We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and cozy..boutique-style ...room 26 was great.”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and cozy..boutique-style ...room 26 was great.”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I had a wonderful weekend at movie colony...it's a gem of a hotel located right off the main street....it's quaint, comfy and cozy - we appreciated the relaxing, laid-back vibe...we felt the pool area was great with all the "neighbors" sitting by, sipping their own cocktails of choice. It certainly lent itself to a quiet, yet friendly environment. A perfect balance for fun and relaxation. The complimentary happy hour and breakfast were generous and appreciated. We loved our terrace room #26 which overlooked the pool, had a huge balcony and giant cozy king bed. We enjoyed nighttime swims before bed which was a nice privalege. The whole trip felt more like staying in a home/condo which was such a nice departure from overcrowded hotels with families, slow elevators and worn carpeting. I think it's a great place and truly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in terrace room 26 which had great view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackburn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    37
    27
    13
See reviews for
12
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed the great service and relaxed atmosphere. Yes, the floor in our room needed a better cleaning and little maint things should be fixed...gaps around door frames, etc. None of that interfered with our trip and we truly enjoyed our stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethsbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Pros:
-Free continental breakfast
-Free happy hour wine/sangria
-Pool is 24 hours
Cons:
-Rooms are outdated, feel dirty, and reek of bleach. Not comfortable or sexy
-Outdated TV
-Pool is filthy after people rage in it all night and it's too disgusting to enter, which is not really cool in 105-115 degree weather
-No staff available after 7pm
Do not recommend staying here. It has a cheap motel vibe. I DO recommend that they stop giving away free wine and cereal and start cleaning up their act.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LoloMa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I spent a long weekend at this beautifully decorated and designed hotel. The rooms were comfortable and incredibly chic. We instantly felt "at home" here. The staff is top notch: friendly and very accommodating. Not only was our room fabulous, but the pool was the perfect place to rest, relax and work on our tans in the hot desert sun. On top of everything else, the hotel is is a very short walk from all of the fun downtown restaurants and shops. We can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitnaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

There are plenty of positive things to report. Excellent service, classic design, a common outdoor kitchen where breakfast and happy hour are served and lemon ice water awaits all day, a larger refrigerator in our room and a pleasant little pool area.
The pool-side suite we were originally assigned had a funky smell and the window A/C wasn't keeping the upstairs bedroom cool in 111 degree heat. We moved to a smaller first-floor room with plenty of room. They need a new handyman because we could see daylight through the door gaps and all around the window A/C unit. A concrete block supported the back of our couch. The window A/C units run all night to keep things comfortable with the associated noise penalty.
For the price, this was a fine hotel and fun to stay at, but set your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlr575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

A quaint review to days passed. You can see Marilyn stopping in for a martini - shaker provided. Old-fashioned pool and hot tub area. Great outdoor spaces - personal and public. The happy hour and continuous supply of beer, pop and wine was great. Breakfast was a bit dull. Not a lot on tv but people it's location, location, location. Three miles to Indian Canyon, about the sane to the tramway.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeless59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

You you are going to be in Palm Springs ... you MUST stay at this hotel!
It's an amazingly awesome boutique hotel -- stylish, well maintained with personalized touches!
We've stayed at The Movie Colony a few times and loved it so much that we had our wedding there on Easter Sunday!
It is the perfect venue for a small ( 60 person ) wedding!
(Or any gathering for that matter!)
Aside from the stylish venue and proximity to the heart of Palm Springs... the staff at the hotel are AMAZING!
Juanna and John-Michael went above and beyond the call of duty when it came to helping us plan our event. They were very professional, sweet and wonderful to work with. It is rare to experience this level of service and professionalism without it seeming stuffy like at some high end establishments.
We also had the pleasure of meeting one of the owners, Donald -- he was very friendly and helpful too.
Our wedding guests were blown away by this gem-of-a-hotel!
And you will be too!
An extra bonus when you stay is happy hour daily ( a great opportunity to mingle with other guests) and in the morning they provide a wonderful breakfast spread! A great way to start your day!
Do yourself a favor and check out this hotel! Try to stay in one of the townhouses -- they are divine!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loriemetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#17 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing