We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous, kitsch, quiet getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby Montana's Coral Sands Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed for one night after we had camping fatigue from Coachella for the festival... We arrived early, desperate for a shower and Ruby was cleaning out the rooms, when she saw us she got our two rooms done so fast! She was amazing. I was staying in the Yiddish Cowgirl room, great bed, very quiet at night, good strong shower.

The rooms look on to the pool area, which had rubber duckies floating in it! It is kitsch and fantastic and has a wonderful vibe, I would have liked to have stayed on but had a transatlantic flight the next day! It was immensely relaxing after our hectic weekend, and so good we were late back to the festival for the last day, but we didn't care, we had been enjoying our stay with Ruby too much!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clazlapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Ruby Montana's Coral Sands Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2010

A group of girlfriends took over all 7 rooms for 3 nights and it was perfect. Every room of this one level pink motel faces a kidney shaped pool. 3 of the rooms had kitchens in them so we ate in one night and enjoyed having snacks and fridge on hand. We even had a blender for mandatory pool-side drinks! Ruby Montana, proprietor, arranged for poolside massages for us at our request and made our dinner reservations each evening.
It's no Four Seasons, but it's got character and humor all around. Perfect for a girls trip. We're coming back each Spring to get out of the rain and laugh and giggle around our private pool and clean, kitschy rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot008060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

If you go to Palm Springs, not my most favorite city on the planet, you must stay at The Coral Sands! You will see why when you arrive! COOL COOL COOL!
Palm Springs never looked so good, untill Ruby Montana moozied into town!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrisandmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We've stayed at the Coral Sands twice a year for five years now and have never had a negative experience. The rooms are clean and the kitchens are real, not kitchenettes. We lay in a week of groceries and just relax poolside, letting the world slide by us.

Ruby Montana, the owner, makes sure that you have anything and everything you need for the kind of visit you're after. If you want fabulous shopping and art, she knows all the museums, tours, and boutique owners. If you want quiet relaxation, she sets you up and leaves you to your own devices. Fancy dinner out? She'll make a reservation and get you the best table in the house. If you and your friends are after a Girls' Weekend Away, she can make that happen, too. All that she has is at your disposal: the gas bar-be-que, kidney-shaped vintage pool, bicycles, wi-fi, airport shuttle, the list goes on. This place is a secret among the L.A. art scene and you never know who will be staying here!

The Coral Sands is in a great neighborhood north of the busy downtown area. It's quiet and small, and surrounded by fantastic homes in a chic part of town. Liberace, Marilyn Monroe, etc. all had homes nearby the Sands.

This is no bland tile-and-bamboo motel like you always seem to find in Palm Springs. The rooms are decorated with kitsch and quirk and each one has a name & theme. This is our tenth stay at the Sands and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The Coral Sands, built in 1952 and located on the north end of Palm Springs, is a great combination of kitsch and comfort. Owner Ruby Montana has filled the 6-unit motel with her collection of western furniture, vintage collectibles and folk art. The pink, one-story structure wraps around a kidney-shaped turqoise pool; the patio serves as a comfortable gathering place for guests, Ruby, and her pals.
We stayed in the Roy Rogers & Dale Evans Suite which included a well-equipped kitchen, large bedroom, small dressing room and bath. Ruby was a gracious hostess lending my husband a much-better-than-the-usual-cruiser-bike and making great restaurant recommendations during our 5 day stay.
The location is great: just a half block from Palm Canyon. Our primary needs were good walking and proximity to mid-century modern architecture: the Palmer/Krisel mid-century modern Las Palmas neighborhood, Neutra's Kaufman House, Little Tuscany Estates (full of striking residential architecture), were all within walking distance. (Oh, and don't miss the over-the-top Piazza Liberace, just around the corner.)
Quiet neighborhood, view from the pool is unobstructed by powerlines. All of the cool Western furniture and collectibles, arranged informally and with wit, made for a comfortable, homey, and very amusing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TacomaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#32 of 73 in Palm Springs
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
761 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,553 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#54 of 73 in Palm Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Montana's Coral Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Montana's Coral Sands Inn

Address: 210 W Stevens Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4220
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing