We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax Wedding Destination”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax Wedding Destination”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My business partner and I just had one of our clients destination wedding at the Movie Colony Hotel in Palm Springs. It is a beautiful space and a unique wedding venue. Juana, the events manager, was a pleasure to work with. She is great at getting down the details and making the experience fun. They give us access to the entire venue and very flexible with all of our client's requests. Service was amazing throughout the entire planning process. Our clients and all of the guests were impressed with the courtesy and attention from the staff.

Room Tip: Every view is a great view. Mountains are always preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EventsRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHMGMT, Manager at Movie Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review! It is our pleasure to be able to assist, with the hopes to lessen some of the stress that planning an event can be. We look forward to another opportunity to work with you, and once again, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    37
    27
    13
See reviews for
12
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We just went to Palm Springs for the weekend to celebrate our 1st anniversary and were delighted to stay at this peaceful retreat. When we told them what we coming to celebrate, they provided us with a townhouse suite right by the pool for the price of a terrace room. We took advantage of the private terrace and dined on take-out food right next to the pool on Saturday, after meeting some nice people at the complimentary happy hour. It was almost like we had the place to ourselves. The staff was super friendly and helpful with recommendations for local spots and we were pretty much in the heart of town but secluded enough to have a quiet stay. They also arranged early check-in and late check-out for us so we could fully enjoy our anniversary. Highly recommend this place for a nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smcgreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at the Movie Colony Hotel a couple of weeks ago. Is good value and friendly and was a good experience. The breakfast offerings they put on in the morning are good and filling. Also the complimentary wine and cocktails in the evening are a nice touch. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel has a very relaxed style and offers great location, nice outdoor space and a nice breakfast. The happy hour and fire pit are nice touches. The rooms are comfortable but basic and small things go wrong. The hotel provides good value if not many amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the Movie Colony Hotel last week - right after Thanksgiving. Love this place and would definitely stay again. The location is walking distance to downtown - only a block from some of the best design stores on Palm Canyon Drive and they have happy hour every night at 5:30 - complete with a cozy fire in the courtyard. The place is small so it's easy to find everything. The pool was convenient and had lounges and the rooms all came with beach towels. Some reviewers have said that the place is old - yes it is...and it's got charm. The rooms are clean...the beds are comfortable, the service was excellent. if you want all the amenities that a big hotel has to offer than this isn't for you. I prefer quaint. Great atmosphere too with a retro Palm springs vibe. Oh - the pool had yellow noodles. Good for couples - I don't see this being a place for children - then again - PS is really an adult getaway anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuesday_Moon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in this great hotel last year which was a great find instead of the run of the mill chain hotels.
Fantastick location lovely clean comftable beds.
I think some of the reviews have been rather harsh has this is a wonderful independant hotel offering a great level of service with a great atmosphere.
we are returning in january for my husbands birthday due to our wonderful experiance.
Karen Tittley UK

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I rated this establishment as "average" for the main reason that the premises are aged and the frills are minimal. Yet on the other hand, we would stay here again for the ambience that exists. The staff was excellent an the location is within walking distance to downtown Palm Springs. We had a smaller room but some other rooms had private patios. The pool facilities were fully adequate and bicycles are available. There is a complimentary "happy hour" with red/white wine and a martini mix. We very much enjoyed this aspect meeting another couple from Europe and spending two hours with them with refreshments. The hostess, Juanna, was excellent and an attribute to the establishment. Do not let my rating fool you as we did enjoy the premises. There is an excellent Mexican restaurant next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing