We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fire on the mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Escape
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fire on the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was my third stay here, and as always I found it relaxing and convenient. I arrived as a wildfire burned in the mountains above the city. Two days before my arrival, the owners e-mailed everyone with a reservation to warn of the problems with air quality and ash. They waived cancellation fees, and offered a discount for guests who still planned to visit. That really just went above and beyond for something that was totally out of their control. There was a lot of ash falling for a couple of days, but it was all good -- I had my choice of restaurants because so many people cleared out of town. By the end of the weekend the smoke cleared and the sun returned. A lot of people did cancel for the weekend, but I think the owners' actions left a good impression.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
86
73
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We traveled to Palm Springs with family then moved to Escape after they left for some non-family time. (This is NOT a family friendly resort.) It worked out well as the resort we originally booked to stay at (based on their high Trip Advisor rating) was not what we chose after arriving. We toured several before choosing Escape Resort, and are so happy we did. Unlike some others, the pix on the their website very closely reflect what you get when you arrive. The staff was very friendly and around when needed but not intrusive. Our room had a kitchen and full size fridge which was nice, even though we went out most nights. The location is great as it is only a few blocks from downtown and easily walked. The room was nicely decorated with modern furnishings and well equipped. The breakfast selection and amenities were more than we expected for the price. We will definitely be back to Palm Springs and will stay at Escape.

Room Tip: The rooms with Kitchens also have private patios with tables for outside dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel.

The hotel was not very well cleaned. The rooms looked old, though they told me they were renovated only a year ago! Not a good job - the rooms already feel like they're 5 years older.

The hotel was very quiet, so that was fine.

The pool area was not very clean. I did not enjoy the hot tub since I was always the only person in it at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBen77503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Not much else I can add to my previous reviews of Escape. Owners Mark and Greg continue to work hard on maintaining a beautiful resort. Best feature is the pool, which gets plenty of sun, and is clean and well-maintained. Rooms are clean, quiet and well-appointed. Very comfortable bed, as well. A large Flatscreen HD TV is nice, and plenty of DVDs available, or hook up your laptop to the TV for other entertainment.
I always like the morning breakfast with a healthy variety of cereals, fruits and plenty of coffee.

As I have previously mentioned, this is NOT a wild party resort...The guests are pretty relaxed and just looking to unwind. For those looking for more activity, I would suggest a day-pass at some of the other resorts, just a few minutes away. Evenings at the hot-tub are most relaxing, and nice to look up at the stars.

Definitely back again in the fall!

Easy walk to downtown with restaurants and nightclubs. In a nice quiet neighborhood also.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank versdeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed for the 2nd time in Escape and loved it like the 1st time.
This place is nice quiet but nice guys to c hat with stay there
u are not far from downtown, not far from cuisiest resorts if u need
this place is well mainatained beautiful and u can be urself there nude if u wish
the owners are really sweet and helpful!!
U will never want to get elsewhere when u have taste Escape
Benoit

Room Tip: patio rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

This was my first time stay here but certainly won't be my last.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and the view of the mountains is perfect. The pool is large and well maintained with plenty of comfortable chairs.

The king room I stayed is was large and had a full kitchen with an eat in area. Outside the room there was also a couple cushion loungers and a full patio set. Storage space was very ample with two closets plus a chest of drawers. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with everything you need.
The location is close enough to downtown to make for a nice stroll but not on the main drag so you don't have a lot of street noise.

I have been coming to Palm Springs for over 20 years and can safely say that you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalcrew1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Escape. The resort is fantastic. It is very mid century comfortable, focused on a large pool. The outdoors areas and the rooms are spiffy and clean. The staff is helpful and never intrusive. The property is very well located and easy to find. I am a huge fan and will absolutely be back in the fall.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.5 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#2 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort
Vista Grande Resort
#1 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Property: Escape
Address: 641 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8107
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running clothing optional resorts serving the gay community in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Gay Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing