, including Arenas, the so-called gay street

If we're back in Palm Springs we'll be back with Richard and his team, we felt so at home. Usually we stay in large upscale places, but glad we made this transition in Palm Springs as this is a gem of a hotel ... first rate stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice, we were on the upper level. All rooms offer generous space and overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWood_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Although this hotel has a primarily male clientele, my girlfriend and I felt very welcome during our stay. The room was spacious and well-appointed and the bathroom was large enough to accommodate two women and all our "girl stuff." The staff was friendly, and we had a lot of fun chatting with the other guests. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed East Canyon very much and highly recommend it!
We stayed in room 22 which has an amazing mountain view!
Palm Springs is wonderful and East Canyon made it all the more special!
The general feel is relaxed yet upscale and attracts a friendly educated professional clientele.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had a marvelous visit here. We usually book discounted lodging through Priceline, but there were no good values because it was a busy weekend (Dinah Shore). So we tried searching gay resorts, and we got lucky. This is a small and low-key hotel, but the landscaping, lighting, fountains, and details make it feel higher end. Not the least bit seedy. It was mostly couples, including at least one female couple. Our room was one of the least expensive, but was surprisingly large and comfortable. There was some transmission of noise from upstairs, so if you are light sleeper, consider bringing earplugs or a white-noise machine. Apart from that, the pool and the courtyard are just so lovely. I really relaxed for the first time in a long time! Another nice bonus is that you do not have to "check-in" – instead they have an automated secured entry feature that allows you to arrive late on your first night without worrying about bothering the proprietor or that they will not be available to let you in. (But you might have to request this.)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurA927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This place was not easy to find, as the street is fragmented and not evenly continued. Foliage covered the name of the motel, so it didn't help. When I mentioned this to the staff, they did not seem concerned.
I arrived ahead of check in time, but was not offered a chance to at least be "buzzed in" and allowed on the premises, to rest inside or relax by the pool. (I would've declined but to be turned away seemed a bit brusque and unprofessional).
It's a small place and a bit "dull". Not a party atmosphere, which is a plus, but coffee is not even served until 8 A.M. (eternally late for east coasters and early risers) and management vacates the grounds at seven. A bit like being caught in a ghost town sundown onward.
My bathroom towels had to be changed out upon check-in because they were badly stained with . . . well, you know what with. I'd never seen this with any motel/hotel anywhere (not even in the poorer areas of the world). I HOPE it was just a fluke. Grout in the shower needed a good scrubbing.

Not a pickup joint in any way. Cliental is mostly educated.
Surprisingly vocal anti-republican bashing by some of the visiting queens toward one individual from the east coast. (Personally I am neither republican nor democrat and felt sorry for the individual on the receiving in of this but kept quiet. Tolerance is a two-way street, guys).

The kitchen area is nice and large & I found breakfast to be good, with excellent coffee. The hard-copy newspapers are a pleasant throwback, and with the big dining room table, it creates an atmosphere of congeniality.
Jacuzzi does not have a switch to create bubbles but it is open 24/7. Workers, pool cleaners, etc. were all very friendly.
The morning socializing over breakfast is very pleasant and by far the motel's strongest point.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgottensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardPS, Owner at East Canyon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We’d like to thank the reviewer for his comments. It’s feedback such as this that allows us to continually improve and provide the best gay hotel experience in Palm Springs.

Thank you for mentioning that our hotel is "not easy to find." The East Canyon Hotel is a tranquil oasis on a short quiet street well located in the heart of uptown Palm Springs.
Based on your suggestion, we are adding more exact directions to our confirmations to make certain everyone finds us easily!

I apologize that you were not welcomed onto the grounds when you arrived before check-in time. Our policy is to welcome early arrivals and have their rooms ready as soon as possible. We have dedicated space for early arrivals to stow their belongings, with a changing room and full bath so they can relax poolside while we ready the room. Again, my apologies for your experience.

Each of our rooms is equipped with in-room coffee service for those wishing coffee at any time. We will also look into a way to provide our great fresh brewed coffee at an earlier time.
As I am sure you noticed, our towels and linens are of fine quality and it is rare that a stained towel slips by our staff. For this we apologize.

Like most small boutique hotels in Palm Springs, we are not staffed around the clock. There is 24/7 access to staff in the event of emergencies after office hours.

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our morning breakfasts and the friendliness around the table. As others have noted, we have a great clientele and our warm, friendly, atmosphere creates an environment that is unique among the gay properties here in town. We pride ourselves on our diverse clientele.

Again, thank your for your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A beautiful property with a wonderful pool and outdoor area. You could sit in that pool all day. The temperature was perfect and the blue sky above was was a welcomed change from home.

Staff was pleasant and gave you a nice tour of the property. The breakfast was OK, fruit could have been more fresh but it was nice to have fresh brewed coffee at the pool in the morning. They also gave complementary drinks; an added bonus. The WiFi signal in our room was weak and was difficult to connect.

We would definitely stay here again and hopefully have a few spa treatments.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall97222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#3 of 42 in Palm Springs
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Canyon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Canyon Hotel and Spa

Property: East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Address: 288 E Camino Monte Vis, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4711
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Canyon Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your East Canyon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Canyon Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing