We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk into the past”
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This little hotel is situated in a great place in Palm Springs where you can leave your car in the parking lot for days while you walk everywhere. The rooms are all retro with names of the stars of the 50's, very clean and the bed was really comfortable. A fun getaway to roam through the neighborhoods of the Hollywood stars of yesterday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fourth year back at the Del and still a perfect place to stay and enjoy Palm Springs. Rooms have been upgraded but still have that retro style. Close to all the restaurants and an easy drive to many golf courses. Pool was super warm and relaxing for a January evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankapotumous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here with two friends on a Palm Springs getaway and it was perfect! The design, decor, and furniture of this mid-century hotel was super cool. There were great views, the beds were comfortable, and it was easy to relax. The heated saltwater pool was particularly amazing on the chilly evenings. Our room had a fridge which was great for keeping our snacks and wine cold. Also to be noted was how friendly the staff was. Everyone was really nice which made the stay even better. As far as the location goes, it was just a few blocks away from all the restaurants and shops. We took the free bikes out one day to go to a restaurant that was about a mile away which was really fun. I loved everything about the Del Marcos Hotel! I would highly recommend it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed here the past two years on golf outings with a group of friends. It has the real feel of a throwback to the heyday of Palm Spring with its retro design and architecture. All the rooms are cleverly named (mine was the "Shaken not Stirred" room) and are nicely appointed with coffee maker, room safe, and comfortable bed. The Wi-Fi signal is not strong and you may have to make your way closer to the lobby to pull in the signal. Nice pool and we especially enjoyed the fire pit area adjacent to the pool. A good place to gather before taking a short walk to numerous restaurants a few short blocks away. Things to remember: no children here, you must be 18 or over so it is not a place for families. The rooms have great Vizio TV's but the hotel has not yet upgraded there TV service to Hi-Def. Other improvements that the hotel could consider is an upgrade of the room key/door locks which currently do not allow for the dead bolt to be locked from the outside. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First, the location is excellent -- close to the mountains to the west, in the quiet Tennis Club district, but yet only a one-block walk to the main street of town, where the Thursday night street festival happens. Second, our room was well-designed and maintained, with good quality amenities. Third, the breakfast is hearty, more than adequate, and includes excellent fresh fruit. Fourth, the pool has a scenic view of the mountians and tall palm trees, and the water is kept at a bath-like temperature -- a real advantage in January! Fifth, there are beach-cruiser bikes available for guests -- a scenic ride to the edge of the mountains and Tahquitz Canyon is highly recommended! Finally and most important -- the staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful. My sense is that they would become like local family over a prolonged stay.

Room Tip: Probably best to stay in a room at the back of the hotel, away from the corner of Baristo and Belard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I travel a lot, and are always on the search for hotels that are simple and affordable, yet stylish, clean and well taken care of. We found it in the Del Marcos. We stayed for several nights, and found it to be the perfect place to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. Great pool, friendly service, stylish and clean room, comfortable bed with nice linens, and tasty breakfast. Our favorite part was the great, 40s/50s era music that played by the pool...the perfect way to take in the gorgeous view of blue sky and mountains. If ever we return to Palm Springs, we will most definitely stay at the Del Marcos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here 5 years ago and returned this December for a two week post Xmas holiday. The reasons we returned to Del Marcos are: great location, fab mid-century style, lovely pool area, convenient parking, relaxed atmosphere. We are so glad we decided to return as our stay could not have been better.
Firstly Laura, the GM and her team are fantastic...great communication booking directly with the hotel, our request to have the same room (which we loved last time) was no problem. The team is small but each member of staff recognized us over the holidays and were welcoming and friendly.
Second, our room of choice is great (Don Wexler): spacious, comfy bed (OMG), private patio, great wee kitchen with coffee maker, full fridge/freezer, etc, newly refurbed shower room (no need for a bath as the pool is gret to lounge around in at a lovely warm temp) and right on the pool side.There is convenient parking at the hotel.
As Del Marcos is just one block away from the main shopping and dining street in Palm Springs it makes for a very convenient location. A complimentary light breakfast is provided and was absolutely fine for us, others with larger appetites for America breakfasts may choose to venture out but we found our daily brekkie delightful and a great way to start the day and a nice way to meet some other guests and catch up on the daily newspapers.
Finally, as a place to truly unwind over a holiday it would be hard to beat. Totally unpretentious, great hospitality, extremely well managed and maintained, very clean. We could not have been happier.
Thank you Laura and everyone at Del Marcos for having us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Ask Laura for restaurant recommendations as everywhere she suggested to us was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthAGrahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.2 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £142 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing