We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great location. Very nice room with a lovely private balcony. The continental breakfast was delicious and a nice change from restaurant fare. Staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    37
    27
    13
See reviews for
12
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This quiet and intimate hotel is very close to the main streets where restaurants are located. The hotel rooms are clean, nicely decorated, bathrooms are a little small but manageable. The staff was delightful. We loved sitting outside by the fire pit for breakfast and cocktails and meeting other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

John Michael made our stay memorable and fun! He gave us a tour of the grounds, showed us to our room, explained breakfast and happy hour...available at no extra charge, and even made some wonderful suggestions for lunch and dinner! He ROCKS! We parked the car when we arrived on Friday and got back in it when we left on Sunday! EVERYTHING was within walking distance and was EXACTLYas John Michael said! We had a lovely time and will refer our friends here as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

A small, well located hotel remodeled in modern and pleasantly austere furnishings (not loaded with decorations) and very comfortable rooms. Breakfast is adequate and centrally placed starting at 8:00 AM. Bicycles available to use at no charge. Staff is most courteous. Street parking appears unrestricted. No staff at night, guets are on their own. Was not a problem for us. Pool was clean. The fire through glass pebbles around a sitting area is unique touch. A very short walk to restaurants and downtown Palm Springs. Definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Smallest rooms have no chair or desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alextalksbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This place has alot of history. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We looked at the terrace room and the fireside room , the fire side room had more space but if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The only unpleasant thing was that there was no one at reception after 7 pm and it was very confusing to get inside the hotel. We were not told of this, so we were upset at first when we could not get in. Once we did, we enjoyed our stay. The happy hour is relaxed and the accommodations are clean. We walked to downtown to shops and restaurants. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoTravelHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband & I recently enjoyed a 2-night stay at the Movie Colony Hotel for our anniversary. We checked in and were warmly greeted by the concierge (Jean Michel) who gave us the run-down of the hotel and location, taking us on a tour of the small hotel. His enthusiasm was contagious; he's clearly a true believer. The hotel was an early project of Albert Frey's, so the real-deal in the mid-century Palm Springs architecture. As I understand, they've recently redone the small (about 30 rooms) boutique hotel. The room we had was moderately sized, but nicely configured and very comfortable. The room (#16) had a small patio that I would have liked to enjoy, but in winter was not particularly useful. It had several citrus fruit trees that offered a lot of shade during the day. We were admittedly chasing the sun, so opted to spend our mornings in front of the swimming pool. During summer, I'm sure we would have spent a lot of time on the patio.

The highlight of our stay there was the time reading and snacking by the pool in the mornings. There were only a few other guests at any given time. The music they piped into the space was excellent (play lists with current indie rock to timeless Americana to Palm Springs-ish crooners). Besides the pool, there's also a jacuzzi on offer, as well as bicycles for the guests to borrow - which my husband availed himself of for an evening ride. The continental breakfast was a tasty help-yourself affair, with Bonne Maman honey and jams with the breads (sad bagels, I'm afraid), yogurt & granola, and, of course, tea, coffee and juices. The happy hour was similar, with a couple hours to enjoy wine and snacks and a particularly nice outdoor fireplace.

A few very small caveats: As advertised, they do offer DVD players, but if you think you might want to curl up in the big, cozy bed and watch a movie, I strongly recommend bringing your own movies.The hotel's selection is tiny (fewer than 10 films, as I recall) and painfully mediocre at best. They also have a small selection of games, but again pretty mediocre. We regretted forgetting our travel Scrabble game. I only add these minor complaints because it's a hotel that I think many people would enjoy, and knowing these small things (if you are at all like us) might make your stay even better.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room (#16), but only one time did I hear our neighbors upstairs. So I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#27 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#17 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing