We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love”
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love love”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location with the most amazing, cool vibe. Mid Century Modern, the hotel has kept it's original charm. Rooms are comfortable, well-appointed, and quiet. Each one is different, so check them out on their website. The staff, especially the General Manager Laura, is amazing. Another reason we love The Del Marcos so much is the size. It is small, which keeps it intimate. Shake your martinis to The Rat Pack and get your retro vibe on!

Room Tip: Some have kitchens, others do not. Pick what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2urban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Couldn't love your last sentence more! "Shake your martinis to The Rat Pack and get your retro vibe on!" Could be our new tag line!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the property. We have recently done some renovations to the property from a new pool, to new landscape and updates to some of the rooms. We hope you get a chance to come out soon and check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    128
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
501
49
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

15 minutes after our arrival my wife and I knew this would be our "forever hotel" on future trips to Palm Springs. From the help I received from Lisa on the phone with my reservation and then the amazing greeting and friendliness of Shanti upon our arrival, the staff was marvelous at every turn. Shanti didn't stop working his entire shift, providing additional towels, cleaning up loose ends around the pool area and offering advice on area restaurants. We were fortunate to meet the manager Laura the second night of our stay and she added even more great info about the hotel and their immediate plans for continuous improvements of the hotel. Every single staff member was friendly and made us feel as if we were a guest in their home (including the housekeeper). They were never intrusive but always available.

For us the location is perfect, less than 1 block from the "main drag" of central Palm Springs. We walked everywhere we went for meals and it was a short 1 mile drive to the art galleries (temps were over 100 so we didn't want to take that long of a walk). The hotel is located on a quiet side street and easy access. The hotel sits at the absolute foot of the mountains so an early sunset helps cool the area earlier than other parts of the valley. Parking is easy and safe (and free).

There are 17 unique rooms and other than having a suite for even more space our room of choice will always be the Julius Shulman deluxe. It has a front and back door and huge sliding glass doors that open onto a balcony overlooking the pool. As others have mentioned, this room has a full kitchenette and given the choice we could have cooked our own meals. Extra nice touch to find two cold water bottles in our refrigerator upon our arrival (again, no fee). This mid-century modern hotel built by William Cody has all the right touches which just enough true "modern" snuck in to give us our 21st century creature comforts (i.e cable TV, IPOD dock, and FREE strong wifi). The bathroom and kitchen has newly installed terrazzo tile and the new glass shower enclosure is beautiful. Full black out curtains let you feel secluded if that is your choice and the air conditioning worked perfectly to keep us cool.

The grounds are immaculate and they offer free bikes, shuffleboard, a bbq area and outdoor cabanas and TV's for those so inclined. The constant hum of Frank Sinatra keeps you mellow and in the mood for the property. The pool is a wonderful salt water pool that cools you as often as you like and ample pool accessories and towels are available for use. (Laura advised me that they would be shutting down for August and making major upgrades to the pool deck and courtyard).

The continental breakfast is "old school" - no waffle makers, eggs in steamers and piles of bacon. It's what it should be - cereal, breads, muffins, coffin, OJ, granola, yogurt. Just the essentials - again free - no hidden charges.

It's been mentioned in several other reviews but the atmosphere and the mood is what sets this hotel apart. There's no hidden fees, there's no children screaming and doing cannonballs in the pool - this is an adult only hotel. If you want more than straight, simple, relaxation, in a welcoming comfortable environment, this is not your hotel. I researched other "modern" hotels as I planned this trip on the spur of the moment. Those hotels have resort fees, parking fees, wifi fees, PPV movies and when you added all those fees up, the Del Marcos was a bargain with exactly what we were looking for. To be sure, we felt like we were visiting friends - not staying at some innkeepers moneymaker.

I will add this disclaimer - but in my opinion is not a negative - but I read too many TripAdvisor reviews from OVERLY PICKY travelers. If you book at Del Marcos, know what you are getting - a 70 year old award winning historic property. The staff and owner are constantly maintaining, improving and upgrading. The important things (bathroom, bedding, kitchen, etc) were impeccably clean. Laura mentioned a floor threshold had not been installed with the new flooring in our room - I told her I saw that - but frankly I didn't care and it certainly wouldn't affect my review. The furniture is magnificent and fits the style and design - but it's also 50-70 years old, it's going to be less than "cookie cutter" perfect. Those types of little blemishes can be found if you want to look for something to complain about. But we were too busy worrying about NOTHING and enjoying the property, atmosphere and environment.

You can see by the length of this review that I could go on and on about this property. I'm already planning my wife and I's 30th anniversary for next June - I'll book more than 24 hours in advance this time ; ).

Thank you Del Marcos!

Room Tip: All the rooms have names of famous folks associated with the era. The "Julius Shulman" de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
What a review! Thank you so much for all the detail you put into this, it really gives other travelers an idea about what to expect from our property. We greatly appreciate guests like you and certainly cannot wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We love this hotel! We found this hotel in the Julius Shulman book, Modernism Rediscovered, about 2 years ago, we have wanted to stay there since. We live on the east coast and don't make it to California very often and we are happy that we made the effort to drive there from LA. It is everything you could imagine and more! The manager, Laura was super nice and the E. Stewart Williams room has phenomenal views of the San Jacinto Mountains. The room decor was cool and hip, AC worked great, bathroom spacious and Sinatra music playing in the background by the pool was the perfect touch to this perfect hotel. Other guests were interesting and fun to talk to. Shout out to Nova and Mark! We can't wait to come back. I highly recommend floating in the pool and watching the stars come out at night.

Room Tip: E. Stewart Williams room has a king size bed, great views of the San Jacinto mountains great AC and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Love that you ended you days while floating in the pool watching the stars come out, truly a great way to spend the evening. Can't wait to have you guys back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the Del Marcos Hotel and wish our stay could have been longer. Very clean, cute, mid-century modern hotel well situated with a mountain view from the pool. The rooms are in courtyard style around a nice salt-water pool with soft mood music from 40's-50's playing all day. Put us immediately in a relaxed vacation mood.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenS_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
We are glad to hear we could provide you a nice and relaxing vacation. We have recently made some updates to the property, including our favorite, a brand new pool! We hope you get the opportunity to come out and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Del Marcos for four nights. We absolutely loved it and will be back.

Location: Super convenient. Walking distance to the main strip where all the restaurants and shops are. About a 5 minute drive from the airport. Thursday nights they have Village Fest on the main strip and it was so nice to be so close to it.

Overall feel: Clean, retro, funky and beautiful. Awesome little boutique hotel and the mountains are a backdrop. Great pool. It is adults only and they have some rules by the pool (no loud music, no phone conversations, etc). But it is perfect for those looking for a quiet getaway - couples or singles. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes, others do not. Be specific in your request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad to hear that we could provide you with a relaxing and fun experience. We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My friend and I visited this very quiet and peaceful motel located one block from the strip. This is an adults only retreat. Our very small room had a coffee maker and small refrigerator. It had a queen size bed and small table and chairs. The decor was art deco.

Old movies were playing in the cabanas by the pool. Bikes were available with the room.

The staff members were friendly and efficient.

I would recommend this boutique motel to those singles and couples that are looking for a quiet and budget-friendly get-away that is walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate you mentioning what you liked about our property and what future guests can expect to have when they stay with us. We look forward to having you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Awesome funky little boutique hotel. Super quaint - extremely clean and super friendly. Rooms are fab - we had the one with the kitchenette and loved having that. The pool area has very high quality floaties and TVs - PLUS they let us take our pups. Will DEFINITELY go back!

Room Tip: We loved having the kitchenette. We had our friends traveling with us "over for dinner" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Public Relations Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We just did some upgrades to the property, including our favorite, a brand new pool! We hope you have time to come check it out and look forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Property: Del Marcos Hotel
Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing