We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Escape”
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The previous reviews state things so beautifully. The mature, gorgeous landscaping with a backdrop of blue skies and mountains provide a setting of peace and tranquility. The rooms give you the comforts you need. The pool and hot tub are glorious. The guests respect themselves and each other.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hk3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Pool, the mountain views, pathways to rooms, semi private patios, guest welcome snack baskets, continental breakfasts, owners Mark and Greg!, remodeled rooms, housekeeping staff!, poolside misting system, I can't get enough of this place. It is so mellow if you want it to be or you can socialize like crazy. I really like that it is small so you get a lot of attention. You can visit the busier hotels but trust me you wont want to stay in any of them they are all loud and most of them are too sleazy feeling. Escape has found a way to have a clothing optional resort that maintains a sense of classiness, with dignity, and informal luxury. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: I had one of the "smaller rooms" on my last trip but it didn't bother me a bit. I spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I visited Escape last summer, and booked again on a return trip to the city. It is a relaxing place with no attitude, away from the Warm Sands area but still convenient to all Palm Springs has to offer as long as you have a car. The area is quiet, and it's one of those places where you can socialize if you want to or just hang out and decompress. The owners are friendly and accommodating, as are others on staff. I enjoyed my time here, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had been to Palm Springs 10 years ago and stayed at another "gay resort" and had hated it! but as for this ... what a lovely little hotel, owned and run by Mark, very friendly and helpful, organised a nice idea of a social evening with complimentary drinks and a small selection of snacks ... a great way to meet the other guests. Our room was modern and very well maintained and cleaned to a good standard too. A good breakfast selection was offered too which we ate around the beautiful poolside, although I do feel that the edges of the pool and spa area could be alittle better maintained. Other than that, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who would want to go to Palm Springs

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were debating between this hotel and one in warm sands. Really glad we went with Escape. Our friends stayed at one of the more "active" hotels in warm sands and it was just nasty.

Escape was great. Mark was a perfect host. He was running around like a crazy person, but managed to make sure everyone was taken care of. And William is a sweetheart and a cutie!

The room was spotless. We were in one of the larger rooms and it was very nice. This was one of only 2 hotels I've ever been in that had an hd tv that actually got hd reception. I know that's really minor, but I've never understood 5 star hotels with huge tvs that only get regular channels. What a waste. The only thing I saw that could use improvement is that the showers are a bit small. I mean, we're on vacation, it would be nice to fit 2 guys in a shower... ;) Another guest mentioned they are supposed to be expanding them. I think that will be a great improvement.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The larger rooms by the pool are your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeBop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed at Escape when I took a 3 day weekend in February. Really had a wonderful time. I had never stayed at a men's hotel before so I was definitely curious but it was really just a nice place with a beautiful pool. (One of the things I look for most in a hotel). Am I the only one who is going to mention the poolside honor bar. I have never been to a hotel where you drop money in a jar and grab something out of the fridge! That is probably a really random thing to mention but I was charmed by it. Room was great nice continental breakfast and great little library with books, movies etc. Owners and housekeeping staff very cool. Thanks for the great Escape.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile


This place is one of I don't know how many Gay guest-houses in Palm Springs. Most are more expensive or demanded minimum stays during the holiday period. At Escape it seems only gay men are accepted and we had a great talk with many people around the great pool area. Clothing is optional at this place. I liked the room, but please clean the floor in the rooms not just before we check in but also during the stay and then you'll get more stars easily.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
201 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#7 of 41 in Palm Springs
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#9 of 41 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Address: 641 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8107
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: £75 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running clothing optional resorts serving the gay community in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Gay Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing